Ratings based on 101 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 29, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Louisafrom Massachusetts

Stunning views

Posted Dec 25, 2013
Pros: It was a very good value. Room was clean and spacious. It was quiet; no screaming kids. Good security too.
Cons: Wait staff could use a little more training but they're getting there. The pool bar/snack bar wasn't open all the hours listed but I didn't go hungry.
Location: I enjoyed a day trip to Nevis and the scenic railroad tour. There's more but that was enough for this older woman.
I enjoyed a quiet getaway alone for a week at this beautifully situated older hotel. The views of the harbor, cruise ships and sailboats, and neighboring Nevis are stunning. The hotel plans renovations in May. Some wear was evident, like peeling paint on balcony, but I didn't mind-this hotel has character. Staff were good and management tries hard to ensure guests enjoy their stay. The island is very windy but temperatures are good and with low humidity. You can easily walk into town and the port area and ferry dock to Nevis. The hotel has lots of stairs-not for people with mobility issues. Food was good, not great, but there is a great restaurant next door. I never bothered going to the beach because the pools were so nice. I would go back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Run down hotel that would need refurbishment

Posted Dec 15, 2013
Pros: Location close to town, great view over the harbour
Cons: Should be refurbished; it is out dated
Location: close to Nevis ferry dock
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by CJfrom New York

Nice, decent place

Posted Dec 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
The Ocean Terrace is a pleasant place with a nice restaurant with excellent service. It is very close to the ferry port which is why we chose it. We arrived late and were very hungry and the management called over to the kitchen to ask them to accommodate us as they were just closing up. They very kindly did so without any rush. Our room was neat and clean, overlooking for courtyard.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Pierre LOCOGEfrom Marie-Malante

Très proche du centre de Basseterre

Posted Nov 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
Service discret et efficace. Bel établissement... toutefois un peu vide lors de notre séjour à Saint-Kitts
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Mike W.from Columbus, OH USA

Quiet, Friendly and Unique

Posted Oct 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
I spent 24 days at OTI for a business trip. The staff was absolutely wonderful! The hotel is older, but they are making improvements and updates. The three swimming pools are always clean and inviting, especially the Fantasy pool with the waterfalls. Swimming in the fantasy pool is like a tropical island on the tropical island. The location is in the Villages section of St. Kitts. A very old neighborhood heaped in tradition. Though it may be shocking to some to see the conditions of the neighborhood, you soon learn that it is actually a safe area, just be sure to be polite to the locals and wish them a good day. Courtesy goes a long way in this country. Since the touristy area is on the other side of the island at the Marriott, you will find this hotel to be very relaxing and quiet. It is where the locals go to get away. You will also find a different mix of people at this Hotel. For example, one week during my stay there was a government conference. The OTI hosted diplomatic Ambassadors from around the world. You can imagine my surprise to find out that the person I was having a drink with and conversations with was the Diplomatic Ambassador for Argentina and his staff. At OTI, I was able to learn a lot and made friends from all over the world. I will definitely return and bring my family to experience the OTI. If you get there before I do, tell Ellen at the Fantasy Pool Bar, or any of the staff for that matter, that "Big Mike" says "Hi".
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kfrom Berlin

Hotel in guter Lage, etwas alt

Posted Sep 8, 2013
Pros: Die Poolanlage
Cons: Die Zimmer sollten wirklich renoviert werden.
Location: Das Hotel befindet sich am Rand von Basseterre. Ein Tauchshop befindet sich gegenüber.
Das Hotel hat schon bessere Tage gesehen und die Zimmer bedürfen einer Renovierung. Diese sei wohl für 2014 geplant. Die Anlage des Hotels (3 Pools) ist hervorragend. Wer Ruhe mag, sollte in den Sommermonaten Juni bis August verreisen, da hier wenig Amerikaner unterwegs sind. Überraschenderweise war ein Frühstück vom (sehr einfachen) Buffet inklusive. Das Personal war sehr freundlich und hilfsbereit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

An Overnighter

Posted Jun 23, 2013
Pros: Friendly staff.
Cons: Room needed a make over.
Location: Great view overlooking Basseterre and the sister island of Nevis.
Stayed for one night in a superior room. This was due to regional airline LIAT cancelling my flight from Nevis and having to take a flight from St Kitts. The staff were helpful and polite. The room was clean but did seem to be well worn so needed a make over. Paint bubbled behind tv where a.c. had leaked down the wall, the bathroom fan was not working, one of the curtains had come away from the closing pole - lots of little repairs that were evident. Great view overlooking the capital Basseterre and Port Zante.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by gracefrom bs as

excelente vista pero cuidado con el agua

Posted Jun 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
muy buena ubicación y excelentes instalaciones pero si va a tomar una ducha que sea de mañana ya que por las tardes casi no hay agua