Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from New York NY

We loved everything about it!

Posted Apr 27, 2011 on Hotels.com
I could write 10 pages about how much we loved the Mago. In short, it had the most amazing view, friendly and sincere staff and manager, gorgeously furnished and decorated rooms and as a whole a perfect place for a vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from St. Paul, MN

A Spectacular Eco-Hotel in St. Lucia

Posted Mar 21, 2011 on Hotels.com
This hotel was wonderful for the tourist not seeking the glitz and glamor of all-inclusive resorts like Sandals. We opted for the Eco-Suite, but were upgraded to a different room. The hotel is carved into the mountainside and each room offers privacy and views of nature. Our bed was equipped with mosquito nets to help protect from mosquitos (which do not carry malaria). At night, you can hear treefrogs singing (as well as some barking dogs and roosters at times). The staff were extremely professional, welcoming, friendly, and helpful. They will answer any questions you may have about the area and will give you ideas of what to do and see. One member even offered to accompany us out of town since we kept getting lost. The bartender, Jason, made delicious cocktails and was nice to talk to. You will not want to eat dinner elsewhere, as the chef is spectacular! The food was absolutely amazing! Ken, the manager, was friendly, funny, and helpful. The location is great for travel to Sulphur Springs, Mineral Waterfalls, Morne Coubaril Estate, Tet Paul, Anse Chastonet Beach, Jalousie Beach, and many other places. It is best to rent a vehicle and go on excursions yourself instead of organized tours.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Shawnee KS

A Change of Pace....

Posted Feb 22, 2011
To take a break from the beach slug / All Inclusive vacations - this was just the ticket !
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 5, 2011 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 1, 2011 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Posted Aug 3, 2010 on Hotels.com
Very unique hotel. A true experience. Very accomodating staff. If you are looking for a very low key, African inspired experience, nestled into a cliff with wonderful views...this is it. Charming bar and restaurant, To die for wellness center, I would have stayed a month if I had the time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great resort on a mountain

Posted Jul 22, 2010
My wife and I loved this resort. It is built on the side of a mountain overlooking the town of Soufriere and Petit Piton mountain. The resort staff was very friendly, and the restaurant was magnificent. When we checked in, we were upgraded to a nicer suite than what we booked. Make sure you're in shape to walk up steep inclines and numerous steps if you plan on traveling around on foot. Also, take plenty of cash in small bills for taxi's, tipping, food, etc, as most places do not take credit cards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Golden, CO

Unkique experience

Posted Jul 1, 2010
Unique hotel on a hillside with lots of stairs. It is in very close proximity to many fun sites and has the BEST view of the Pitons! It is a great glimpse at local culture in Soufriere but there really is no beach access (although Anse Chastanet is 2 miles away - difficult walk. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the view from our room was unbelievable!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Room for improvement

Posted Jun 30, 2010
The property is under construction as they are building additional bungalows so lots of noise in morning, cats on the property make a mess. Not impressed by the sound of mangoes falling on the roof . I did like the rustic experience of the open wall concept, nature sounds are very relaxing. There are no T.V's in some suites. The restaurant/food is very good. Free internet access in lobby, european outlets so laptops plug-ins are not compatible. Electrical outlet converters can be rented at the desk.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Charming

Posted Jun 22, 2010 on Hotels.com
Charming setting. Nice pool, Rooms were as described. The food was expensive as in most resturants, but very good. The selection was a little limited, but they were willing to work with request. The main problem was the cats around you, while you were eating. I suggest something to spray them with. The staff was friendly and helpful. The view was very nice. Be prepared to go up and down a lot of steps. Not a good place for toddlers.