Ratings based on 104 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Batavia, NY

Fantastic snorkeling!

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Pros: The staff members were absolutely amazing! Very courteous and friendly! The view from our room was great! The food was delicious
Cons: Well, I'd like the room WITH the view! Lol. Have the few activities available spaced out so that you can participate in them all.
Location: We only went to Soufriere, not much to do there.
The beaches at Anse Chastenet boast absolutely stunning snorkeling opportunities! I felt like I was in another world! We also enjoyed the kayaking and stand up paddling. The hikes we went on around the property were great exercise, very interesting, and fun! People talk about the fact that there are 100 steps from the beach to the hotel. Well, let's be a little more specific: there may be 100 STAIRS, but if you count all the actual steps you take, it is over 200! It was 322 steps from the beach to our room! We got a lot of exercise while we were there, and that was OK! (There is a shuttle van that will take you wherever you need to go). The resort is very lush, the food was delicious (but VERY expensive). The burgers over at Anse Mamin really are to the best ever! My husband was very happy with our view - we could see the Pitons and the beach, including fabulous sunsets, rainbows, a variety of birds, and….. the neighbor next door. I was disappointed that we weren't in as private a room as the resort boasts, nor did we have the great decks that are so prominently displayed on the website. After having hiked up those 322 steps, I would have enjoyed lounging on a comfy chaise, in our own private little world, much like the couple we met who stayed one level below us. However, they didn't have as spectacular a view as we did. So, I guess it evens out. The drive to the resort isn't any rougher than when we go to Mexico, the Domincan or Maui.The trip was fun and beautiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Marvelous locale to relax with your spouse

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Let's get the negatives out of the way, you must enjoy the outdoors to enjoy this location; there are no air-conditioned rooms and the driveway to Anse Chastanet leaves much to be desired (2 km of slow driving over rocky, rough surface). The natural beauty was fabulous. The service was like "Chick-fil-a on steroids". There were no problems even when there actually was a challenge. The staff always found a way to accommodate our wants. The food was delicious, somewhat unique, never heavy. Meals were joyfully satisfying, and surprisingly private. Traditional drinks were prepared correctly; specialty drinks were worth the taste. The beach was private (maybe because of the time of year, September). We did not see more than 4 other couples in our beach area. Beach chairs were easy to find and very comfortable. There were hammocks, hiking trails, bikes, paddle-boards, boats, and various tours to enjoy. Snorkeling was good. Sailing was wonderful. The evening views (sun sets) were spectacular from the mountain. Evening entertainment was typical of the Caribbean: certainly enjoyable, though not comparable to New York City. If you don't like the music, try tomorrow, it will be different. If was our favorite Caribbean location. We can't wait to return to Anse Chastanet, or, possibly, Jade Mt, their sister hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from RVA

Artistic resort

Posted Sep 15, 2014
And Chestnut was an artistic resort that aimed to please. The staff was wonderful. They were attentive. We stayed at the Frangipani- room 4a which gave a wonderful view of the pitons and the beach with a good height. We loved the fact that you had to climb actual steps to get to the room as this kept us fit and was more natural than an elevator. Dining was excellent with 3 restaurant choices and a dedicated vegetarian menu. Special shout outs to head Chefs Frankie and Elijah. Tons of activities to do. Definitely would recommend the all-inclusive package as well as the total romance package for activities. Spa and massages were awesome. Dive shop and scuba instructors were great also. Jungle biking was tons of fun. Learned a lot about agriculture. Highly recommend this resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Richmond

Artistic resort

Posted Sep 15, 2014
And Chestnut was an artistic resort that aimed to please. The staff was wonderful. They were attentive. We stayed at the Frangipani- room 4a which gave a wonderful view of the pitons and the beach with a good height. We loved the fact that you had to climb actual steps to get to the room as this kept us fit and was more natural than an elevator. Dining was excellent with 3 restaurant choices and a dedicated vegetarian menu. Special shout outs to head Chefs Frankie and Elijah. Tons of activities to do. Definitely would recommend the all-inclusive package as well as the total romance package for activities. Spa and massages were awesome. Dive shop and scuba instructors were great also. Jungle biking was tons of fun. Learned a lot about agriculture. Highly recommend this resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nyc

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Right on the beach! Enjoy the hammock in every room. Check out the private beach 10 minute walk away. Jade hotel upstairs...a MUST see. There's not much worth checking out in town as far as nightlife/restaurants go. Hike the piton and hit the mud bath at the volcano.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michelle from Chicago, IL

Best Sunset View on the Island

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Pros: Location near great diving, patio, air conditioning, hot water, water pressure, staff, beach service, in-room safe, US 120 outlet & adapters in room
Cons: More powerful air conditioning
Location: Dive shop at the hotel, paddle boarding, Seafood Party on Friday nights, beach lounging, Soufriere market on Saturday mornings
A friend and I did a volunteer trip around different parts of the island then stayed at Anse Chastanet for a couple of days afterwards. We liked that it's not near the more hustling capital city of Castries. It's located near the laid-back fishing village of Soufriere if you want to take a water taxi to town - the 2 mile road is very bumpy and takes longer. You can also take a water taxi to the nearby Seafood Party held every Friday night. You can drink the tap water, but they also provided a large bottled water each day. Room had a fridge with complimentary fruit the first day which we ate for breakfast the next day. Great big bathroom with toiletries, good water pressure, and hot water. The best part was the private patio that had a hammock over section of sand, 2 chaise lounges, ceiling fan, couch, table, and 2 chairs. The A/C worked but the room wouldn't get as cold as my friend would like - I was fine with it. We loved the location because the marine reserve is right in front of the hotel so scuba diving was only a 2 minute boat ride away. The staff was superb - everyone on the island is so genuinely friendly. And the food was excellent. Be sure to get a beach room if you can - the hotel is on a big hill and some rooms require lots of steps to get to the beach. There is a restaurant on the beach as well as one higher for the "tree top" rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Eve from NYC

Gorgeous views, so romantic!

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: Eco friendly, blends into the environment, low key yet elegant and luxurious, gorgeous location/views, easy going.
Location: Definitely worth it to exert yourself and climb Gros Piton; the hotel can arrange the transport. A highlight for the active set.
We stayed in a spectacular 7 level mountain facing room, absolutely gorgeous, outdoor shower with views in addition to bedroom, so relaxed and so welcoming. Not a single complaint, except maybe we'd like wifi in the rooms.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel but some drawbacks

Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel was decent but it took a very long time to get to the hotel from the bottom of the resort. I also thought the rooms were a bit dirty. They need to mop the floors more often. Service was decent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by kathi from new jersey

Everything I Expected

Posted May 6, 2014
Pros: The staff, amenities, beach, sailing and the view from my room.
Cons: The chairs on the veranda for one. The other three items are probably difficult to change: closet space and location of the safe.
Location: Lots to do on site: hiking, snorkeling, sailing, kayaking. There is more to do in Souffriere. Travel by hotel water taxi is convenient during the day
My stay at Anse Chastanet has made my favorite vacation list. As well as being friendly and warm, staff was knowledgeable and able to provide answers or information requested. If not, they immediately sought out another individual who could provide the answer. The food was good but service at all restaurants was excellent. The rooms were extremely well maintained and exceptionally clean. It is certainly a place to return to and bring friends along.