Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2015
The room met my expectations going in. It is conveniently located within walking distance of numerous restaurants and pubs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2015 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for the great review and we look forward to seeing you again soon! Marianne Director of Sales
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Springfield, MO

Nice hotel close to restaurants.

Posted Jul 9, 2015
Pros: Parking, room very nice, workout area ok.
Location: Lots of restaurants within walking distance.
Had a comfortable stay for one night. Used the workout area in the morning. It was okay. Breakfast a little disappointing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2015 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! You are right in the middle of the hub with the most award winning restaurants in the St. Louis area and I'm glad you enjoyed them. Thanks for staying with us and we hope to see you back soon. Marianne Director of Sales
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from michigan

Great location for central west end

Posted Jun 25, 2015
Wonderful staff. GREAT BREAKFAST. Room was clean and great location for everything.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2015 by Guest Services , Hotel Management
Thank you for your great review! We think our Team is pretty amazing and they will appreciate hearing your kind words! Did you try the cinnamon rolls? My weakness for sure. I reach for those but my hips pull me right over to the yogurt! I'm glad you were able to enjoy the wide variety with a great breakfast as you start your day. Come back and see us soon, we're so glad you experienced a great stay at our wonderful historic Hotel. Marianne Director of Sales
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Simple but good

Posted May 26, 2015
Nothing fancy about it but a good and easy place to stay in the Central West End. Reasonably priced for the amenities. Not much, but a good bed, clean room, decent breakfast, great location.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 29, 2015 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
DavidT, thank you for taking the time to review our historic urban Hotel. I am so glad you found our location to be great! We think we have a little slice of heaven right outside our front door. I hope you were able to visit the shops and eat at some of the most amazing restaurants, all within walking distance. The charm of the Central West End has been name on of the top 10 in the United States and I am glad you were able to experience it. If your travels find you back in our oasis, we hope that you will call the Holiday Inn Express your home away from home. Thanks again for the great review.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to St. Louis University, Wash U and CWE.

Posted May 14, 2015
First night AC was so loud it woke us up every time it came on. To the hotel's credit, they moved us without a problem for the 2nd night. That room had a funky smell almost like sewage. Very nice content all breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2015 by Guest Service , Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Hotel. I am so sorry you encountered an issue with your room and I do apologize for the inconvenience. I am thrilled to learn that your needs were met immediately. Thank you for the accolades for the continental breakfast. Hopefully you tried those very dangerous cinnamon rolls! They are so warm and delicious – you can’t have just one – trust me, I slap my hands every single day! If your travels find you back in St. Louis, I hope you’ll stay with us again. Again, we appreciate the review and I will see to it that the rooms AC unit is inspected. Safe travels.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Very affordable close to great park & good eats

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pretty basic accommodations. Very cramped bathroom, but clean. Bed clean and comfy. View of garden with flowering trees outside. Safe convenient parking. Short walk to fantastic park area & fun eating/shopping area with character.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 28, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Susan, thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. Our Hotel is unique as it is on the National Trust for Historic Preservation and the first “motel” built in St. Louis. When renovating there are rules and regulations of things we can and cannot do. I understand the size of the bathroom is not as large as some hotels yet knowing the history makes it quaint. Our beds and linens are the best – so comfy and cozy and thank you for the accolades about the garden. The area is one of the most prestigious in the St. Louis area known for great restaurants and great shopping. Should your travels find you back in the area, I certainly hope we’ll see you again. A Shanahan General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from illinois

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Pros: Awesome breakfast.
Cons: Bathrooms.
I was told we would have 2 queen size beds we had 2 fulls. Shower width way to small shower head to low and wall above sink we all hit our heads. Breakfast was awesome. Really we need to pay $5 to park in your parking lot that is stupid we already paid way to much for room and to also have to pay to park there!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2015 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of the Holiday Inn Express St. Louis - Central West End. I'm sorry to hear you were told that you would have queen beds in the room, the bathroom setup was bad, and that parking costs $5.00 a night. We will look into the bed size confusion and issues you faced while staying with us. We hope you will give us another chance to provide you with an exceptional experience if you are ever in the area. A Shanahan General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Cons: The shower curtain smelled aweful...
Location: Close to the zoo and forest park! Also, Cathedral Basilica of Saint Louis was in walking distance.
The staff was very nice and helpful. The room was decent and location was great!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 28, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I have spoken to our Director of Housekeeping and the vendor that provides our cleaning supplies. I can assure you that this incident is isolated and will never occur again. Thank you for letting us know, it is helpful to the success and cleanliness of our Hotel. The Zoo is one of the best in the United States and F – R – E – E!! Can you believe it! Our location is unique, classic and rich with great architectural scenes, restaurants and shopping. We hope that when in our beautiful City, you’ll stay with us again. Thank you for the great review. We love our Guests! A Shanahan General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

conveniently located

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: Location to local events (concert, zoo)
Cons: Parking was terrible-very small underground garage.
Location: Nice location-good area; close to theatre, restaurants, St. Louis Zoo, and main freeway.
Average hotel, expected more based on website. Rooms very small and plain. Bathroom was tiny with poor layout.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 3, 2015 by Guest Services Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am happy to hear that you liked our location. I do apologize that we did not meet your expectations with our parking and bathrooms in the room. I do hope that you will give us another chance and come stay with us again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Nice experience all around one thing stuck out the

Posted Mar 22, 2015
The woman who was fighting to provide a clean and well stocked breakfast could realy use anouther helper everyone has me me attitude in a m her helpfull attitude and smile was wondefull