Ratings based on 169 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

My worst ever experience

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: Nothing.
I have booked the room one month ago and got all confirmation but when I travelled there, I was told rooms are booked fully. In the night, with kid, I was searching for some other hotel on a long weekend. I will say that they totally messed my weekend plan.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Only One Queen Bed

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: The staff was very friendly and accomodating.
Cons: Let know that only includes one queen bed. Hotel told me this was a common issue when booked online through 3rd party sites.
Location: 45 mins away from Six Flags St Louis, not as close as I was led to believe. Less than 5 miles from the airport.
Great overall stay. The room was only one bed and no cots or other rooms were available so call ahead if you need it for two people. My buddy slept in the reclining chair. Great kitchen and bathroom, but not for buddies traveling when 2 beds are wanted.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kansas City

You get what you pay for.

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: Price was reasonable and there is an ourdoor pool. Staff was pleasant and helpful.
Cons: Facility is very old and everything needs to be updated.
Location: Close to St. Louis Airport.
The staff was nice but the hotel is very old and everything is outdated. I bet it was very nice in 1992.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are sorry to hear that you felt our hotel was outdated; however, we are glad that you found our staff to be friendly and enjoyed our pool. Thank you again for your review. We hope to see you again in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kansas

Room Condition

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: Liked the looks of the outside and landscaped nicely. The office staff was very friendly
Cons: Updating- part of the studs in hall were exposed.
Location: Easy to access from I-70. Wonderful Chinese restaurant nearby.
Hotel staff very friendly and nice. The maid was very lax. The bathroom had a few sheets of toilet tissue. No full roll. No wash cloths. The stool had the lid up with toilet bowl cleaner in it. The office girl promptly brought the missing items. Needs alot of updating, looked like it had been in a flood.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
We want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. We are glad that our staff provided you with quality service and were able to fix the issues in a timely fashion; however, we are disappointed to hear that your room was not up to your standards. We will be working with our housekeeping staff to make sure we are properly cleaning and stocking rooms. Thank you again for your review. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience the next time you're in town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel not too far from St Louis area

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Hotel was nice, clean, and a great deal for the money I spent. Stayed there for the weekend while there for a hockey tournament. Staff was friendly, I'll definitely stay here again
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from charleston

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Stayed here passing thru to Denver. Hotel had old musty/smokey smell as soon as I entered the lobby and didn't get any better in the room. Each time I approached the front desk there was socializing going on and I felt like I was interrupting a conversation. Everything was I suppose as clean as it could be, for what they were working with. My only true complaint is the tub was moving beneath my feet, didn't drain and shower curtain was 6" too long which meant it was soaked, and I'm sure not washed after each guest. After being shunned to the airport area with no downtown vacancies, I left the next morning rested and happy I saved a few $$, but if my stay was extended it wouldn't be here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dan - Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay with us. I am sorry that you had issues with your shower curtain and tub not draining. I will work with our maintenance staff these items corrected. Also, I apologize that you weren't given a higher level of service from our associates. I will be meeting with our staff to ensure this does not continue in the future. I am glad that you saved some money during your stay with us. We hope that you will stay at our hotel, or any of our other brand locations, in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Gary from St. Louis

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very pleased....Very clean and quiet.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Rooms very old and outdated, but service was GREAT

Posted May 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
The rooms were very old and needs updating badly, only thing new was the bed and bed linen. Kitchen was from the 80's and so was the flooring. I think alot of the residents live there also. Lobby is updated how most extended stay hotels are, but the rooms are another story with old old furniture too. But it was not as bad as it looked b/c the service was great, all the lady's at the front desk for my two nights were very accommodating and friendly!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. I apologize that you were not pleased with the overall condition of our hotel. Your comments regarding needed updates will be very useful as we continue to improve our guest experience. Still, I am glad to hear that you were satisfied with the great service provided by our staff. I will be sure to share your kind comments with our team. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay America. We hope to see you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.