Ratings based on 1,093 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced

Posted Dec 17, 2013
Hotel was old. Good location for a concert at the Scottrade center.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Do not stay here ever

Posted Dec 16, 2013
Pros: nothing
Cons: update the hotel. fix the heating system and clean the carpet. place a working phone in the room. have hotel staff answer phone lines.
Location: hotel was hard to find by GPS system. the hotel is not close to anything. most of the activities are far from the hotel
The hotel clerk was unattentive. There were no bell hop carts to carry your bags in the hotel. Once inside the king size room, it was very small with a huge TV that only had 5 channels to watch. The bathroom was very tiny and outdated. The carpet in the entire hotel was dirty. The elevator was very small. It was only big enough for your bags and one person. Inside the hotel room the telephone did not work. There was no phone cord for the handset and the hotel staff would not answer the phone when you called from your personal phone at all. I called the hotel staff from my personal phone 5-6 times and no answer. The hotel room was very cold. The heater did not work. The heating system only blows cold air. The hotel manager was very uncareing about refunding my money. You will have to park two blocks from the hotel and it looks like it is down alley.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great night

Posted Dec 7, 2013
Pros: Clean and quiet. Friendly staff.
Cons: Lobby could be more inviting.
Location: Walking distance to stadium and restaurants.
My wife and I came for a one night stay Friday after Thanksgiving. We went to the MSHSAA football championships at the Jones Dome. The room was great and within walking distance of the stadium and some very good restaurants.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 27, 2013
Pros: location
Cons: It needs to be updated. One staff member smelled of alcohol and that was creepy.
Location: Convention center and very few restauratns.
Our first room had a broken thermostat and was sweltering hot. The second night we requested a different room since we had requested the thermostat be fixed and it wasn't. The second room had a toilet handle that sprayed water when it was flushed. We asked for that to be repaired and it wasn't. The third night we entered our room to find that it had not been serviced. We asked for clean linens and it took 11/2 hours for our towels because the desk clerk said they were doing laundry. None of the staff had the computer password so I wasted an hour waiting for them to track down the password. The hotel was run down and needed new paint and carpet. The only redeeming feature was that it was 1 block away from the convention center which is where I spent most of my time.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Emily from Illinois

Hotel experience

Posted Nov 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel looks really nice in the pictures on the website, but in person it's just run down. Not awful, but could definitely use upkeep (paint, flooring, elevators etc). Rooms were fine. Nothing spectacular. There was a weird large armoire that they put at the foot of the bed for the tv. Incredibly in the way for the flow of the room and made it awkward. On a positive note: The front desk staff was very nice and friendly! They made great dinner suggestions. The location of the hotel is absolutely perfect with a cheap ($16/night) garage right next door, and lots of dining options surrounding. Lastly, the ATM in the lobby is creepy. They took our card, rang everything through, then said there was an error and we couldn't get money out. Makes me concerned that it's a PIN number scam (nothing sinister has occurred on our debit card yet). Because of location, I'd probably return- but wasn't amazing by any means.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel is getting some work done and it can use it. It is an old building. They have a nice coffee shop which was closed on a busy weekend. The pluses are the location, the staff which was sparse but very friendly.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty

Posted Nov 26, 2013
Pros: nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: close to stadium
The bathtub had a huge filthy stain in it. the staff were ignorant and not helpful
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 25, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Angie from Chicago, IL

Great location. Older antique hotel.

Posted Nov 25, 2013
Pros: Location. Staff was quick at check-in and check-out. Seems like the hotel has alot of history.
Cons: You can see the patched up work on the wall but the color makes it look dingy. The carpet in the elevator was very old and dirty.
Location: The location is in the downtown area, close to the Football Dome, grocery market, restaurants, bars and a Starbucks across the street.
The price was very reasonable. We usually stay at chained hotels but everything was sold out due to the football game and we snag one of the last rooms available. I did like staying here since hotel is more of a boutique older hotel with renovations being done. You can see the old architecture which is really neat if you like that, but some things still need to be updated ie. the carpet in the small elevator! It was clean and room size was odd yet roomy, not typical small hotel room. It was great for one night and would stay here again.
2 out of 5
by business travel from h

Rude staff

Posted Nov 24, 2013
Check in seemed to be an inconvenience to clerk. Room entered by housekeeping while do not disturb sign on door. To br fair, the younger staff (desk, hskp) were friendly and helpful. Hotel mostly empty- except for party of young people on my floor. Calls to quiet them (at 1am, 3 am, and 5am) did not quiet them. Hotel has great historical bones and potential. Location is great. Poor emplyee atitude trumps those....