Ratings based on 300 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, Indiana

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Awesome customer service!! We was within walking distance if shopping, restaurants, and Edward Jones Dome. Parking was a great extra for this hotel, and very reasonable. Totally satisfied
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

1D

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Very nice hotel and staff close to everything downtown.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not our idea of family friendly...

Posted Aug 13, 2014
The Missouri Athletic Club (MAC) is an architecturally and historically significant property. Definitely worth checking out. The art and historical photos were wonderful. But, the MAC holds on to a bygone time of the a "good ol' boys" club which may be better left to history. Open to Members and Hotel guests only, with a requirement for proper attire, we saw one other woman besides me during our stay. There seemed to be a racial separation between the hotel staff who were African American and the members/guests who were mid-ages and older Caucasian men. The guests were friendly but the staff only engaged when addressed or prompted. The athletic facilities are not a place for kids (our boys are 5 and 7 years old). The hotel rooms have been updated but still lag behind the review of the hotel we read. It was comfortable and clean. But, there was chipping paint in the bathroom and the shower ran hot/cold with a hard time to find the balance. My husband headed out at 10 p.m. to walk three blocks and pick up a take out pizza. Beyond the block of the MAC, he felt uneasy and on guard (this is a man who has spent several seasons offering outreach to the homeless). Perhaps because he was donning a plaid short sleeved collar shirt due to the dress attire at the MAC.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Posted Aug 10, 2014
I wasn't very happy with the room. The staff was very nice but my room wasn't very nice. It look better online then the real thing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Good value, walking distance to downtown locales.

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Only had one night to stay. Was clean, safe, easy in and out. Was unfortunate that while we out for dinner they lost power. Was a 2 hour wait for that to be resolved. Did get a generous bill adjustment for our inconvenience. Would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from st.louis mo.

Great location for our extended trip

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Great e perience. Hotel staff was extremely courteous.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice old hotel downtown

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: The old elegance and location.
The hotel was old elegance, and very nicely maintained in the common areas. The room was tiny and dated. TV wouldn't work at check in and it took two requests before someone came and fixed it. View out the window was a filthy air shaft. Climate controls were antique and it took two days for the room to warm up enough to not have to be in bed when in the room. This was in July! It was freezing in the room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 20, 2014
It was ok ... you can tell its just old. There is an old smell to it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Classy

Posted Jul 11, 2014
This hotel had a very classy and historic main lobby that truly made myself feel like I was in a 5 star hotel. The room was much bigger and nicer than anticipated for the price. They even provided a shuttle to Busch stadium! The only downside is the area that surrounds it, it's pretty slummy. The stadium is only a 10 minute walk away, but travel in packs at night...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Overlooked gem

Posted Jun 25, 2014
A magnificent old athletic club that has character and class. We were treated as guests.