Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Breakfast was horrible, restroom was very dirty

Posted Jun 18, 2014
location is ok but other things like breakfast is not satisfactory
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs updating

Posted Jun 9, 2014
The hotel is run down but they are in the middle of refurbishing it. I say give it a month or two and it will be nice again. It is in a beautiful location on the water with nice sunsets. Currently the beds are hard and the pillows are flat, the washrooms are dated, the toilet ran all night but it was clean. The pool was closed, the volleyball net needs some tightening, the main restaurant was closed, our unit had no phone system due to a recent lightening strike. The staff were friendly and helpful.
1 out of 5
by Boston Traveler from Massachusetts

Stay here only as a last resort

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Hotel has pretty location right on the St. Lawrence but needs total refurb and a good cleaning.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Dave and family from Toronto, Ontario, Canada

A Little Resort That Tried

Posted Jan 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our family arrived at the resort from Lake Placid. The lady at the front desk was very friendly. Room was big but dated. Bed side lamp either didn't work or I didn't know to to operate it. Bed was not as comfortable as the larger hotel chains that we slept previously. Some small light stain on bed sheet. Hot water in bathroom was slow to come out (probable we were the only guest in this hotel that night - nobody was running the hot water line). But eventually hot water did come. One nice feature in the bathroom was that a heat lamp on the ceiling outside the bath tub. Room was very quiet (perhaps there was no other guest around?). Next morning after checking out, got a detail instruction on how to drive down near the river to get our breakfast but was forewarned that the place was somewhat flooded. Flooded or not, my wife and kids were determined that we will have breakfast before continue our journey. Eventually, we found our way to a basement of some sort of building and sat and wait for the breakfast buffet to come out. The basement was flooded, but it wasn't too bad. As expected, breakfast was ok - not too much to choice (since there was only one lady working there). After breakfast, since we were already down by the river, we walk out near the dock and enjoy the beautiful snow view of the river. All in all, we had a "unique" experience at this place. Would we come back again and stay, probably not. Did we like our stay, yes we loved it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
The room was clean and comfortable. My toilet rocked? The glass door leading to my hall was broken. Breakfast was pretty good for complimentary. I was frustrated that I couldn't use my cell phone without Canada stealing my signal. Not the hotels fault but makes the location tough
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Shopping
by CW

Dirty Sheets

Posted Nov 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
I pulled back the sheets on one of the beds and there was a bar of soap half melted. It was disgusting. The overall condition of the resort is very rundown.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice stay

Posted Oct 17, 2013
Cons: staff should accompany and leave theguest at the room
Rooms are on water front, nice natural seens good to enjoy
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

needed one night

Posted Oct 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel was fine for what I needed. The best part was the view of the river. Unfortunately, my phone thought it was in Canada. Staff was nice. Room was a bit dated but clean. If I were in OGS again, I would stay here.
1 out of 5
by Joni

Perfect candidate for "Hotel Impossible"

Posted Oct 7, 2013
Ever see the TV series, "Hotel Impossible" ? This hotel is a perfect candidate for the show....and that's NOT a good thing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Lynn from New York

better than what I had read

Posted Aug 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
The staff was very helpful. I had read some other reviews that made me think maybe I should have booked some place else. After I got there most were wrong. Room was nice, service was great. Grand kid had trouble with wi-fi or what ever they call it. Some one came right to our room and help her get on. I will stay there again when I go up that way.