Ratings based on 207 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 22, 2014
It was fine but wouldn't stay there again. The room, especially the bathroom did not feel very clean. Very small room. We could hear every noise in the surrounding rooms. However, the food at the restaurant was good and the location is good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Not coming back

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: See above
Cons: HVAC!
Location: Great location in Clayton
This is my second stay. I love the charm of the hotel but the HVAC system is horrible. It blows from the ceiling right onto the bed. I tried adjusting multiple times during the night and finally gave up. Got lousy sleeps the three nights there. Similar problem last time but it was more the noise of the system (augmented by a window unit in that room) that bothered me; felt like I was trying to sleep on a jet airplane it was so loud. Like I said there are things I love about the Seven Gables: the charm; large well appointed rooms; nice continental breakfast; friendly staff. However I need to be able to sleep at night and that was a struggle.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ohio

Great staff, something different! Refreshing,

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Loved the building, staff and the rooms, they were super accommodating. The courtyard view is awesome! Loved sitting out there! :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
by DadofThree from 78108

Mixed Bag

Posted Jun 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room was clean but outdated. The telephone didn't work and the toilet ran all night. The hotel did have a decent looking pub but I didn't make use of it. The valet was found at the check-in desk upon arrival instead of outside where the cars are. The location was good buy not close to my destination, this was my fault not the hotel.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Leslie white from OFallon IL

Disappointed

Posted Jun 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
No valet parking or help with the bags to the 2nd floor. When we arrived we were told we had already checked in. They had given our room away. The bathroom of our new room had hair in the tub. The bed was comfortable. The breakfast was good. It could have been a better experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by RjS from Los Angeles

Nice, quaint, comfortable

Posted May 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very friendly staff and the room was furnished beautifully and very comfortable. Slight musty smell in the room, otherwise would have given it 5 stars. No elevator, but the staff carried my bags up.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ron from Omaha

Pay for parking?!?

Posted May 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
If you stay in a hotel you should not have to pay to park in the hotel' s alley way (parking lot) ! Use the the hotel shampoos-your charged !
3 out of 5
by MoraDora from Indianapolis, IN

Be aware book a room for three but only get 1 bed?

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: Small and quite
Cons: Service, empower your staff
Location: Quite area but could walk to some restaurants
I booked a room for three with Expedia but when I got there only had a king bed. The girl at the desk said this happened often and kept quoting my confirmation fine print. I shared I thought this was misleading practices if you can book for three but only get a room for two. I don't usually open my confirmations unless I have trouble when I check in but will make this a best practice going forward to watch for this type of practice. The girl a the desk wasn't empowered to do anything and had to call the manger at home to waive a $25 rollaway bed. Also, when we got there no one came to greet us we received no assistance and when walked up to the girl working at the front desk she barely said hello. Nice feature to have a simple free breakfast. However, there was no one working in the area and we had to wait 10 minutes for a bowl for the cereal. Hotel was cute and clean but off the beaten path.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from atlanta

Good for leisure, not for business

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Pros: Very comfortable bed and a large and well designed room.
Cons: Water pressure was not great and shower was very loud; a larger desk would help.
Location: Good location; plenty of restaurants nearby; good walking area for an urban location
This is a fine hotel in a great location. However it lacks some basic business traveler amenities. No ice machine or soft drinks; the work desk is very small: the plumbing is old and loud and there are no elevators. On the positive side, the room was large, the bed was firm and the staff was excellent.