Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Ontario

OK if you like small rooms

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: Lovely staff and breakfast!
Cons: Break up the dining room tables, so that everyone is not seated at a single table together. Fun to make conversation ... but a bit too intimate!
Location: Great location. All of St. John's is at your doorstep.
Our experience was generally quite good. The rooms are quite small, and they need to break up the dining room table into separate tables, so that everyone is not seated at a single table together. Fun to make conversation ... but a bit too intimate. Lovely staff and breakfast! Great location. All of St. John's is at your doorstep.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ottawa

Comfortable adn Central

Posted Jun 13, 2014
Pros: Central location, comfortable room.
Cons: The room was not cleaned during my stay - not a big deal as I stayed only two nights, but a bit surprising.
I had a two night stay. Checking in was easy (package at door). Room was comfortable. Location right near downtown was convenient. Tasty breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ha

Nice BB close to George st.

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Heritage house with five bedrooms, 5 minutes walking distance to George st. I met three writers and a musician there. Our host Joseph was very polite guy.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by kenneth from toronto

Gower House

Posted May 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
The bed and breakfast was nice with a good breakfast meal. The entrance way however smelt like south Asian spices. The ventilation system was not that great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Goose Bay, Labrador

Economical B&B centrally located in old St. John's

Posted May 4, 2014
We stayed four nights at Gower House and I would definitely stay there again. Located in a historic house, on a quiet street, and within walking distance to everything - good restaurants, The Rooms (provincial museum and art gallery), lots of shops, churches, and the waterfront. Good breakfast served every morning by a friendly university student.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great cheap place to stay downtown

Posted Apr 20, 2014
I loved the location, the loft room I stayed in and the price. I was a little disappointed that there wasn't another mirror in the room. There was only one in the bathroom and it was in an awkward location. Hard for a girl to get ready for a night out. This wasn't a huge deal though. I was still happy. The only thing that was a bit odd was when I called the contact number on my information sheet to see if I could extend my check out. (The info clearly said it was possible with a charge of $10 per hour.) I called the number which I assumed was one of the owners and he seemed confused as to why I called him and told me I would have to speak to housekeeping about checking out late. I asked him if he had a number for housekeeping and he said no and hung up the phone. This really put me off. I stayed in the hotel two nights and had not seen one person either day. I was not going to get up out of bed and search the house for a housekeeper to inquire about a later check out. They need to set up a better way of contacting someone who can help their guests instead of hanging up on them.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

More of a Bed & Breakfast. 120 year old row house.

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Pros: Location, convenience,historic, furnished in the period. Met other travellers . Comfortable. Great breakfasts.
Cons: Old home so stairs to climb, bath a little out dated, rooms not large.
Location: Ideal. Close to all pubs, restaurants ,harbour, museums.
Was perfect. Situated in historic downtown St.John's and walking distance from everything. Quiet & private.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for a night Downtown

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: Excellent breakfast to go with a great price.
Great, the place was very clean and comfortable. All our needs were met and the price was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

nice old house, friendly staff

Posted Feb 9, 2014
Pros: walking distance to everything downtown
Nice spot. Check in was easy. I came and went as I pleased. Noise travelled a lot through the house.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 1, 2014