Ratings based on 254 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in Clayton, Mo

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Pros: Nice hotel walking distance to restaurants and shops of Clayton. Fun bar and patio attached
Cons: Hotel could use a little updating but very charming
Weekend getaway in St. Louis, Mo. Seven Gables Inn was conveniently located in Clayton, a suburb of St Louis. Lots of great restaurants and shopping.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maplewood Missouri

A touch of European ambiance

Posted Jul 11, 2015
The Seven Gables was one of several places we stayed while having our home repaired from storm damage. As a boutique style hotel there are a few (just a few) less amenities and more charm and character, but of all the other places we stayed we were more comfortable, and slept better here. My guess is that your typical Midwestern guest might not fully grasp the European boutique experience, being possibly more accustomed to the big US national brand hotels with all of the bells and whistles. We on the other hand, absolutely loved every minute. We highly suggest giving it a try.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Pros: Everything - the room was great, clean and comfortable.
Cons: Breakfast, which they could have had more than just a plain continental breakfast.
Location: Good location, lots of good restaurants nearby.
Parking is very limited when I arrived at night it was full, the hotel staff took my car and parked without charging me for valet parking. That is what is called customer service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 2, 2015
The staff were extremely welcoming, almost like being at home. The room was comfortable, clean, and set up perfectly. Good was great, surrounding area was clean safe and near plenty of restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 3, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 5 star review! We appreciate the kind words and are so glad you enjoyed your stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 23, 2015 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2015 by John Surtin I Director, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A beautiful historical site.

Posted Apr 3, 2015
I would like to visit this hotel again. Comfort and clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! Looking forward to your next stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Gregory from Minneapolis

Seven Gables

Posted Mar 24, 2015 on Hotels
Here for NCAA tournament stayed 4 nights. Mass transit nearby a real plus. Staff friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2015 by John Surtin I Director, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review Gregory!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SE Illinois

Disappointed for the money we paid

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Location #1- Easy to walk to several locations & restaurants. The bed was very comfortable. Parking, while not well attended, was cheaper than most.
Cons: Exterior for sure, interior cleanliness, BREAKFAST BAR! Lots of peeling paint and plaster, courtyard needs thorough power washing!
Location: Many restaurants and places to get a drink within 2 blocks. High-end places to eat within 1/2 mile, easy walk, cheap cheap valet!
We book on Expedia a few weeks before our stay. We picked it because of the location, website pictures, and some prior reviews. We'd driven by and looked at it once and it looked nice. That being said, we arrived and pulled up to valet. I had the bags on the sidewalk, ready to go in before the valet came out. Not horrible, but not a good first impression. We walked in and my wife was taken back by the smell. Some cross between molded wood, trash, and some stench covered by a cinnamon spray. Check-in was easy and quick. We were provided with directions to our room which were odd. We're not fans of stairs, but understand in older buildings. They weren't bad, but rough with luggage. The room was very big and the bed comfortable. The furnishings were antique which I liked. My wife was not impressed with the debris on the bathroom mirror and around the tub, or the cobwebs on the ceiling in the hallways by the light fixtures. The second night we had to call the front desk at 12:30am because the courtyard party wouldn't stop. They immediately took care of the issue which was nice. The free breakfast we got for getting the Superior room: WOW what a disappointment!! Horrible stale pastries, no plates, coffee and hot water empty, no attendant, stale cereal...just horrible. We ate out both days. The exterior had peeling paint and plaster as well as rotting wood trim. We won't be back unless they make improvements! Not worth over $200/night.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 6, 2015
Great location and atmosphere. Lacking in service and quality at their Molly Darcy Pub. Checking out, no one bothered acknowledge my presence....unreal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Victor from Kansas City

quiet saturday night

Posted Mar 5, 2015 on Hotels
Staff very considerate to my physical health needs. Since they had no elevator, they shuffled to find an open room on the main floor.