Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Melissa from Portland

So much potential but not at all fulfilled

Posted May 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
There were too many problems with this place to mention in a short review on this site. First of all, I should mention that the staff were incredibly friendly. Most were helpful, although a couple times we had to ask for certain things (help booking activities) and ended up on our own in that regard. At one point I even had to ask three times about booking an activity and it still never happened. Second, although the place is very beautiful, it was very empty, which posed a few problems. For one, the restaurant and bar were never open; we also got locked out twice - once out of the general hotel area because the gate was locked, and the second time out of our room (at 8:15 p.m.!!) because the staff decided to go home early and lock our room key in the office. Luckily the second time there was a security guard on duty who called the manager for us, but not until we had asked him more than once to do so. Another major problem we encountered was the lack of an internet connection, especially since I had work to do on one of the days I was there. We were also told there was a free breakfast, but got a shock on the final day when we were charged US$ 2 for EACH egg we had eaten. The rooms are beautiful and the place has so much potential, but we got the sense that the management has just decided to write the place off and put it up for sale to let someone else deal with. Friendly people, but too many hassles and things going wrong that I wouldn't stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by LJ

PEACEFUL HIDEAWAY WITH 3-WALLS!

Posted May 14, 2013
Location: Do NOT miss ORLANDOS Restaurant on the front at Soufriere. Best food In St. Lucia!!! GO to the Volcano and take a sulpher mineral mud bath!
Mago Estate is in poor physical condition but the 100% St. Lucian staff could not be more helpful and willing. They wanted us to have a lovely time. The room is large, bed very comfortable, furnishings are rustic and the bathroom needs help ... BUT the incredible opennes - no fourth wall so great views of the bay, pitons, town and lovely noises of birds, wind, rain, fishing boats and yes, the Friday night soca music downtown! No mosquitos! Only consider Mago if you're independent, have a rental car and like your own company! Much cheaper than other 3-walled rooms in this area, but for good reason.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Need TLC

Posted May 4, 2013
The hotel decor is funky, creative and cool. Our room was clean and beautifully furnished. Amazing views!!! You must like stairs to stay here. Staff was excellent and try hard. They can arrange travel to locale sights for you. However this hotel is for sale and lacks management oversight. There is no pool, or at least a full pool (this includes "dipping pools" that are advertised for some rooms). That beautiful pic on the hotel's home page web site is misleading. The pool is in disrepair and empty. There was dinner (or bar) served during our stay - chef left unexceptedly. Very limited breakfast, but good. However, the manager gave us rides to/from town for dinner every night so that we did not have to take a taxi. Taxis are VERY expensive ($20 one way to town). The town beach is not too desirable. We ended up taking water taxis from the town beach (10 min hilly walk from the hotel) to other local beaches (water taxis are expensive - $40 round trip - though I am a bad negotiator, most could prob. do better). Soufrierre is the real deal. Go there if you want to know what the real St. Lucia culture is like, not the white-washed version.
1 out of 5
by paul from Florida

worst hotel in st lucia

Posted Mar 19, 2013
Pros: view
Cons: huge stair climb from room to reception. no phones in room
Location: noisy, above soufrier
terrible hotel, that will be closed by end of the year.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by H&M from Sweet T&T

A Funky Spot with Great Views

Posted Dec 3, 2012
Pros: Views, staff and location
Cons: You can find faults with some aspects of the facility but with renewed focus on the facility, this place is and could continue to be a gem.
Location: Soufriere has lots of things to see and do nearby. If you are in St. Lucia for less that 3-4 days, this is a good spot
My husband and I enjoyed our stay at Mago. I had read the previous reviews (both negative and positive) but still chose to go there as I liked the location and the views of the Pitons. First off I cannot fault any of the staff. They were all friendly, helpful and willing to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Soufriere is a noisy little town at night and you do experience it live and direct. If you are not accustomed to night noises, music jamming, dogs barking and roosters in the early morning as we are as West Indians, choose a room with air conditioning. There are many paths and steps leading to the rooms. Again, if you choose not to see this as part of the authenticity of an "eco-hotel" you may find them a nuisance. There are some sweet hotel cats. My husband is a vet and I was heavily involved in Animal Charities that promoted maintenance of compound animals - so again, we were happy to oblige them with treats (away from the dining room area). The views of the Pitons did not disappoint. Our dinner there was very good and I really enjoyed the simplicity of the inclusive breakfast along with great all natural pommecythere and guava juice ! All in all if you can appreciate the intention of the place combined with truly nice staff, you will enjoy it. If your expections are based on great ratings and pigeon hole boxes, this may not be the place for you.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by brenda

don't stay here

Posted Apr 22, 2012 on Hotels.com
Went here for the view and that is the only good thing about this hotel.The hotel was run down, has a deserted feeling. Pool is dirty and half full. Bar is not open. Everything about it was awful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 7, 2012 on Hotels.com
Hotel has a nice set-up, but the noice from the town keeps it from being a good place to stay. You can hear dogs barking, traffic and there was a disco playing late in the night that kept us from sleeping, even with ear plugs. Maybe some rooms are better than others.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 18, 2012 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great staff and a wonderful stay

Posted Jun 11, 2011 on Hotels.com
The staff at the Mago was absolutely wonderful. I highly recommend this hotel. The room was very clean and had a great view of the ocean. The food at the restaurant is also very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Staff/Management extremely nice and accomodating

Posted May 9, 2011 on Hotels.com
When I arrived to the hotel, our room was a little small and a couple of amenities did not function (ie. the ceiling fan and valuables safe). The staff immediately agreed to upgrade us to a much larger room at no charge. This friendly, "eager-to-please approach" was exhibited by all members of the staff and the manager himself during our short, one-night stay. The only aspect I feel I have to make people aware of is the room itself. It is a completely different atmosphere, as the rooms only have 3 walls. Therefore, just be prepared to sleep in nature, hear the wildlife, which included barking dogs all night long. Also, you are subject to whatever the weather may be - which was extremely damp and humid for our visit. And, remember to bring your mosquito repellant!!