Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Outstanding view

Posted Mar 10, 2010
Every room in the hotel has a gorgeous view, all the rooms are unique and the rooms and common areas are decorated with an amazing assortment of sculpture. The place is noisy at night, though, since the sounds of music and roosters crowing rise from the town of Soufriere in the valley below. The place is loaded with charm and reflects the individuality of the owner - this is not a cookie-cutter hotel. The town is about a ten minute walk down the hill and a car is not a necessity.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

sleepless night in St Lucia

Posted Jun 10, 2009
between the noise of the insects, the dogs, the loud EVERYDAY music in town below and the roosters, be prepared for a sleepless night in Mago Estate ! The view from the hotel is however fabulous and the staff very personable. So stop there for a quick drink and to snap a picture of the piton but dont you dare think you can jump in the pool or lounge in the chairs... littered with dead leaves and dead bugs, what you call a malaria cest pool !
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Daphne

Unique, charming, one-of-a-kind spot

Posted May 20, 2009 on Hotels.com
My husband and I stayed here the first night of our honeymoon. We loved the unique spot with the extraordinary views and friendly staff. This is no Four Seasons mind you, but if you're looking for the most interesting, unusual place you've ever stayed....this is it. The gentleman who owned the place is named Peter. We chatted with him and he shared that the hotel was once his private property. He built everything around nature, respecting mother nature in all decisions. The food in the restaurant was super and the room was clean. However, there was no water pressure at all and we were unable to shower. We could hear the music from the town below at night and the crickets chirped so loudly, it was like a lullaby singing us to sleep. The roosters however, didn't realize they only crow in the mornings. The squawked all day and night. I don't think I would want to stay here a week, but it was perfect and we absolutely loved it for one night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Unique experience

Posted Feb 23, 2009
The food was great and the people were extremely helpful and friendly. However, if you're looking for a good nights sleep and some quiet time this is not the place to stay. The room only had 3 walls and the noise from Soufriere (especially on Saturday night) went all night long. Between the music, dogs, roosters, and rainforest wildlife there was never a quiet time. The hotel however does not offer much in the way of entertainment aside from one small pool and bar. You have to walk down a very steep and winding road to town to get to the beach and restaurants. It's a unique experience but we would not stay there again in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from guadeloupe

cadre majestueux mais pas de services

Posted Jul 17, 2008 on Hotels.com
super hotel très bien placé avec une splendide vue mais il a été un peu laissé à l'abandon et il manque de personnels!! notre matelas était à ressort et on a eu mal au dos toute la nuit!! pour le prix d'une nuit on attend un peu plus: des rideaux dans la chambre, quelqu'un au bar... en même temps tout le personnel est adorable et c'est vraiment joli aussi bien la vue que les chambres.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Semi-Satisfied

Posted Jul 16, 2008
While the hotel may have been eco-friendly, the service was a little slow (told it was just St. Lucia), and compared to other restaurants and hotels nearby it was different in customer service. The location had a great view of the Pitons, but it was a good down hill/up hill walk to the beach and town. With money in mind and first time in St. Lucia it was just fine, even for our honeymoon, but after staying there we would like to stay at a resort if we were to go back. On a good note, staying above town made you walk through town to the beach which enlightenend us with the culture and local attractions.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from New England

Some will love it, some will not

Posted Apr 30, 2008
Very unusual "hotel", almost like a group of cliff dwellings amongst heavy vegetation. Perched on a steep mountainside directly above the small town of Soufriere, it has a unique view over the town, its beach and the smaller Piton. At night in your open-air room you hear the many dogs in the village below having barking and howling contests. In the morning you are serenaded by an equal or larger number of roosters. Some rooms require a great deal of stair climbing to reach the small but excellent pool, cave-like bar and restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 27, 2008 on Hotels.com