Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nwt canada

Top suite

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Top room had air conditioning and St. John's was HOT so very new and nice. A loft so not too good for a tall person
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to downtown

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Had a nice night - hot this time of year :) Accommodations were comfortable, place was quiet at night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NS

Disappointed!

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: The king size bed.
Cons: Larger dining room , better layout of dining room to accommodate guests. No napkins on dining table and provide better selection for breakfast.
Location: Lots to do , it was located in the downtown section.
The room was not layed out very well. No air conditioning and fan did not work well. The old carpeting has seen better days. Everything could stand to be spruced up. On the morning we were leaving the Manager made an appearance in old jogging pants and a t-shirt looking like he had had a very bad night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Really close to everything we needed.

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: In my opinion there was nothing not to like about the hotel.
We found the staff very friendly and helpful. Especially the young man who served breakfast and looked after the rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from miami

Best bed and breakfast ever!

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Cons: A.C. in the room would have been nice it was an unusually hot evening.
Location: Get Stuffed down the street is the best food .
Beautiful room,staff and town. Wonderful people everywhere.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bonnie from Halifax, NS

Charming Victorian Style B & B

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Pros: clean, large room and nice paint color on the walls, high ceilings and crown moulding. Very pretty. Room 3
Cons: I did not like the shower. Poor water pressure. Would be nice if you could talk to someone face to face.
Location: Close to all downtown, but you really need a cab to get around as mostly one way streets and hills. Lots of eating places to choose from.
Overall it was ok. When I arrived my envelope with my key was not in the front lobby. When I called from the phone they provided in the lobby, I told them I had a reservation but my envelope was not there with a key. There was another envelope with a different name on it. I was told it must of been a mistake and the guy told me to take it. So I did and entered, it was so quiet, no one around to be seen. I thought it was weird that you could not talk to anyone face to face. You had to call the night before if you were coming for breakfast which I did not as I had other plans.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Shane

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Rob from Palm Beach, Florida

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A B&B of Grandeur

Posted Oct 29, 2013
Pros: The downtown location is perfect and very scenic.
Location: Walk along steep and historic streets of St. John's. Many pubs and restaurants to stop along your way.
The old stately house with 16 foot ceilings is awesome to behold. The house renovation is prestine which provides a private modern bathroom and is quiet. Due to my early mornings and late nights I didn't interact with any staff or other guests.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by SED from Ontario

Posted Oct 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
This is more of a B&B than a hotel. I was in town for one night on business and got to Cabot House late in the evening. There is no conventional reception so my key was in an envelope taped to the door. No restaurant or other services on site so if you arrive hungry, be prepared to go back out. Other than it not being what I expected, it was quite nice - quaint old mansion with several rooms. My room was spacious and nicely appointed. Wished i had more time there...