Ratings based on 198 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ohio

Great staff, something different! Refreshing,

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Loved the building, staff and the rooms, they were super accommodating. The courtyard view is awesome! Loved sitting out there! :)
3 out of 5
by MoraDora from Indianapolis, IN

Be aware book a room for three but only get 1 bed?

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: Small and quite
Cons: Service, empower your staff
Location: Quite area but could walk to some restaurants
I booked a room for three with Expedia but when I got there only had a king bed. The girl at the desk said this happened often and kept quoting my confirmation fine print. I shared I thought this was misleading practices if you can book for three but only get a room for two. I don't usually open my confirmations unless I have trouble when I check in but will make this a best practice going forward to watch for this type of practice. The girl a the desk wasn't empowered to do anything and had to call the manger at home to waive a $25 rollaway bed. Also, when we got there no one came to greet us we received no assistance and when walked up to the girl working at the front desk she barely said hello. Nice feature to have a simple free breakfast. However, there was no one working in the area and we had to wait 10 minutes for a bowl for the cereal. Hotel was cute and clean but off the beaten path.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from atlanta

Good for leisure, not for business

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Pros: Very comfortable bed and a large and well designed room.
Cons: Water pressure was not great and shower was very loud; a larger desk would help.
Location: Good location; plenty of restaurants nearby; good walking area for an urban location
This is a fine hotel in a great location. However it lacks some basic business traveler amenities. No ice machine or soft drinks; the work desk is very small: the plumbing is old and loud and there are no elevators. On the positive side, the room was large, the bed was firm and the staff was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sally from Champaign, IL

just right

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Pros: Location in downtown Clayton, elegant furnishings, very comfortable bed, nice amenities in the lobby and in the rooms.
Cons: I don't think there are elevators--if so I didn't see them. That makes the hotel inaccessible.
Location: Downtown Clayton shopping (esp. St. Louis Galleria) Forest Park museums, zoo, Science Center Washington University and historical World's Fair sites
I booked just an overnight stay, on business, but Seven Gables Inn is fully worthy of a weekend stay for fun. An elegant small hotel in downtown Clayton, I can picture myself staying there while visiting places I loved as a child--the St. Louis Art Museum, the Zoo, etc. My room was quite splendid--except for the views from the windows (since the Inn is situated between parking decks and other urban structures, hardly the Inn's fault). I did not try the restaurant, except for breakfast (which was very good). There are quite a few other restaurants of all kinds in a 2-3 block radius. Cafe Napoli impressed me favorably.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice quaint hotel

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: Charming and quaint hotel Convenience and accessibility
Cons: Full service breakfast with a menu typical of a bed/breakfast type venue
Location: Accessible to most St. Louis attractions such as restaurants, theatre, concerts, sporting events.
We stayed at this hotel to enjoy a nice get-away weekend which was a present for my husband's birthday. We found it to be a nice quaint hotel with antique furnishings in the guest rooms that reminded us of a bed and breakfast. There were many good restaurants nearby within walking distance. The hotel was very convenient and accessible. The weekend turned out to be a pleasant experience where we enjoyed the quiet time away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

College Tours

Posted Feb 13, 2014
Pros: Nearly everything.
Cons: I would prefer rooms with hardwood floors and area carpets over wall to wall carpeting.
Location: Clayton is a business district primarily. There are plenty of trendy restaurants and coffee shops.
My daughter and I stayed in this hotel when we visited St. Louis for a tour of Washington University. The hotel is located close to campus and in an area with trendy restaurants. The hotel is more like a European style hotel with staff seated behind a lovely wooden desk. We were given a room on the second floor, but had to use a staircase rather than an elevator. The rooms were decorated in a very quaint and distinctively European style. The hotel provides terrific amenities (homemade cookies, chocolates, Fiji water bottles, and USA Today newspapers) at no additional charge. Breakfast is included in the rate and the coffee/tea bar is open all day long. Terrific find.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from St Louis

Posted Jan 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
unfortunatley the bathroom waste baket was still filled with the last peoples garbage. the shelf above the hangers was filled with some dirt and when i took down my black clothes they were covered in white stuff. and finally, there was only one drinking cup in the bathroom. management was told and hopefully all will be well for the next people.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by MICHELLE from ILLINOIS

Posted Jan 4, 2014
WE HAD OUR FRIENDS AND FAMILY STAY HERE FOR A WEDDING.............THE LOCATION WAS THE BIG SELLER FOR US, CLOSE TO ALL WEDDING EVENTS WE STAY HERE FAIRLY OFTEN WHEN WE ARE IN TOWN AND LOVE THE QUIRKINESS AND LOW KEY ATMOSPHERE..................STAFF IS GREAT ROOMS PROBABLY IN NEED OF A LITTLE FRESHENING BUT IT IS PART OF THE CHARM AND WE LOVE IT !
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Terry from Clayton, MO

Good neightborhood and resturants nearby

Posted Dec 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
Beautiful room with a view of the courtyard. Wonderful amenities - warm cookies, wine with cheese and crackers and good toiletries.