Ratings based on 1,708 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Views were great, however.........

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Pool on the roof and views of the Arch
Cons: Updating of the rooms and turn the temp down on the water.
Location: Great location to walk to restaurants and stadium
Picked this hotel based on the pictures on the website. They were obviously taken a LONG time ago. When we arrived at the hotel there were huge lines to get checked in and to get on the elevators. Total chaos! We were given the wrong room and when we called the front desk to ask to change rooms we were told to check back a couple of hours later with a specific person because they were waiting on a cancellation (we reserved and paid for ours already). We wanted to go out to eat and not wait around so we went to the front desk and met with the person we were told to contact and he immediately gave us another room. The room was what we reserved however it desperately needed updating. There was mold in the bathroom, shaving mirror was barely hanging from the hinges, the fan in the bathroom didn't work and was covered with rust. We reserved a room for five people and there were three towels and one wash cloth in the room. Views of the arch and pool on the roof was the saving grace.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay somewhere else.

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Great location for downtown but the hotel is in terrible shape. Peeling paint all over our room, no blanket only sheets on the bed, no thermostat in the room you just get what everyone else gets. Had a staff member recommend certain elevators 'with a view'. The view may have been nice but I couldn't see past all the dirt and grime as we climbed each level. The hotel has potential but definitely needs some tlc/updates/cleaning. We stayed 2 nights then went to the Hampton inn up the street and were extremely happy there. Again, it's such a shame because the hotels location is prime especially if you're attending a game or event downtown.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Staff not accommodating

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Needed 2 beds instead of one. Asked the frontdesk at checkin. Cant...may we have a roll away, yes. No one came. We called housekeeping, yes you can have a roll away bed. No one came or called. 3rd phone call...cant have a roll away because our room was too small to accommodate one. Ok .....but the view of the arch was spectacular.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago

Nice hotel, slow elevators, slow wifi

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: large room
Cons: better wifi better cellphone reception
This could be a really great hotel if they fixed a few problems. There are six elevators and 29 floors. All of the elevators go to every floor. They should allocate one or two to the top nine floors only. This being an older building, has older elevators. Getting to my floor took forever. With sprint(phone) and verizon(hotspot), I only had 1 bar of reception, and my calls dropped frequently. Not much the hotel can do about that, other than request another tower be built, but I don't think that they have that clout. The hotel's free wifi is so slow, its unusable. The ping response time is around 1800ms. That is too much latency to load pages. I called about this, and was transferred to a third party company that handles their IT(ibahn). Ibahn said that they reset the particular access point that I connected to, but that didn't resolve the problem. The hotel's manager said that a conference let out, which flooded the network. This was a lie though, I had the same problem at 6:30am, 6pm, and 10:30pm. The hotel, just doesn't upgrade its infrastructure.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Spfld il

Rooftop pool

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Only reason we booked was for rooftop pool. Air conditioning didn't work and waited 20 mins for valet parking while blocking traffic. Lots of shady characters hanging around entrance and there was a death the night we stayed. The roof top pool was only good thing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tn

Great location,

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Had a lot of fun, the hotel was a little older but very clean. we had a great view of the arch in the pool on the roof was interesting( scared of heights but fun). the rooms are very large and very comfortable!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Long Island, NY

St. Louis area - by Arch

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: Location - near Arch and near baseball stadium. Staff was also very nice and friendly overall. I also like the glass elevators - nice views
Cons: Thought the rooms needed upgrading - especially Air Conditioners.
Location: Arch
Location was nice, but the room was warm and the Air Conditioner was old and didn't work very well. I would not recommend staying June, July or August in St. Louis - Too warm for this hotel. I was not too happy with the cleaning (maid) service. Didn't get the "clean" feeling. Front Desk staff was very pleasant and I had dinner at the bar and the bartender was very nice and friendly. I think the Parking fee per night should be listed on site. $10 per night to self park (good luck finding a spot) or $20 for valet service. I selected this hotel because the price was the same Fairview Heights (closer to my client) vs the City but when you add parking, it was more expensive. We bill our clients for our hotel cost so price is very important to keep low. I had to eat the parking part because this hotel ended up being more expensive for the 5 nights. And - I was disappointed with room comfort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Katy, Tx

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Pros: Staff, view, location...very close to the arch and Busch Stadium
Cons: location of trash bins and employee smoking area
Overall, a nice stay. Very friendly, helpful staff. Especially Vernon at the front desk. Only complaint is getting from the hotel to the parking garage. The smoking area for employees is right outside the exit from the hotel to the garage, as is some trash bins. A very smelly situation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

St. Louis was great!

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Pros: Spaceous very clean room, great mattress to sleep on.
Cons: Restaurant.
Location: The St. Louis Arch is a great experience.
Our stay was wonderful, we really loved our spaceous room. The Hotel Staff and valet were great. Centrally located to walk to many things. Our only complaint would be the dining at the hotel. They were very very slow in their service. They didn't check back with us if we needed anything. I would not recommend eating at the hotel. Wish they had better eating options at the hotel. We like to eat at the Hotels we stay at. Other than that, the Hotel was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tulsa, OK

Nice hotel with rooftop pool.

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: location & rooftop pool.
Cons: Better Air Conditioning.
Location: Near Busch stadium, Arch shopping &restaurants.
Enjoyed rooftop pool. Only two hotels downtown have outdoor pools. Only downside was air conditioner did not work well. Staff promptly brought us a fan which made us more comfortable! Staff was very attentive and friendly.