Ratings based on 251 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by Paul from Illinois

Awful experience at the Comfort Inn

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Good Breakfast.
Cons: Air conditioning, and get the mold out of the rooms.
Location: The location was good. Good restaurants, and close to downtown St. Louis.
No Air Conditioning in the Hotel. The room never got below 80 degrees, even at night. No air, no windows to open, they did not give us shampoo the second day of our stay and took what little bit we had from the first day, no wash rag, no plastic drinking cups the second day, and there was mold in the bathroom I
1 out of 5
by kamal

very bad hotel

Posted Apr 13, 2014
I never had such a bad experience as I had with this hotel. The did not have air condition in the room and the did not tell us that. The room temp was high and room was humid. when I called the front desk they said they have air condition off because it supposed to be cooler that day per weather forecast and they can not turn the AC on at that time. And it was we just had unpacked every thing from our bags and ready to sleep after a long 8 hour driving. I called another hotel and booked a room their, packed and left the hotel past midnight. the room also was not very clean and front desk people were not professional at all.
2 out of 5
by Carol from Cincinnati, Ohio

Would stay again only if room A/C worked.

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Pros: wood/laminate floors. Room clean except for stained chair. very comfortable bed. free internet. breakfast and parking. Close to zoo and metrolink
Cons: Heating and cooling system fix an urgent need !! Notice ahead of time that had HVAC issues.! Longer shower curtains. Stain management on furniture
Location: Close to St Louis Zoo and the Forest Park museums.. Walking distance to metrolink . Short drive to Delmar Street/Blueberry Hill Cafe.
Liked the wood /laminated wood flooring in the room. Much easier to clean and more sanitary than carpets. Beds quite comfortable. Very comfortable upholstered chair with ottoman in room...but chair had stain on it so I used the colorful fabric overlay they had at foot of bed as a chair cover before I would sit on chair. A/C not adequate. Unable to get room comfortably cool .Was not told ahead of time that this was an issue. .Was not given an adequate explanation for the problem...something about a 2 boiler system yada yada...and told to turn off the A/C....turn on heat but put temperature setting on low number so heat would not kick on...turn fan to on to circulate air. None of this gave adequate comfort. A Maid said heating/cooling system due for renovation.This situation would be unbearable in warmer temperatures. it was 79 degrees outside when we were there. Windows were not the type that could be opened. Faucet in bathroom looked modern but hard to adjust and would spray water over counter top and wall and floor if not careful to turn it just barely on. Shower had a great rain shower nozzle. Lots of hot water available immediately. Shower curtain about 6 " too short so shower water got bathroom floor wet every time. Free internet in room was great. . Free parking was great. Free breakfast was quite decent but had to go looking for attendent when needed something like when out of eggs or needed hot water .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David from Washington, DC

needs a little work

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: It was convenient and I got a reasonable price.
Cons: Fix the ceiling and the latch on the door.
Location: It is in a nice location. Close to a number of places to eat and close to public transportation.
The place was nice but they had an unfinished repair in the ceiling in the shower. The safety latch on the door was broken. The air conditioning didn't work in the room and the windows don't open so it was pretty warm. The room was clean and the staff was personable. The breakfast was good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by The Morleys from Louisville

LOCATION LOCATION and nothing else.

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Centrally located and FANTASTIC access to restaurants, bars, and attractions. Otherwise- breakfast was decent. The rest of the hotel- AWFUL. VERY SMELLY, not filthy but NOT clean- switching over from heat to air was the excuse for it being terribly stuffy. Non working phone in room no attempt to fix- no fridge or microwave in room. Fix for terrible smell- was given a can of air freshener...maid service showed up at 7:30pm and said she "forgot" did we need anything. Hardwood floors would have been great but they were dirty.
2 out of 5
by Steve from Jefferson City

78 degrees all night long. sweat while you sleep

Posted Apr 3, 2014
I got to the hotel and checked in. Went to the room and found no towels, Not that big of a deal. I went back to the desk and told them my room was 78 degrees, Was told that it has to be on heat and to lower the temperature and it will go down. We went out to supper and come back and still 78 degrees. I went to the desk and was told that it will come down and if I need a fan they would give me one. I said no believing that the temperature would go down as I was told.. We went out and came back 3 hrs later and stll 78 degrees. So I went back to the desk and this time I asked for the fan, No luck, They had all been given out. I believe the temperature will go down when they shut the heating system down for the hotel. You cannot open a window. The air conditioning will not work while the heating system is on. I didnt sleep good and by the way when I got up,It was still 78 degrees.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel close in central west end.

Posted Mar 30, 2014
I required a wheelchair accessible room. My room was small, but reasonably accessible. It's an older property but seemed to be well maintained. My biggest complaint was a horribly uncomfortable mattress. It was very soft, and sloped from the middle of the bed outward. I had to reposition myself two or three time during the night to keep from getting too close to the edge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ciara from Orlando, FL

Nice hotel but not worth $100+ / a night

Posted Mar 23, 2014
I'm from STL, and when I saw they turned these old condos/apartments into a hotel, I was eager to stay. Out first room was lovely! Beautiful colors in the bathroom, very nice furniture and updates throughout, and the king sized bed was AMAZING! Veryyyy soft and like 6 pillows were on the bed, very nice. Also great location! In Central West End, 5 minute walk to Forest Park, a movie theatre, resturants, grocery stores, etc.... But the AC was broken in most of the rooms on the third floor we were staying on. So i called and asked for a rooom change, no problem. They changed it, moved us to the first floor, and in that room the ac/heat worked normally. Also the room was still beautiful and comfy.... But on random places on the walls there were these big scratches... It ruined the paint, etc... Made the room look yuck. Okay then a few doors down apparently some people left the water running in their room, flooded a good 20 feet of the carpet in the hallways... The staff were okay. U can tell they are overwhelmed and have way too much on their hands and possibly understaffed. But overall I'd give our stay a B.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cathy from St Louis, MO

last minute booking

Posted Mar 19, 2014
Pros: excellent BED!! and SHOWER!! Balcony nice too!
Cons: needs rooms repainted...old and cuffed up
Location: near downtown...lots of stores was there for a concert
hotel was hot, but heat had been turned down...gave us a balcony room which helped emensly!! Thank you!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Should be 2-star

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Room is clean, but bathroom is too small. Overall, it's okay. However, I think it should be a 2-star hotel.