Ratings based on 188 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fredericton , NB

Lovely Hotel within walking distance of many place

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Pros: Lovely large bathroom, and comfortable beds were very appealing after a long day of travel.
Location: The hotel is located in the heart of downtown. Walking a short distance (3-4) blocks puts you in an area oF pubs, restaurants, and shopping. Perfect.
The staff at the Delta were very helpful and pleasant to deal with. Arriving without our luggage, the staff were very accommodating to our needs. The rooms were comfortable and clean. It was a positive experience, I would recommend to others.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kingston, ON

Great hotel in downtown St. John's

Posted Jul 25, 2015
Fast check in, great rooms, walking distance to shopping, pubs and restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Regina, Saskatchewan

One of the nicer places to stay in St Johns.

Posted Jul 25, 2015
Pros: Excellent room with great view.
Cons: We found the access to the hotel a little confusing on our arrival. The signage around the hotel indicating where the entrance is could be improved.
Location: Walking distance to all the harbour and downtown sites. Within three blocks of George street, which was a lot of fun.
We had a great experience staying at the Delta for a full week. We booked a suite and got an excellent one on the 10th floor overlooking the harbour. The "multi-room suite with a beautiful view really helped make our trip a memorable one. We liked the fully equipped workout facility, the buffet style breakfasts and the overall good level of service provided by all the hotel staff we encountered. We would enthusiastically recommend the hotel, especially if you can pay up a bit for one of the nicer rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to congress centre and restaurants.

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Pros: Location. Good value for price. The hotel is well suited for families.
Cons: The bathrooms could be updated. The bar is rather uninviting.
This hotel is well situated in St John's near the highway that exits town and close to bars and restaurants; all are within walking distance. The hotel staff were exceptionally helpful and courteous. The rooms are appointed in a standard hotel fashion (concrete box with wallpaper) but were comfortable and clean. There was a view of the harbor with most most rooms; the rain and fog however, made this rather difficult. Amenities included a gym and a pool that was in the basement near the garage; make what you will of that. In conclusion, if convenience of walking to restaurants and bars and easy access to an exit to the highway which leads to the majority of attractions is important, then this hotel is ideal.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from courtice, on

Great location

Posted Jul 11, 2015
No need to book harbour view, there is a building now blocking the view of the harbour, staff were excellent, sauna was locked and had garbage bags in it, breakfast at 17 was pricey, but the same price as downtown restaurants. Overall condition of hotel is slightly dated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Nice hotel good location

Posted Jun 24, 2015
Friendly staff. Hotel clean but starting to show age at the edges. Would stay here again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Downtown Hotel

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Pros: Good central location near bars, restaurants, and harbour
Location: Signal Hill is best spot for iceberg watching and great view of greater St Johns
Large conference hotel which suits delegates near harbour and downtown area.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from st Johns , NFLD

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: Please see above, most of the staff were superb.
Cons: Please see above.
Location: Many. Signal Hill, downtown, cape spear, Beorge street, shopping,etc.
First off the Delta used to be a first class ecperience. We have stayed a couple of times, some few years ago. Thus last stay was mega all at best. We used the club facilities first three days - person tending the club clearly did not wannt to be there, attitude etc., was that this was beneath him send that we ( the quests) were interfering with his work. He did not repeat did not tell us that there was going to be a charge for beer. We have stayed in many 5 star hotels with club type activities, and this is the first time ever there was a charge. Again, he did not as in N O T mention. We were subsequently charge 113$ for beer during our visits to the " club". We at check disputed the charge, desk people said there was a sign, what a weak argument. Again I request this charge be reversed and we credited with this amount on our credit card. The breakfast staff was superb in every way. Virtually all the folks who work at the hotel, excepting fron desk and club gentlemen were professional and generally quite accommodating. The bar staff were also terrific. Again please honor my request as stated above,
Comment from Hotel Management
May 28, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am sorry to hear of your experience in the Signature Club lounge. We will follow up with the attendant who was on duty. Our regular attendant was on vacation during your visit. Ideally, no guest should have detected a difference in the service. The club lounge has been operating since the hotel opened 27 years ago, and at no time, was alcohol ever provided at no charge. Indeed, it is against provincial liquor laws. Further, no Delta hotel provides liquour at no charge in the club lounges/. I see from your reservation that the room type you booked was not for the Signature Club, but access was provided following a discussion with the front desk. A review of your confirmation from Expedia will confirm this. For thos reason and those I stated above, we will not be crediting your account for the alcohol consumed in our Signature Club lounge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Good for what I wanted, close to downtown

Posted May 20, 2015
Pros: convenience and staff
Cons: Pricing, music in the rooms
Had to spend 1 extra night and it was expensive because the airport was fogged in
Comment from Hotel Management
May 28, 2015 by Heather, Hotel Management
Thank you for posting a review of the Delta St. John's. We are sorry that you had to incur additional expense due to the weather, but we are happy to report that airport upgrades are ongoing including the installation of a landing system that will ensure planes can land during our frequent foggy conditions. These will be completed by December of this year. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 27, 2015 on Hotels