Ratings based on 66 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by andy

Great location and interesting building.

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Large rooms. The bed I had the first night was hard and lumpy. I switched rooms and the bed in the second room was more comfortable. The floors creek, so if you are light sleeper like me, bring ear plugs. I had a great view of the harbour. Staff were nice. Place was clean but due for a refresh soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Local NL Guest from Paradise, NL

Truely Downtown Old St. John's, NL

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Cons: Snow clearing could have been alot better
Location: Lots of night life
An older property, but the staff were great. Room was very clean & free breakfast was OK. Lots of great restaurants near by.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Trina from Clarenville area, Newfoundland

Lovely hotel....unique.

Posted Jan 31, 2014
Very nice place to stay. Staff was friendly. It snowed quite a bit during our time there but yet, nobody was out keeping the walkways clear...soaken feet...not fun. The continental breakfast was great and well organized.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to downtown core

Posted Jan 30, 2014
Pros: Liked the proxemilty to downtown and the waterfront
Cons: Was pretty good overall but could use updated bedding etc ..more lighting
Location: Located in the downtown ..great for shopping and nightlife ..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 15, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
by BD from NYC

Good location, clean and friendly staff.

Posted Nov 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
Good stay all as expected. Large rooms but none of their rooms as the option of 2 double or 2 queen beds. Rooms are very large, so they could put 2 queens in some of the rooms to improve the offering. Staff is nice and helpful. Great location. The Keg that is across the streets is one of the nicest and most updated I have ever been to. Highly recommend it as your dining choice in the area. Great service and excellent food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Posted Oct 25, 2013
Pros: Liked the overall feeling of the hotel and room, its and older style setting to it feels welcoming. Great for couples.
Cons: Breakfast could be a lot better, opening to late at 7:00AM, if you have a flight at 9AM
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Andrew

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Hammer from St. John's NL

Rustic meets comfort

Posted Sep 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
I was only able to stay one night, but the staff was great and the room was very comfortable. The hotel is in a very good location being close to many restaurants and bars.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michael from Australia

Downtown place to stay

Posted Sep 9, 2013
Pros: The attitude and service from the staff. Breakfast, just right size. Parking.
Cons: Nothing that was within the hotel's control
Location: Excellent location. All downtown shops, pubs, coffee shops, eating establishments, entertainment areas in easy walking distance.
Nice property. Rooms clean and plenty of space. Service and helpfulness of staff is outstanding. Nothing is a problem to them. The location is great and easy walking distance to everything in downtown area. Breakfast more than satisfactory. There was some construction noise from building works across the road, but you can't blame the hotel for that. Would absolutely stay here again and recommend to anyone.