Ratings based on 220 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom St. Louis, MO

Charming Hotel in Downtown Clayton Missouri

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: The old world charm with a bed & breakfast feel.
Cons: Registration area\process could stand an update.
Location: Several nice eateries within walking distance and very quiet area on the weekends.
Old world charm with a bed & breakfast feel contrasting the surrounding glass and steel structure of Clayton. Several nice eateries within walking distance and very quiet area on the weekends. Quite enjoyable!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Springfield

Quaint Hotel

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: Good location, accessible parking, great staff.
Cons: Elevator and real cream for coffee
Location: Shopping, dining
Very nice, roomy, clean, instant hot water. Only negative no elevator and steps were curvy and not very wide.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 22, 2014
It was fine but wouldn't stay there again. The room, especially the bathroom did not feel very clean. Very small room. We could hear every noise in the surrounding rooms. However, the food at the restaurant was good and the location is good.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Cathy Rosefrom New Orleans.

Posted Sep 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room was well worn and not maintained. Air conditioner was barely functioning. Not worth the high rate.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Absolutely filthy

Posted Sep 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
There were dead bugs in the room, hair all over bathroom, and carpet had multiple disgusting stains. Would NEVER stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

Not coming back

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: See above
Cons: HVAC!
Location: Great location in Clayton
This is my second stay. I love the charm of the hotel but the HVAC system is horrible. It blows from the ceiling right onto the bed. I tried adjusting multiple times during the night and finally gave up. Got lousy sleeps the three nights there. Similar problem last time but it was more the noise of the system (augmented by a window unit in that room) that bothered me; felt like I was trying to sleep on a jet airplane it was so loud. Like I said there are things I love about the Seven Gables: the charm; large well appointed rooms; nice continental breakfast; friendly staff. However I need to be able to sleep at night and that was a struggle.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Benfrom Cape Girardeau

Awesome place. it's my new go to place in st louis

Posted Aug 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Easy to find. Great staff. Awesome rooms. Need to work on the parking though. Parking was to expensive for cost of room. Breakfast needs to be upgraded as well. Otherwise I think its worth it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Stephenfrom coastal southern California

Needs repair good location breakfast bad

Posted Aug 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
It is an excellent quiet location and easy to go anywhere in the area from this hotel. The room wad nice and large and well appointed, except for loose wall paper at one window. The HVAC system is builf-in, rathet than those noisy through the wall units in the chain hotels. The frony door of the building is falling apart at the seams, and there is a hole in the ceramic floor tile in the restaurant. The courtyard is very nice. The breakfast, with packaged sasuage and egg sandwiches,was not nearly as nice as what we expected for the price. The bagel was hard and stale one morning. The stairways were just fine, so I do not understand mention of them in a review below. An inexperiencef traveler who trys to bring the suitcase which ate Manhattan may not like them, but they add to the charm. The plaon slab doors and frames on the rooms are out of place and could be replaced at little expense.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Roxannefrom Brooklyn NY

Making business travel enjoyable

Posted Jul 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is not the most modern or updated hotel you will stay is but the inn, with it's B&B feel was comfortable and pleasant. Great staff! So kind and accommodating - they really helped drive the positive experience.