Ratings based on 1,923 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Massachusetts

Great hotel for a plain & simple STL visit.

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Pros: Scenic location right on the river within walking distance of public transport connections and historic sites. Reasonable price.
Cons: Improve in-room wifi connectivity on the riverfront side.
Location: Good location for the history buff, STL tourist, & casino-goer. Starbucks close @ Hyatt. Places to eat nearby. Chinese restaurant next door.
I stayed at the Crowne Plaza Riverfront for two nights while attending a tattoo convention nearby. You can take the Metrolink from the airport for $4.00 and get off at Convention Center. Crowne Plaza is about a 5 block walk. I arrived early around noon and was allowed to check in. My room was comfortably appointed and spacious. The bed was very comfortable with three pillows. I had a stupendous view of the arch and the Mississippi River. I spent more time than I usually do in my room because the view was so spectacular. There were plenty of places to sit in the lobby and plugs for devices. There is a nice bar in the lobby and an on-site restaurant. The restaurant was expensive, so I recommend eating nearby or walking 5 blocks to the Culinary food store. Furniture in room and lobby was a little worn in places and the shower head was loose in the wall but everything worked as expected. Good towels and hot water. Loud neighbors were quickly subdued by a visit from Security. Housekeeping was visible but unobtrusive. Downtown Trolley stop is 2 blocks away. You can ride all day with hop on/hop off for $2.00.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Memphis

Posted Nov 19, 2014
If you can get a view of the Arch, it's pretty amazing. We started out on the 12th floor in a standard room and the next morning something happened to the waterline in our room and we weren't able to use the sink, toilet or shower. It was extremely inconvenient because we had plans to tailgate with some friends before the Denver-Rams game and ended up missing that. They did get us a new room which turned out to be a suite, which was great, but the only reason we got that and got it as quickly as possibly, was thanks to the maintenance man, Chris. He took the time to find us a suite, brought us a luggage cart, helped us pack everything up and onto the cart. Brought us out new room keys, took our luggage up for us, basically went above and beyond for us. The front desk was less than stellar. Also, the rooms get horribly hot. We turned our heater down at night and it was still so hot, we opened a window. And it was about ten degrees outside.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in downtown

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: housekeeping
Nice hotel, good location at downtown, close to metrolink and Gateway Arch
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom st. louis

Decent hotel, super friendly staff, awful bed

Posted Nov 18, 2014
The staff was great! Very friendly, funny and helpful. The room was good size and the view of the Arch was nice, but the bed was horrendous! It was an old fold up into the wall type bed with a cheap mattress on no box spring, very low to the ground. We were supposed to get a queen, but got a full. The second night we ended up unfolding the sleeper sofa and putting the bed mattress on top of that and it was still ungodly uncomfortable! The hotel would be great if that was resolved, but the bed was so uncomfortable it really diminished everything else about the hotel!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Southern Illinois

Posted Nov 17, 2014
For downtown STL, this is a cheaper hotel so if your not going to spend a lot of time in the hotel or room, the hotel is adequate. Also has plenty of parking for a fee. No breakfast is included or shuttle service is provided so plan on walking or catching a cab if you want to see the sights. Hotel rooms have SMALL bathrooms and the rooms need to be updated all around. Wallpaper was peeling off one wall in our room, the staff didn't put towels in our room upon arrival, and room service only left 2 towels for the second day of the stay. Overall, facilities are below average-to average but location is great and cost is very reasonable for downtown hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location, get what you pay for

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: Walking distance to restaurants and sports stadiums.
Location was great. Walking distance to Busch Stadium and Edward Jones Dome and right next to the Arch. When we checked into our room, we realized it hadn't been cleaned from the previous guests (which is why I gave a "disappointing" rating for cleanliness). We called down to the front desk and they promptly sent housekeeping and handled the inconvenience well. I understand mistakes happen, but a clean room when you walk in is an expected part of any hotel stay. Our room was nice, nothing fancy, but spacious with a balcony that had partial views of the arch and old courthouse. Other than the room not being clean when we got there, we were content. This hotel was cheaper than others in the same area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quick last minutevtrip

Posted Nov 11, 2014
The challenge with this hotel was its deterioration. It needs a face lift. Otherwise it would have been nice. Well located with a great view of the arc.4
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Cape Girardeau, MO

Very nice hotel overlooking the riverfront

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: Staff, rooms, price
Cons: Refrigerators and microwaves in the rooms
Location: downtown St. Louis. The St. Louis arch is across the highway. There are many local bars and night spots within walking distance.
My wife and I stayed at this hotel for a romantic getaway in St. Louis. The staff are exceptionally friendly. The hotel has nice rooms for a reasonable rate. Our room included breakfast for 2 in their restaurant. The food was excellent. The only downside to our suite was there was no refrigerator and no microwave. Parking is easy and convenient as well.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, close to the arch.

Posted Oct 31, 2014
Was great but could use new carpeting and the bathroom was small.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas, TX

Do Not Waste Your Money: Stay Somewhere Else

Posted Oct 30, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: Customer Service, Cleanliness, Room Temp. (offer blankets), Internet Access
Location: The Arch is literally right behind Crown Plaza. Busch Stadium is just a short walk (a few blocks). There are a lot of restaurants to walk to as well.
We picked Crown Plaza because it had the least expensive parking rate ($10/day self-park) and free internet (compared to $13/day at other nearby hotels) for a hotel near the Arch. The hotel also advertised a view of the arch from the outdoor pool area. We pre-paid for a room here from 10/18 - 10/22. After one night, we checked out and moved to Drury Inn in Union Station. Even though we lost out on an entire night's charges at Crown Plaza for checking out early, I was so glad we left. 1. Unfriendly Staff: They did their jobs, at best, but did not offer smiles or any pleasantries. 2. Dirty Room: Carpet had rips and tears and looked as though it had not even been vacuumed since the last guest checked out (debris on floor). Toilet had not be flushed (stuff in it still). Microwave tray and coffee tables had sticky stuff on them, which I had to clean myself. 3. Freezing Cold Room: It was in the 50s outside. No blankets were provided on beds, only sheets. We tried adjusting temperature manually on A/C Units, but nothing happened. Called the front desk and were told they control the temp. and they would make it warmer for us. They did nothing, and I barely slept that night due to being so cold. 4. No View: No view of the Arch from our room. Tried to go up to the pool level for a view, but entire level was closed, which was not advertised. 5. No Internet: Could not connect using password provided. Took comp to front desk. Told it was a Firefox issue. Wouldn't connect w/IE either.