Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Rob from Palm Beach, Florida

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A B&B of Grandeur

Posted Oct 29, 2013
Pros: The downtown location is perfect and very scenic.
Location: Walk along steep and historic streets of St. John's. Many pubs and restaurants to stop along your way.
The old stately house with 16 foot ceilings is awesome to behold. The house renovation is prestine which provides a private modern bathroom and is quiet. Due to my early mornings and late nights I didn't interact with any staff or other guests.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by SED from Ontario

Posted Oct 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
This is more of a B&B than a hotel. I was in town for one night on business and got to Cabot House late in the evening. There is no conventional reception so my key was in an envelope taped to the door. No restaurant or other services on site so if you arrive hungry, be prepared to go back out. Other than it not being what I expected, it was quite nice - quaint old mansion with several rooms. My room was spacious and nicely appointed. Wished i had more time there...
3 out of 5
by jw from toronto, canada

Satellite inn

Posted Oct 26, 2013
Pros: Convenience in location for my needs and free parking.
Cons: More personal attention
Location: The purpose was to be near my daughter. It wasn't too far a walk from the centre of town but there were places closer for that purpose.
It wasn't bad but it wasn't good either. There are two types of B&Bs. One is the person or couple that invite you into the extension of their home and pride themselves on clean, interesting facilities and wonderful food. They try to go above and beyond in making you stay pleasant. And then there is the person that buys up properties, finds people to staff them and if they are around they will make you breakfast. The place is clean and has amenities but lacks the extra touches. Cabot Inn was the second description. This place was serviceable. You can get a clean bed and bathroom , parking and a basic hot meal and coffee. Nothing exceptional but nothing bad. It was taking me back to being a 'latch-key-kid. An envelope with the key was at the front desk to greet you and tell you what to do.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cabot House - Location & Comfort

Posted Aug 7, 2013
Delightfully located, the Cabot provided us with quick and easy access to the Rooms and other gems of historical St. John's as well as downtown restaurants and sights. A tad pricey, it was a great place to spend our last night on the Rock. Homey comforts with friendly staff.
2 out of 5
by TA from Toronto

Not for business travelers

Posted Jun 22, 2013
Pros: It had vacancy when no where else did and price was good.
Cons: stairs with luggage, 45 minute window for breakfast...hot room.
Location: Best for people for on vacation, on a budget and longer stay.
In fairness, I am a business traveler and most of the hotels in town were sold out, I would not have chosen a B&B. Additionally, I arrived late at night in the rain. Everything looked better in the daylight - but too late: the first impression had been made. I have a low rating for quality of staff, but that is just because I didn't meet any staff, nor was I expecting to and that rating should be "not applicable" rather than just "ok". Didn't like that when I arrived at midnight, the whole place smelled like dinner. Didn't like that, while room was certainly spacious, the furniture had nicks and bruises. Don't mind outdated - stay in that kind of place all the time. Mind that stuff was nicked. Made me feel like the place was not clean even though it probably WAS. Didn't like that it was hot and I had to use the fan. Carpets have some stains, so of course I think unclean- trust me: I am no clean freak and no doubt the usual hotels I stay in are on the same level of cleanliness, but it is the impression you get. Travelers, especially business travelers are weird: if things look old and nicked, we tend to query whether the room it is clean. . Didn't like that I had 45 minute window for breakfast, so I missed it. Having said all this, I don't think all of the rooms are of the same standard. As I was leaving, I could see other rooms and they looked nice and large. I think it's probably great for people there for more than two nights and on vacation looking for value.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler from Corner Brook

Posted Apr 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
This is not a Hotel, but a B&B. key was just put in a envelope and put in main entrance, that was not secured. no direction for where to drop off key when visit was over, just left it in kitchen. Overall not impressed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bruce from Fort St. John

Great place

Posted Apr 18, 2013
Pros: Clean and quiet.
Cons: None
Location: Located close to downtown and great restaurants
This was a well kept, quiet and clean bed and breakfast. Breakffast was great. Located close to Water Street and great restaurants (10 - 15 minute walk).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by M from NL

just what i needed

Posted Apr 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
I was in town for less than 24 hours and simply wanted a comfortable bed and a good breakfast, I recieved both and for a price 30-50$ less than local hotels that offer simply a bed.
1 out of 5
by Karen from Springdale, NL

Impersonal

Posted Mar 26, 2013
Pros: Comfortable bed
Cons: Was never met by anyone, just a key left for us
Location: Difficult to find, small grounds, difficult parking
Never met any staff once!!!! Very impersonal and we felt like intruders.