Ratings based on 70 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by MSBfrom Milford, CT

Upstate Stop

Posted Sep 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Stone Fence Resort is on a Beautiful piece of property!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Shopping
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Tom Rayfrom New Windsor, NY

Stone Fence Review

Posted Aug 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
For a small hotel, it is impressive. The view from the waterfront room is phenomenal as you overlook the St. Lawrence River and Canada. The hot breakfast was pleasantly good. This is a nice place to stay when in the area - we were taking our daughter back to SUNY/Canton, a hop and skip up the road.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2014
stay for an overnight sending son to college.the beds were uncomfortable
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Port Perry, Onario

It Has Potential

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: The grounds and layout of the "resort".
Cons: Rooms need updating.
Location: Very handy to the US/Canada border. No delay crossing. Found a very unique restaurant in town (Freight Station) Good food, interesting set up.
Situated on the St. Lawrence river, the property is beautifully done, with plenty of space to walk around, sit and enjoy the view, swim in the pool or picnic at the gazebo. All very lovely. It is however a work in progress. Room was large, old and tired. Shower did not drain properly, no towel bars to hang up anything. Tub was clean but tap was scummy. Floors squeaked. Screen on balcony door did not slide easily. Bar sink was filthy. Coffee maker did not work. No assistance numbers on the telephone which no one answers anyway. Beds were comfortable. Room was quiet. Breakfast was decent. It has potential and they are working hard to get it in shape. However, it is not worth the price we paid.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by M. Chalsonfrom Binghamton, NY

Not too bad

Posted Jul 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Overall it is a pretty good place to stay. The only complaint is there was no toilet paper at all in the room. Never had that happen before.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Darrel Moenfrom Gowanda, New York

An excellent place to stay

Posted Jun 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
My wife and I greatly enjoyed our stay. Everything was first rate. Plan to stay there again in the fall.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Breakfast was horrible, restroom was very dirty

Posted Jun 18, 2014
location is ok but other things like breakfast is not satisfactory
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs updating

Posted Jun 9, 2014
The hotel is run down but they are in the middle of refurbishing it. I say give it a month or two and it will be nice again. It is in a beautiful location on the water with nice sunsets. Currently the beds are hard and the pillows are flat, the washrooms are dated, the toilet ran all night but it was clean. The pool was closed, the volleyball net needs some tightening, the main restaurant was closed, our unit had no phone system due to a recent lightening strike. The staff were friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Jamie Breckenridgefrom Maryland

Best place in the Ogdensburg area

Posted May 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
Had a fabulous room in the manor house. Great place. Stay there on every trip to the North Country.