Ratings based on 170 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Haslemere Surrey UK

True Caribbean feeling

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Pros: The hotel has Caribbean character along with the very friendly staff. Everything works on island time, so patience is needed.
Cons: The hotel reception area gives the impression of a back street 2nd rate hotel. Bathroom in 27A needs upgrading. The restaurant area could be improved.
Location: Ideal location on the strip, on the Caribbean side. Lots of beach bars and snack bars, music etc nearby.
On arrival we were a little disappointed with our room as it appeared tired and lacked any decent storage for our clothing. The only storage available were the bedside units with 3 drawers and a small cupboard [closet] for hanging, as well a vanity unit with 3 drawers. All these units had a musty smell about them so we stored our clothing mostly in our suitcases.The bathroom had an appearance of being a DIY job; the taps were in desperate need of upgrading as did the shower. Before we travelled we checked on the type of electrical sockets available and found them to be predominantly the UK 3 pin type. Not in this hotel.....they were the US type. Fortunately we had a couple of adapters with us. The room TV was old style and very small and although cable was also available the channels were mostly American and not worth even watching. Still we were not there for the TV. The small fridge was adequate and a coffee machine was included in the room. Luckily we brought some coffee with us as the restaurant coffee was awful - probably powdered nescafe. Despite the foregoing, we decided to remain at the hotel as we considered moving but then.....hey! this is the Caribbean after all. We did visit the VERY LARGE Marriott close by on the Atlantic side and found it impersonal and lacking in any atmosphere. In the end we settled in to the Timothy Beach and really enjoyed our stay of 2 weeks.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Great location with good people however...

Posted Jan 24, 2015
Pros: Location and friendly staff
Cons: rooms need to be updated or just bulldoze down the place and build a new one.
the mountainside room that we had was TERRIBLY outdated; the deck was so small there wasnt room for 2 chairs and the door to open! Very poorly laid out. Looks like there have been NO renovations for decades! However, for the price, it is a budget hotel with great location to the strip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Timothy Hotel Review

Posted Dec 19, 2014
Pros: Close to the beach and other activities.
Cons: Staff could be trained better. They didn't know any details about tours (just handed us brochures that weren't helpful if you didn't know what to do)
Location: A lot of good places to eat and drink. There was a small grocery store near by too.
Everything was beautiful. Rustic but clean. Sometimes there was a disconnect about information. For instance, we wanted to take a tour and booked it. The driver came for a different tour. The hotel staff didn't seem to be aware that the tour we wanted wasn't available that day.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles, CA

Best value for the money in St. Kitts

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Dated decor, needs a renovation
Location: 100 feet from the beach and a ton of great beach bars in Frigate Bay
A great quality hotel for the price. The bed was comfortable and the AC was ice cold. There was no safe in the room, which was a bit concerning. Staff was accommodating. Only stairs up to the room, which was difficult with all our luggage.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cleveland, OH

Incredible Sunsets from Hotel/Restaurant on Beach.

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Pros: The location on the beach, the staff, the free wifi, the Steel Pan band, the attention to detail on the property / in the rooms, and my balcony view!
Cons: The hotel staff could potentially 'warn' guests about the aggressive Monkey Boy that chases tourists. He hangs out in front of the hotel. Thanks.
Location: Lots of shops, restaurants, bars on The [real] Strip a couple steps from the hotel. Volleyball courts along the beach. Young people love this area.
What a fantastic location on the beach / The Strip. Simply stunning views, particularly of the sunsets. The property is beautiful and well-cared for. The staff is excellent, and since I travel 3 weeks a month, I have a feel for these things. They arranged a taxi for me, and I was able to plan the trip back to Basseterre with that same driver. Although my trip was hurried for work, I never felt like the service was sacrificed. Wonderful to sit on the balcony, overlooking the Caribbean Sea. Free wifi included, which you do not get at another property on the island! On my one night there, the Steel Pan band was playing at the beachfront restaurant onsite. Can't imagine a better treat, and best of all, it was free to enjoy while I walked around the property.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 17, 2014
The staff was amazing. SO polite. Clean rooms. Beds are a touch rough. Absolutely go there again ..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Suffolk, England

Great hotel on the beach

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: The hotel was small & quiet although the nearby Strip is a hive of activity at weekends. There was no rush to get to breakfast - served until 11am.
Cons: It may have been nice to have the sheets changed mid visit as you get very hot at night. The towels ARE changed daily however.
Location: Loads to do, reception will arrange for anything you want to do. Close to airport and restaurants. Shops in Basseterre short taxi ride away.
Timothy Beach is a friendly rustic Caribbean hotel without all the marble coldness of luxury hotels. The rooms are large, clean and air conditioned with a fridge and coffee maker. There is a hotel restaurant overlooking the beach and great Dockside bar for happy hour week nights 5-6 when everyone gets together and shares experiences. By listening to other guests we made the most of our stay by taking their advice. Hotel staff will quickly and efficiently book any tours you wish to go on - The Catamaran tour being a must. We ate in the restaurant for breakfast and this was a reasonable price and good food. There are loads of local restaurants nearby and we didn't have time to visit them all. We arrived the day after a small hurricane and the locals worked tirelessly to clear the seaweed off the beaches but it didn't affect us in any way. Snorkelling here is amazing and as Timothy Beach is on the Caribbean side it is ideal. You can see the fish just by standing in the water.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver, BC

good hotel close to the beach

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Pros: great staff with good restaurant and friendly bar with happy hour
Cons: n/a
Location: beach, bar, food, beach bars close by, nightlife, water sports
good experience - great staff, continuous upkeep on grounds and building, good restaurant and friendly bar with happy hour!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Enjoyed the local flavor

Posted Sep 6, 2014
The staff have extremely friendly and helpful. They gave me advice on arranging tours and visiting other islands. The Sunset Cafe had great food for breakfast, lunch and dinner with a beautiful view of the beach 50 feet away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ivana

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 5, 2014 on Hotels.com