Ratings based on 139 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Long Island, NY

Peaceful getaway

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: The location.
Cons: Updating the facility
Location: The location is great if you like getting tan.
When my wife and I first arrived, we were greeted with champagne. The reception was nice but in need of updates. We moved down to the Sea Grapes Bar where we thought we were in a geriatric center. Yes everyone was retired and living their years in Antigua, but as time went on we started to see younger people. The rooms are adequate especially since you have no tv or phones. But if you are looking for nice, peaceful and quiet vacation, this is definitely it. You will lose track of time and days just relaxing on the beach or having drinks at the bar.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Connecticut

Dated Paradise

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: Beautiful grounds, beaches, ocean views and friendly staff. All inclusive was wonderful!!!
Cons: Checking out what is required to be improved, replaced or repaired with each unit. We had the impression that maintenance was only fair.
Location: Excellent established location and cove. Several side trips (some are all day), available for tours of Antigua or nearby Barbuda.
Our first stay at Hawksbill (9 of 10) great weather days. Required taxi service from and to airport. Gated entrance. Warm reception from staff. Beautiful grounds with ocean overlook and beaches. All the units are either on the water or have water views. The units vary in size, type and condition. Our water view unit was comfortable and relied on the prevailing temperatures which were mostly ideal (no AC, phone or TV). All meals, save lunch require a lengthy walk back to the main restaurant on the overlook and a gradual uphill walk or a shorter distance (38 step) stair climb. Breakfast and dinner are buffet style, with a la carte available at extra cost) and are quite good. Lunch is served at beach level center food/drink area. Good food variety and quality. All food and alcoholic drinks were included. The ocean ranges from rough with crashing surf to calm permitting kayaking and sailing. These craft are available at a modest price. Enjoyed sitting at the beach edge in comfortable full reclining chairs. Walking the beaches, as two other beaches are part of the grounds.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston area

Convenience in a Hawksbill happiness

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Pros: See above.
Cons: I don't like working through Rex Resorts. I knew more about the resort than the Rex agent. Hard to book rooms and make arrangements.
Location: Town and side trips easily available, on site travel concierge.
Small, intimate resort. Comprehensive offering of food, living accomodations, recreation, and relaxation in a tropical paradise. Staff is variable, from rude to convivial Open bar and overall generous offering of services makes this a best buy. Good family resort. I like the "openness" of Antiqua, and this resort in particular: local people swim on the beaches, easy trip to town, goats feed on the property, etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Maryland, USA

Beautiful beaches all to ourselves

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Pros: Quaint quiet location with basically deserted natural beaches surrounded by beautIful lush mountains.
Cons: It needs some basic renovation. The facility is very old.
Location: Lots of day trips. Barbuda is a most, specially in September to October when the beautiful frigates are mating. Eco trip to Devil's Bridge is a must.
Our fourth time at Hawksbill. Still in love with it and although just got back last evening, can not wait to return. It has four wonderful beaches. our favorite is Eden Beach. It is a very natural setting which is basically empty. 3/4 of a mile long it sits in a peninsula. We spent the most of our two weeks sunning in its privacy. We saw at most 10 folks walk by during the entire time. The hotel is very simple and rustic, it is not for everyone. The food is good. I managed to gain 10 pounds despite exercising every day. The rooms are simple with no TV or Internet. there is WIFI in the lobby only. It is perfect place to get away. No TV no news for two weeks. Staff will become your friends. William, Millie, David and ? Andrewthe bartenders get to know you and prepare your favorite drinks as they see you walking up to one of the bars. The guests are mostly European which allows for eclectic, engaging conversation. If you are looking for a place to totally relax and don't mind rustic yet clean facility this is the place to go. The saying is that you never go to Hawsbill just once. We met folks who have been there 7-28 times and we heard of a couple in their 90's who have been there more than 40 times.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Amilcar

Posted Aug 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lleggamos a las 23.30 hs. Y nadie estaba para recibirnos,en el hotel no habia nadie.Recien a las 3.30 hs un Guardia de seguridad nos dio una habitacion, que NO era la que habiamos reservado. Recien al otro dia tuvimos nuestra habitacion. Nos dijeron que nos devolverian el dinero de esa noche.Como lo haran? Aun nadie se comunico. Como debo hacer para que se me reintegre en dinero.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Michael Hofrom Victoria, BC

a Charming Gem

Posted Aug 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Truly a gem of a resort. Upon hearing about our honeymoon they upgraded us to their oceanfront bungalows and gave us champagne which we enjoyed on our front porch looking at the ocean and the stars. You must get an oceanfront bungalow as u are steps from the beach and the setting is just perfect while the beach out front (1 of 4 private beaches) is not thr main beach used so it's like u have the beach to yourself. The rooms use shutters but they have installed bug screens on the shuttera to keep the bugs out. Rooms are older but very clean and i'm going to repeat what i read on another review - this older style just adds to the charm. Kinda got a "cottage" feeling while there. Food was a little on the sub par side. Amazing reef infront of the main beach and they offer snorkel gear. We were able to see a group of cuttlefish among others species.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Susan Rowfrom Montserrat

Posted Jul 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Perfect location, wonderful reception staff, they simply cannot help you enough. The beaches are lovely and varied. Gardens and grounds are immaculate. We would visit again without any hesitation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Our cabin was next to a beautiful beach.

Posted May 24, 2014
Definitely caters to an older crowd - don't expect loud music and partying. A quiet piece of heaven for us. Needed way more mosquito control
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dom&Lauriefrom Plano, TX

Perfect quiet get-away

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Pros: Location, food, staff, ocean-view rooms, 4 beaches (one clothing optional), live entertainment, drinks, and on-site snorkeling.
Cons: The mattresses are extremely firm. It does take a little while to adjust if you are used to a softer bed.
Location: The bay is quiet on the main beach, there is a rain forest zip line, down town St. John's has dining and shopping, Devil's Bridge, historical museum.
We stayed for 8 nights at this all-inclusive, 4 beach resort. With a wonderful staff, excellent food, great location, and lovely beach front (as well as garden facing) rooms; this resort was fantastic. The buildings are showing their age, they have been open since the 1960's, but they are not claiming/charging for a brand new 5 star hotel. The beaches are extraordinarily beautiful. We went during the off season. There were always plenty of lounge chairs for everyone. The grounds are very clean. There are some great corals in the little bay to snorkel around and there was always something interesting to see around the dock. They have small sailboats, canoes, snorkeling gear, and beach towel rentals. They had live entertainment most nights even a band that made all of their own instruments and a steel band. You might get to see some animals from the farm that the resort rents the land from, we saw goats our first day there! Their food was better than most hotels/resorts that we've stayed at in the past; the cooks are pleasant, informative & born to cook. The buffet had bold local flavors. Drinks were made with local juices by bartenders who went the extra mile to get it just to your taste. Overall, this was the best place that we have stayed on an island. We like things more simple and don’t like to feel like we just went to the beach and never left America. We’ve been to Aruba, Trinidad & Tobago, and Antigua. We are planning our next trip back here now!