Ratings based on 99 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Elle from Santa Barbara, CA

Superb Getaway

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Pros: People, location
Cons: Price
Location: Jungle biking was a blast. Snorkeling and scuba diving in the bay was beautiful.
The best surprise was the genuine friendliness of the staff. You could tell they all wanted to make our stay the best, most relaxing time whether it be the little conversations about the island or the jovial "happiness spreader" who comes by to spritz you with eucalyptus water on the hot beach. The food and drinks were delicious (albeit expensive). The combination of African, Indian, and tropical cuisine prepared in modern techniques provided a culinary experience to savor and remember. As a bonus, the many stairs provide for a great calf workout!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Amy and Howard from New York

Beautiful hotel and beach

Posted Mar 23, 2014
Pros: Staff is welcoming and helpful. Available activities, especially scuba and use of kayaks are excellent. The beaches are beautiful and food delicious.
Cons: The access road needs rebuilding and, perhaps, better availability of rides up the hill.
This is an exceptionally beautiful hotel in a extraordinary location. Guests can be active nonstop or can relax under a hut on the beach with a drink and a book. You don't even have to get up to get your drink. Put a flag in the sand and in two minutes someone comes over to take your order. Be aware that this is a vertical resort. There are hundreds of steps from some of the hillside rooms to the beach or restaurants. Rides are available, but there may be a wait. The available activities and excursions are all you could want on this type of vacation. We ate very well. We had the MAP and everything on any menu was included except for drinks. The food was delicious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tom from Northern California

A week at Anse Chastanet in February 2014

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Pros: Stairs (great exercise), on-site jungle walking/biking, kayaks, quiet beaches, snorkeling, nightly live music, sunset view over water.
Cons: Dinner selection is chef-biased toward 'foodies', would really like a hearty American 'meat & potato' option; doesn't exist. Food is VERY expensive.
Location: We enjoyed the hike up Gros Piton, the warm water falls (where we could swim), the botanical garden; water taxi to Soufriere, snorkeling at resort.
First time to St Lucia, quite a contrast between the 'off-the-map' village atmosphere in Soufriere versus the 'protected' resort world of Anse Chastanet. A privileged feel of the resort in it's local village environ can be uncomfortable at times... it is, what it is. Water taxi off the resort is a must, as the road in is not a treat. The water taxi is that treat, landing at Soufriere opens up a multitude of options as vendors rally to put you in cars and show you the local sites. This was my first trip out of country where I did NOT rent a car, and I am REALLY GLAD to have made this choice; St Lucia (Soufriere in particular) is no place for a tourist to be a driver! The island area around Anse Chastanet is beautiful, living up completely to photos. Get out on the water, it is spectacular 'on' and 'in'. Anse Chastanet presents a huge spectrum of on-site and resort-sponsored local activities, water and hikes to tours and shopping. Leave at least a couple days to lounge at the beach on the paired chaise chairs under the thatched umbrellas, be sure to taste the lunch options at Anse Mamin beach (short walk to the north). Finally, remember to lean up your lounge-chair-flag at the beach whenever you want something; an attendant will be at your side within a minute!
2 out of 5
by Traci from New York, NY

Overpriced for dated accommodations and okay food

Posted Feb 10, 2014
Pros: Beautiful views of the pitons and ocean. Helpful management staff. Interesting sightseeing opportunities.
Cons: Food was average - many items were deep fried and were greasy rather than crispy - lacking flavor or salt. Lacking spa cuisine (most of it w/ cream).
Location: Biking, snorkeling, walking tours. Most things incurred additional charges. As stated above, some interesting opportunities to learn re st lucia
We picked this resort due to the positive reviews and the beautiful photos of St. Lucia. The first room we had was very large but dark and smelled mildewy. The toilet ran constantly and the bathroom was very dated with ok fixtures (American Standard circa 1980s). The second room was also dated but bright and spacious, with spectacular views which more than made up for the accommodations. But it was far too expensive for what we got. With regard to the staff, they ranged from polite to very warm, and the management was very receptive to feedback and helpful overall. The dining staff varied in that either the service was marginal-very good (but I would not call it 5-star) and many of the staff seemed inadequately trained (e.g. reaching over us to retrieve a plate or glass instead of walking to the other side of the table, plopping silverware down somewhat carelessly, asking "are you enjoying" a few times during the dinner while looking elsewhere, as if the question is a formality rather than a genuine inquiry). Many of staff took inordinately long to return with food/beverages. If the resort were billed as a casual, informal, budget place, this would not be as bothersome. Finally, even with the modified meal plan (breakfast and dinner), 3 days of lunch and beverages (not a ton of alcohol) and 2 spa treatments added an additional thousand dollars plus to the bill. Could use a fitness facility and an updating in general, with better training for the dining staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Maureen from Breckenridge, Colorado

