Ratings based on 290 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Amber from Chicago, IL

Higher Hopes

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: Clean sheets. Comfortable bed. Well matched and pretty decor. Would've rated room comfort higher but the lack of cleanliness was a huge factor.
Cons: CLEANLINESS of rooms and new or clean carpets in the hallways.
Location: I really love the Central West End which is why I chose this hotel. There are array of shops, restaurants, a movie theatre and museums.
Allow me to say that I have never stayed in a Comfort Inn that I did not like. I am even a rewards member. Thus, I chose to stay at this Comfort Inn without hesitation. The first room I was assigned had a broken safety latch. This was a huge safety concern for me. I requested another room & was moved. The paint on the room's walls are a lovely vibrant color and the furnishings along with the floors are equally nice. However, these things were over-shadowed by the dirty carpet in the hallway, stained upholstery on the chairs (in the 1st & 2nd rooms) and the pubic hair around the toilet. Not wanting to be a nuisance & figuring that I probably would not fair much better with another room change, I stayed. I traveled to the store to obtain cleaning products & Lysol. I was quite disappointed by the need to clean a room for which I was paying. Cleaning a hotel room was a first for me. I have paid less for better accommodations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Memphis

Nice hotel

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: Loved the hardwood floors.....
I was very pleased with the room. Everything was neat and clean. Will definitely return.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Anjali Rawat from Atlanta

Not happy

Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
After charging $199 plus tax the weather turned cold and they wouldn't turn on the heat. At 9 pm we were obliged to leave the hotel and look for other accommodation. Very unpleasant experience.
2 out of 5
by Angie from Pekin, Illinois

The staff was the best part of our stay.

Posted May 18, 2014
The hotel is in need of some updating. Our room was dirty and run down. The room had laminate flooring throughout, and it was sticky. The bathroom was very small. The bed was fairly comfortable. The staff were very pleasant and eager to assist us.
2 out of 5
by Mike from Athens, Al.

Very Small Showers

Posted May 17, 2014
Pros: A Safe Location
Cons: Re-design and upgrade the place, it seems run down.
Location: Plenty of food joints in walking distance.
You had to fold your shoulders in to take a shower here, then clean up the water in the floor because the curtain was too short. The sink area was designed for four footers, not six footers. Someone skimped on reality here.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Not great

Posted May 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Rundown, smelly hotel
1 out of 5
by George from Chicago

Glad to not have to spend much time here.

Posted May 16, 2014
Pros: Nothing really except it was convenient to where we needed to be.
Cons: Rehab it or close it.
Very tired and worn out facility. Either rehab it or close it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Brian

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Room and Lobby fine, hallways...not so much

Posted Apr 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room was fine. No carpeting on the floor, just vinyl flooring that looks like wood. Most of the TV channels weren't in HD, and the carpet in the hallways were kind of disgusting. I'm sure they were clean, but there were stains everywhere.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

an overnight to catch an a.m. symphony concert

Posted Apr 26, 2014
The facility is conveniently located to downtown, central west end and St. Louis University. Off street free parking in an urban setting is a plus. The building has been in service quite a while and needs rehabbing, redecorating, etc.