Ratings based on 155 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Suffolk, England

Great hotel on the beach

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: The hotel was small & quiet although the nearby Strip is a hive of activity at weekends. There was no rush to get to breakfast - served until 11am.
Cons: It may have been nice to have the sheets changed mid visit as you get very hot at night. The towels ARE changed daily however.
Location: Loads to do, reception will arrange for anything you want to do. Close to airport and restaurants. Shops in Basseterre short taxi ride away.
Timothy Beach is a friendly rustic Caribbean hotel without all the marble coldness of luxury hotels. The rooms are large, clean and air conditioned with a fridge and coffee maker. There is a hotel restaurant overlooking the beach and great Dockside bar for happy hour week nights 5-6 when everyone gets together and shares experiences. By listening to other guests we made the most of our stay by taking their advice. Hotel staff will quickly and efficiently book any tours you wish to go on - The Catamaran tour being a must. We ate in the restaurant for breakfast and this was a reasonable price and good food. There are loads of local restaurants nearby and we didn't have time to visit them all. We arrived the day after a small hurricane and the locals worked tirelessly to clear the seaweed off the beaches but it didn't affect us in any way. Snorkelling here is amazing and as Timothy Beach is on the Caribbean side it is ideal. You can see the fish just by standing in the water.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

good hotel close to the beach

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Pros: great staff with good restaurant and friendly bar with happy hour
Cons: n/a
Location: beach, bar, food, beach bars close by, nightlife, water sports
good experience - great staff, continuous upkeep on grounds and building, good restaurant and friendly bar with happy hour!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Enjoyed the local flavor

Posted Sep 6, 2014
The staff have extremely friendly and helpful. They gave me advice on arranging tours and visiting other islands. The Sunset Cafe had great food for breakfast, lunch and dinner with a beautiful view of the beach 50 feet away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Nice location - well kept grounds - friendly, helpful staff - short ride to/from the airport -
Cons: lagoon odor!! Hot water takes 1 or 2 mins to get to temp in room - Help the beach!! - finish that breakwater!
Location: Casino & small grocery store a 10 min walk away - 5 or 6 beach bars & restaurants right there - kids park ($$?) right there too
Room was nice with a great view of the ocean & the beach strip (additional bars & restaurants right next door) - albeit through a coconut tree - unfortunately 1 out of 3 days rained & not much activity at the beach bars since schools were on break, but quiet isn't a bad thing - Sunset bar nice place for a drink to watch that great Caribbean sunset - catchy name, huh - room patio/deck a great amenity
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Better Location than the Marriot

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: I liked that we could walk everywhere. I like that we got to know the staff well because it is not a big chain hotel.
Cons: It could use some updating.
Location: It is right at the end of a strip of bars and restaurants along the Caribbean.
While the Marriot might seem like the nicer hotel, if you are not planning on renting a car, Timothy Beach is in a better location for walking to bars and restaurants. It is also the only hotel on the Caribbean side of the island which is much calmer waters than the ocean side.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Lubbock, TX

Know what to expect

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Size and arrangement of the room. View of mountains and ocean from our room. Friendliness and helpfulness of staff.
Cons: Some of the units could use updating as could the pool area. Descriptions in hotel and guidebooks about the beach are misleading.
Location: Easy access to the Marriott on the Atlantic side. Walking distance to a small grocery store and several restaurants. Several beach bars on property.
TBR is certainly not the typical resort experience my wife and I are used to. It did not have lush grounds a beautiful beach, expensive restaurants and nightly entertainment. It was clean and the room (Ocean-view suite) was large and very comfortable with a good view. We did not eat out much and wanted a quiet location so the restaurant and lack of entertainment were not issues for us. The staff were very friendly and helpful despite operating from an office smaller than a garage. The biggest disappointment for us was the beach. Although the water is much calmer on the Caribbean side, South Frigate Bay was dominated by a string of beach bars locally called "The Strip". Most were not open during the day, but the chairs, decks, and varying state of repair for the establishment made the beach less than attractive in our opinion. Combined with the steep descent to the water. the black sand and the rocks, the beach was not at all what I expected after reading reviews and guidebooks. Although you have access to the whole beach, the hotel frontage is less than 50 yards wide and dominated by large boulders. If you plan to travel and explore other parts of the island and use other beaches and just want a cheap, quiet and comfortable home base, TBR is the place. If you want to stay on property and be entertained or have a beautiful beach experience, look elsewhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Sandra & family from Canada, UK, Anguilla

Excellent Service

Posted Jun 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
My family returned to St.Kitts for our mother's/grandmother's funeral. The wonderful reception and warmth of the staff at Timothy Beach made our difficult period so much more bearable. We must make special mention of the receptionist at the front desk, the cleaners and the restaurant staff. Thank you again for your great hospitality.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lynn from Chicago

Single women- This is a safe place

Posted May 30, 2014
Pros: The location and the price.
Cons: Shuttle bus service would be great. Taking a taxi everywhere can be pricey. I would be willing to pay more for the hotel room.
Location: The strip is nearby. Marriott is within walking distance. So you can have the Marriott experience without the Marriott price.
I travel alone often. I look for places that are safe. I hit the nail on the head with this resort. It was safe, clean and close to the beach and reasonably priced! A couple of times I walked up towards the Marriott area for dinner. I would then walk back at night and hang out on the strip or the beach. Again.. no problems. The staff is helpful and nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Etienne from Puerto Rico

My stay

Posted May 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hitel is nothing fancy but people are nice and is very clean, if you don,t want to over pay is good choice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Doug from Maine

Great rooms and a nice value

Posted May 1, 2014
Pros: The room was neat, clean and had a wonderful view of Frigate Bay and the beach strip.
Cons: The bathroom could use an update. Otherwise, the rooms were very nice with a very comfortable mattress on the king size bed.
Location: It is only a five minute taxi ride from the airport.
Timothy Beach Resort was a very comfortable and convenient place to stay for our last night before flying back to Boston. We especially liked the adjacent Sunshine Cafe where the food was a reasonable value and the wait staff was very friendly and a pleasure to meet. The resort was also very accommodating to our needs. We wished to use the beach during the morning, clean up and get to the airport about 1:30 for our flight. They allowed us to return from the beach, get cleaned up, and check out late at 1pm before heading to the airport.