Ratings based on 317 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Victoria F. from St Louis

Close to all must-see sights

Posted Jul 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
I love the Hotel and the staff was friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Tim Smith from Allentown, PA

Missouri Athletic Club

Posted Jun 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff was very friendly. We got to the hotel early and they were able to put us in our room right away. The only bad thing was that the fitness center was not open on Sunday, other than that the stay was great
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Winston

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Overlooked gem

Posted Jun 25, 2014
A magnificent old athletic club that has character and class. We were treated as guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Eduardo from Long Island

History Hotel in Downtown St. Louis

Posted Jun 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was very pleasantly surprised by this gorgeous hotel. It is centrally located, a couple of blocks from the St. Louis Arch, and from some of the best Blues Bars in the city. The Metro was also only a couple of blocks away. The athletic facilities are fantastic --a large pool where one could do laps, and a large work out room with free weight and all kinds of nautilus machines, as well as a basket ball court. The Athletic in the name of the hotel is amply justified.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Good value, good people

Posted Jun 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is in a good location to the ballparks and the Arch. The staff were excellent. The decor is dated, the carpet needs replacing (some stains, old and worn) but the bed was comfortable and the room a reasonable size. Everything was working properly in the room, although the climate controls are dated and could be upgraded as well. The shower stall was very small (I'm not big but I can imaging large people bumping into the walls as they soap up!). As I was on a business trip, the location was great and for the price - I'd stay there again. The only one real negative, is that because it is a 'Club' they are allowed to sell cigars and the bar/restaurant allows smoking. I couldn't eat there because of the smell of cigar smoke, which I really despise. That colored my overall impressions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Loved all the amenities except bummed that once we arrived it was only open for two hours for the pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Heather from Australia

Great location

Posted Jun 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Wow! What a lovely place to stay. Like stepping back in time in the lobby with wood paneling, several seating areas with beautiful leather couches, staircase, lighting, display cases etc. the room was great, clean and comfy. Location in walking distance to arch, river boats and restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kathy from Knoxville, TN

Convenient to the Arch

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Cons: A little more storage or counter space in the bathroom.
Beautiful interior of a lovely old building. Happy to see it has been preserved. Pool was well maintained, staff was courteous and very helpful. The bathroom in our room was adequate, but lacked some conveniences that newer facilities have. Very clean and gave us a lovely taste of the elegance of the past.