Posted Jan 19, 2014
Pros: We loved everything about this place!
Location: The resort has everything. We never left once!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Alex Wu from New York

close to beach, great service and food

Posted Nov 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
great service and restaurants, perfect location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Marylin from New York City

Beautiful hotel on St. Lucia Beach

Posted Oct 16, 2013
Pros: The food and ambiance are wonderful. The people are great and very caring about the comfort of the guests.
Cons: Nothing as far as we're concerned
Location: The location is a bit remote, which is fine with us. We want to be away from crowds. They have plenty of excursions available if that's what you want
This was our fourth visit to this hotel. We go there for the snorkling which is right off the beach. The hotel is luxurious and the beach is perfect. There is no pool, but the Caribbean water is warm and very pleasant. This is not a family oriented hotel - no children under ten years old, but is very romantic for honeymoon couples and couples in general.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Michael from Nashville, TN

Beautiful rooms and grounds. WOW!

Posted Sep 23, 2013
This resort is not for everyone, which is what we loved about it! No A/C, lots of stairs to the beach and back to the room, and a feeling of living in the trees are what make this place feel more authentic. You can hear the waves at night with the tree frogs singing you to sleep. The food was excellent and from either the local markets or the resorts own farm. The service was excellent and genuine. We climbed mountains, Jungle Mountain Biked, Ran some excellent technical trails through the plantation on the grounds, snorkeled the reefs just off the beach, sailed, and napped on the black sand beaches. We went into Soufriere town and bought amazing local fruits and vegetables that we snacked on during the day. Although there were some people trying to hustle tourists in town most everyone was very nice and helpful. There are shuttles into and back from town, but we walked the 2 miles and enjoyed some amazing views of the pitons. There were many others there that seemed to be enjoying the all inclusive with excellent cocktails made from the local fruits and rum. The yoga was well done with morning and sunset classes. We got a couples massage that was great! There was hand painted art everywhere you looked! Flowers, plants, mountains, clouds, and stars beautifully placed on walls, columns, and ceilings in the rooms and throughout the resort. Hand carved wood beams, railings, and columns were every where you looked. Amazing! Awesome Honeymoon or vacation for active couples.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jamie from Boston, MA

Amazing honeymoon

Posted Aug 29, 2013
Pros: The rooms were beautiful, the service was outstanding, and we met some amazing people on our stay. We upgraded to Jade Mountain for our last night
Cons: The ear-plugs&sleep mask the hotel provides are key because of the openness of the rooms being in the jungle- gets a tad loud at night with bugs/birds
Location: Best location in St. Lucia. Definitely do the snorkeling and scuba, the Jazzy Cruise (on Thursdays) was the most fun we had all trip, and hike a Piton
My husband and I went on our honeymoon here recently and had the best time we've ever had on a vacation. The hotel was beautiful and the staff were so friendly and attentive. Food/ Service: We did the all-inclusive package because it just made sense with the prices of food/drink at the hotels restaurants-- you would probably end up spending way more a day if not on the package unless you took trips to the villages for groceries. We have been to all-inclusive spots before at similar priced hotels and the food at Anse was unbelievable! For a smaller resort, they had a great variety of restaurants, one even including an Indian Caribbean inspired menu that was delicious. The quality of the food was superb. The beach has food/drink service which was amazing. The wait staff was very attentive and became your friends by the end. Beach: There are a lot of stairs (which was expected because of St. Lucia's landscape), but it didn't bother us because it forced us to stay out of our room and enjoy the beautiful beach! The hotel is in an amazing location with views of the Pitons from a lot of the rooms! There is a diving shop on the hotel's beach as well which I suggest taking advantage of because they do short introductions for beginners who are not scuba certified and the reef around the hotel and pitons that the dive sites are at are beautiful! The scuba and snorkeling is the best I've seen. The Jazzy Cruise, paddle boards and kayaks were very fun!