Ratings based on 188 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable room

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Location: see above - long walk to main downtown and parking outside of hotel difficult
Didn't realise view was of working harbour but interesting and quiet
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about The Quality Hotel Harbourview.. We Hope to see you again soon. Staff & Management
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Working harbour!

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Location: Oliver's restaurant on Water Street for a really delicious well priced (for downtown) meal. Get screeched in at Christians on Henry st.
The staff at this hotel were very pleasant and helpful. The location is excellent - just a quick 10 minute walk down Water Street to the centre of town. My room was very clean, which is most important to me, but for the cost of the hotel room definately could use some updating. I requested a harbour view imagining sea birds and sailboats. I should have done my research. St. John's is a busy working harbour with big boats being loaded with shipping containers 24/7. It was quite noisy at night. If I were to stay again (and I would), I would not request a Harbourview. Other than that my stay was pleasant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to do an online review of The Quality Hotel Harbourview. Our hotel will be going through a full renovation in early 2015. We hope to see you again soon. Management and Staff The Quality Hotel Harbourview
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey, USA

Harborview

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Nice Hotel, Great location
Cons: Well satisfied, no improvements necessary
Nice Hotel, Great location Convienant to downtown locations
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2014
Thank You for taking the time to write a review. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel, we hope to see you again soon. Staff & Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario

Hotel was ok....

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Pros: Restaurant food
Cons: It could be cleaner.....i could see what looked like toothpaste on the bathroom door....not a big deal but a hotel should be spotless.
I was expecting more. Overall it wasn't too bad...i didn't find the staff that friendly ..as Newfoundlanders go .....however, I was pleasantly surprised with the food at the restaurant...it was excellent and the servers were way more friendly. I had blackened shrimp primavera ...wow so good!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from halifax

The Hill o Chips chain hotel is going downhill.

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: The staff was genuinely interested in our stay. Proximity to downtown.
Cons: Rip out the carpet. Train new staff that bathrooms especially should be super clean. If the bathroom isn't clean, makes you question all surfaces. Wha
Location: Near downtown. Bars, clubs, restaurants, just people watch. Signal hill, the Rooms, the Basilica, some shopping, waterfront.
Hello, this is my second crummy experience at this hotel. When we entered the hotel we had to park in the underground and ascend to the front desk floor via an elevator that smelled of garbage. Check in was quick and pleasant. Once we got to our room, the odor of cigarettes meets you upon entering despite it's being a non smoking room. Outwardly things look fine, just a little dusty and very dirty carpet. The bathroom was another matter. Pubic hair on toilet and in sink and tub. The toilet was not properly cleaned. Some soap goo left on the sink edge. Glasses unclean. We were late checking in or I would have changed rooms,but Luckily, I brought some antiseptic cleaner, so I cleaned the bathroom, with a bag on my hand. Even the light switches. I lost my cool when I went to wash my hands, and the towels left for us were old and yellowed and brown spotted. They had been washed but should have been put in the rag bag. I called the front desk and the clerk came up promptly with some better towels. the clerk Karen suggested that I should have left it and that she would have done it for us. Wow. She explained that they had some new summer inexperienced staff . She genuinely felt sorry about the situation. She would pass the info to housekeeping. A few minutes later she came back and gave us coupons for breakfast with her apologies that she could not alter our bill because we had booked through Expedia. I met the housekeeping manager the morning and she gave us a coupon for a return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hanna AB

Room with a View

Posted Sep 4, 2014
We enjoyed our stay. It could use some upgrades and fixes but overall, great. Loved the location, we had a view of the harbor, so was able to watch the ships being loaded. Very interesting. I would recommend it and we will stay there next time we bisit St. Johns NL.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Excellent hotel really does have a harbour view

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Pros: The staff were unfailingly helpful and friendly. The location could not have been more convenient for exploring St John's Close to city transport..
The hotel was very comfortable and the location ideal for exploring St John's with easy walking and driving access to both the city and Signal Hill and the associated walking trails.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing at price we paid

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Pros: The staff were great
This was the most expensive hotel we stayed at on our trip so far. The hotel is in need of upgrading, hall carpets dirty and falling apart Our internet only worked if we stood at the door to our room. We called their internet provider twice with no improvement. The hotel would have given us a discount, but because we booked on expedia they could do nothing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pasadena,Nl

Nice location downtown

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Walking distance to shopping,restaurants and historic sites
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from BC

Way too expensive

Posted Aug 25, 2014
I was just shocked at the price of this hotel. The rooms were very basic and my room smelled very stale and stuffy. But there was nowhere else to stay in town (truly, nowhere), so I guess they can charge what they want. Very disappointing.