Ratings based on 264 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Amber from Chicago, IL

Higher Hopes

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: Clean sheets. Comfortable bed. Well matched and pretty decor. Would've rated room comfort higher but the lack of cleanliness was a huge factor.
Cons: CLEANLINESS of rooms and new or clean carpets in the hallways.
Location: I really love the Central West End which is why I chose this hotel. There are array of shops, restaurants, a movie theatre and museums.
Allow me to say that I have never stayed in a Comfort Inn that I did not like. I am even a rewards member. Thus, I chose to stay at this Comfort Inn without hesitation. The first room I was assigned had a broken safety latch. This was a huge safety concern for me. I requested another room & was moved. The paint on the room's walls are a lovely vibrant color and the furnishings along with the floors are equally nice. However, these things were over-shadowed by the dirty carpet in the hallway, stained upholstery on the chairs (in the 1st & 2nd rooms) and the pubic hair around the toilet. Not wanting to be a nuisance & figuring that I probably would not fair much better with another room change, I stayed. I traveled to the store to obtain cleaning products & Lysol. I was quite disappointed by the need to clean a room for which I was paying. Cleaning a hotel room was a first for me. I have paid less for better accommodations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Memphis

Nice hotel

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: Loved the hardwood floors.....
I was very pleased with the room. Everything was neat and clean. Will definitely return.
2 out of 5
by Angie from Pekin, Illinois

The staff was the best part of our stay.

Posted May 18, 2014
The hotel is in need of some updating. Our room was dirty and run down. The room had laminate flooring throughout, and it was sticky. The bathroom was very small. The bed was fairly comfortable. The staff were very pleasant and eager to assist us.
2 out of 5
by Mike from Athens, Al.

Very Small Showers

Posted May 17, 2014
Pros: A Safe Location
Cons: Re-design and upgrade the place, it seems run down.
Location: Plenty of food joints in walking distance.
You had to fold your shoulders in to take a shower here, then clean up the water in the floor because the curtain was too short. The sink area was designed for four footers, not six footers. Someone skimped on reality here.
1 out of 5
by George from Chicago

Glad to not have to spend much time here.

Posted May 16, 2014
Pros: Nothing really except it was convenient to where we needed to be.
Cons: Rehab it or close it.
Very tired and worn out facility. Either rehab it or close it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

an overnight to catch an a.m. symphony concert

Posted Apr 26, 2014
The facility is conveniently located to downtown, central west end and St. Louis University. Off street free parking in an urban setting is a plus. The building has been in service quite a while and needs rehabbing, redecorating, etc.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would not recommend

Posted Apr 23, 2014
The day we check in it was 80° it was 80° in the room that night the hotel was aware of the air conditioner not working properly but they told us it would be working we woke up in the night an the room was 82° they did comp the room, but they were aware of the problem when we checked in and did not tell us.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sanna from Ben Wheeler, TX

Good location, odd bathroom

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Pros: Location, cleanliness, comfortable king-sized bed.
Cons: Re-paint the bathroom and improve it's lighting.
Location: Near the impressive St. Louis basilica and Forest Park. A pleasant 4-block walk to Juniper restaurant where we had a wonderful dinner.
This hotel has been updated and the room looked very nice. Housekeeping was excellent. King sized bed was very comfortable. Lots of windows so it was a nice, bright room. The bathroom was tiny! If we had been obese we wouldn't have been able to use the toilet and the shower would have been a really tight fit. Also, it was painted a vivid apple green that made me look a bit bilious and the lighting was dim. The hotel had switched to air conditioning the day before we arrived so we were unable to use the heat and were a bit chilly at times. For us, the location was excellent and we just dealt with the odd bathroom.
1 out of 5
by Piper

80F Stagnant Room that Smelled of Bleach

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Update HVAC system to the 21st Century (or 20th Century Even) Get rid of stagnant air and bleach smell in room.
Location: Lots of cool and fun things in St. Louis. Just make sure you don't stay here.
The word "worst" is such a strong word but I have no hesitation in saying this is the absolute worst hotel anyone could stay at. Upon arriving at 6pm I and about six guests ahead of me were told our room was not ready and we would have to sit and wait for 30 minutes. One hour later we were told our room was ready and upon entering, it 1) completely reeked of bleach 2) was stagnant 3) was an immovable 80F (ah the trifecta). The poor guy at the reception counter was a saint put in a horrible situation. Several people complained and the manager treated them like total idiots that could not understand that this was an older building and it takes three days to switch from heating to cooling and they would have to deal 80F+ rooms and like it. They and we finally had enough and left. The whole place looked like a war zone with doors open and box fans blowing hall air into rooms. YELP BEFORE YOU STAY!!!! I wish I did!!!!
1 out of 5
by Paul from Illinois

Awful experience at the Comfort Inn

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Good Breakfast.
Cons: Air conditioning, and get the mold out of the rooms.
Location: The location was good. Good restaurants, and close to downtown St. Louis.
No Air Conditioning in the Hotel. The room never got below 80 degrees, even at night. No air, no windows to open, they did not give us shampoo the second day of our stay and took what little bit we had from the first day, no wash rag, no plastic drinking cups the second day, and there was mold in the bathroom I