Ratings based on 158 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Trinidad

Nice

Posted May 21, 2015
My husband and I went to Blu for a quick getaway. We were looking for something inexpensive and in Rodney Bay. Blu has both but the hotel needs a little LOVE. The first room we got the AC stopped working but the staff were very helpful and accommodating. They got us a new room (I do know how they did it because they were full) really fast and everything went smoothly after that. They seem to be in the process of updating the rooms. I think with some more work and love Blu will be an excellent hotel. The Staff make it a comfortable place to be, they are all very helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Louisville, KY

Posted May 21, 2015
This hotel is older and located at the end of the tourist strip. It is still just a short walk to the beach and many restaurants. It actually still has regular keys instead of key cards. However, the hotel is very clean. The staff is friendly, professional and efficient. The food is very good. I ate breakfast every morning there and lunch every day. I ate dinner one night. It is a limited menu. The wifi is strongest in the lobby area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom diamant

Posted May 18, 2015
Hôtel assez bien placé. Nous avions peur du bruit en ayant lu les autres commentaires mais rien...ouf chambre ok avec bonne literie salle de bain bof et autres rénovations à faire... porte placard qui reste dans la main, chaînes tv non réglées, terrasse de la chambre sale avec un vieux short craqué abandonné... la piscine trouble et mal dosée en chlore Ptd ok dans l ensemble heureusement que nous avions eu une promo sinon ne mérite pas son prix mais dans l ensemble ok
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom florida

Close to the beach, but need some renovations

Posted May 6, 2015
Very friendly staff, but the hotel needs to be updated. Plumbing issues and bathrooms are really dated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Great little hotel, fantastic location

Posted May 2, 2015
We enjoyed our stay at Blu. The staff were friendly (albeit a bit slow sometimes - but that seems to be a theme in St Lucia!). It wasn't 5* but was everything we wanted for a good price. The location is awesome, right by the beach and main town. We stayed B&B which was great for us as we like to go out and explore and there are some really nice restaurants nearby (5-10 mins walk). We ate at the hotel one night and the food was nice but the menu was very limited and the portions were small. We wouldn't recommend this as an all inclusive but definitely would as a b&b. There was plenty to choose from at breakfast. There is some noise on some evenings from local bars (into the early hours) but we didn't find it a problem. Overall we had a great time!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Indiana, USA

Nice mid range hotel

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Pros: You can walk out from your room to the pool. Loved being able to run back and forth.
Cons: Needs updating
Location: Beach is easy to get to, restaurants you can enjoy nearby.
Enjoyed the stay - the room was clean, the bed comfy even if it needed some updating. The staff was helpful, and just remember - it's island time. Close to some great restaurants and the beach is an easy walk. Friday Night Street party is fun; lots of food and drinks.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Stayed at Blu for a last minute long weekend getaway. The price for the room was great, so all constructive comments should be taken with that perspective. If I had paid more, I would have been very disappointed, but based on what it cost me I would classify it as reasonable value. Pros: - Includes breakfast - omelettes were great (although not many healthy options otherwise). - Bed is very comfortable - Terrace/balcony is well appointed with chairs and ottomans - Location is decent if you want to be within walking distance of the beach and Rodney Bay area Cons: - Bathrooms are in questionable condition (broken toilet roll holder, small shower, leaky showerhead, dated décor) - Service is VERY slow (and I've stayed at other hotels in St Lucia and the Caribbean - this is hotel specific) - Food and drink pricing is high (I had a friend join me for the breakfast and they charged $35 USD for his meal) - Gym is limited with no ventilation - Room key is an actual old school key with no option for a second key As for the staff I would say it's hit and miss. If you're looking for a reasonably priced place and don't plan to spend much time at the hotel, it's not bad. I can't imagine spending more than a few days there, but I would classify it as a reasonable budget hotel with room for improvement.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Trinidad and Tobago

Pretty nice spot!

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: Location and staff - excellent
Cons: The bathrooms are in need of some upgrading
Location: Excellent location, lots to do and in close proximity to several attractions
Good experience for my family and I. Even my one year old loved the place. Sand, sea and lots of fun...... and oh yeah, lots of food too!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom kent

Low budget hotel - adequate

Posted Mar 29, 2015
Pros: Proximity to beach, shops and dining
Cons: The star rating should properly reflect the standard
Location: Reduit Beach is about 50 yards away (across the 'not busy' road. There are a vast range of shops, bars and restaurants.
I have stayed at various all inclusive sin St Lucia, and chose this hotel as an option for a couple of days before I went on to my usual hotel. My expectations were not too high and therefore I wasn't too disappointed. As with everywhere in SL the staff were very friendly. I had upgraded to a suite and it was quite basic. It advertises the toiletries as molton Brown, it's doubtful that they were any upmarket brand. The balcony was not private as described and could be directly overlooked by most of the hotel. There is a fridge in the room (didn't contain water as specified) but great as you can buy drinks from the local supermarkets. Breakfast was adequate, the lovely lady who was cooking up omelettes was working hard on little more than a camping hob!! She always had a smile. I asked for 'hot pepper sauce' there was none in the kitchen, I found that unbelievable for a hotel in St Lucia!! But I bought my own and took it down for breakfast. The pool area was very clean.., but by 7.30 each morning EVERY sunbed was reserved with towels!! However the beach is only across the road and for $10 (US) you can rent a sun bed and parasol. Be warned there are a lot of locals trying to make their living on the beach, selling anything from Horse Riding to chicken roti, they can be pushy but understand if you don't want to buy. There are watersports available privately on the beach. All in all, you get what you pay for and this is the lower end of the market. It's 3* at the very most
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom British Columbia

Under-rated, very nice feel.

Posted Mar 13, 2015
Pros: The employees made the hotel what it was, without them it did not work.
Cons: The details,(safes being attached to the wall, replace the taps on the sink) but I believe the hotel is working on them, so no worries.
Location: Rodney Bay is the best place on the island. Climb up to the Fort, chill out on the beach (rent a chair from Quincy), watch the sunset from Spinnaker.
We spent almost 2 weeks at blu, and had a great time. We normally travel all-inclusive, so this was a new experience for us. We were on the main floor (115), with the pool just outside our room.The room was clean, quiet, comfortable. The beds were fantastic! There were no noise issues, as we were informed at check-in that the Happy Days Bar had moved on. The employees were friendly and very polite (Neil deserves an mention). The food at breakfast was perfectly adequate (the omelettes were great) and there was never a wait for a seat. We only had a couple of meals at the hotel outside of breakfast, and found the menu lacking, but the food offered is perfectly edible. There are plenty of other options outside of the hotel (within easy walking distance) to fill the requirement so this was not an issue either. The rooms were well used, and appeared to possibly be in a constant state of renovation. As long as you did not need a toilet paper holder and did not mind that there may not be any hot water when you would like to take a shower, you will be fine. It is not a 6 diamond resort, and for us it did not need to be. It had plenty of character and friendly people and was a truly enjoyable place to explore the island from.