Ratings based on 64 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2014
stay for an overnight sending son to college.the beds were uncomfortable
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Port Perry, Onario

It Has Potential

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: The grounds and layout of the "resort".
Cons: Rooms need updating.
Location: Very handy to the US/Canada border. No delay crossing. Found a very unique restaurant in town (Freight Station) Good food, interesting set up.
Situated on the St. Lawrence river, the property is beautifully done, with plenty of space to walk around, sit and enjoy the view, swim in the pool or picnic at the gazebo. All very lovely. It is however a work in progress. Room was large, old and tired. Shower did not drain properly, no towel bars to hang up anything. Tub was clean but tap was scummy. Floors squeaked. Screen on balcony door did not slide easily. Bar sink was filthy. Coffee maker did not work. No assistance numbers on the telephone which no one answers anyway. Beds were comfortable. Room was quiet. Breakfast was decent. It has potential and they are working hard to get it in shape. However, it is not worth the price we paid.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Darrel Moen from Gowanda, New York

An excellent place to stay

Posted Jun 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
My wife and I greatly enjoyed our stay. Everything was first rate. Plan to stay there again in the fall.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Breakfast was horrible, restroom was very dirty

Posted Jun 18, 2014
location is ok but other things like breakfast is not satisfactory
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs updating

Posted Jun 9, 2014
The hotel is run down but they are in the middle of refurbishing it. I say give it a month or two and it will be nice again. It is in a beautiful location on the water with nice sunsets. Currently the beds are hard and the pillows are flat, the washrooms are dated, the toilet ran all night but it was clean. The pool was closed, the volleyball net needs some tightening, the main restaurant was closed, our unit had no phone system due to a recent lightening strike. The staff were friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Jamie Breckenridge from Maryland

Best place in the Ogdensburg area

Posted May 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
Had a fabulous room in the manor house. Great place. Stay there on every trip to the North Country.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
by Boston Traveler from Massachusetts

Stay here only as a last resort

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Hotel has pretty location right on the St. Lawrence but needs total refurb and a good cleaning.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Couldn't sleep the entire night because of the wind and the windows were old. The sound of the wind make me think the suit is haunted. Very uncomfortable. Will not use this resort again. Sorry
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Enjoyable Place To Stay

Posted Mar 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
My husband, newborn son (2 months), and I had to make an impromptu visit to the area to visit my ailing grandmother. The Stone Fence was the only local hotel with any vacancies, unless we wanted to make the trip to Canada; we did not. Locating the appropriate entrance was a little difficult, but the lobby was clean and the desk attendant was very polite. She directed us to the neighboring building - a large, white house. I had requested a room (Room 201) with a view of the river. Honestly, the view wasn't very extensive, but the room was very sizeable with one queen size bed and a full size bed, tv, and a small fridge and microwave. The bathroom was very large and clean. I never rely on hotel toiletries, but if you do, I suggest requesting more from the front desk as there were not many provided. It might sound odd, but one of the BEST parts about our stay was the number of bath towels they provided. It's trivial, but it annoys me when a hotel only provides two of each kind. Also, I loved that the room was so expansive - we had to travel with a lot of baby stuff, and we would have felt cramped in most other hotels. We paid extra for the "waterfront" view, but I would do it again to guarantee that we had a room of similar size and quality. Overall, we were pleased with our stay, and would definitely stay there again.