Ratings based on 87 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom port of spain, trinidad

Good accommodation and grounds - poor food

Posted Jun 1, 2015
The grounds are great, and would recommend taking the tour to get some information on the plantation - Phillip was a great guide. There is a nature trail that takes you up to a Piton view that has only just finished being built also. Rooms are nice and as described. Food at the restraunt was poor, and would recommend eating at other resorts.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston, MA

Great Experience

Posted May 14, 2015
This was one of my favorite stays. We had the 2 bd and 2 bath cottage called Avocado. There was no TV and no ACs, but that’s what made it so great. We loved this hotel. My fiancé and I had an amazing time just listening to nature and being away from the everyday rush. Food was amazing. Highly recommend!!!! I wish i brought Mosquito spray- Lots of those.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom regina, sk, canada

Lush surroundings and beautifully rustic lodging

Posted Apr 16, 2015
This is the place to stay if you want to get away from the busy, artificial, all-inclusive resort scene, and stay comfortably in your own cabin in a beautiful natural setting, but with resort amenities like room service, on site restaurants, pools, etc. Fond Doux is locally owned and operated, and built in a jungle rainforest. It has kind of a backpacker vibe as it seems to attract friendly, socially conscious people and families, but it is just as easy to nestle into your cabin and keep to yourself, as each one is secluded among the cocoa, cinnamon, banana, guava, papaya, coconut, and palm trees
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom toronto, can

Beautiful cottages in rsinforedt

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Loved the experience of staying in a beautiful cottage in a stunning setting with all the amenities we needed. Shared pool was basically our private pool.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom london

Lovely peaceful retreat

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Can highly recommend staying at fond doux. Whist it may not be beachside or offer all resort style facilities, it is a tremendously welcoming independent family run business in the heart of the rainforest but close to the sea and other soufriere attractions. The staff are all first class from the owners to the estate workers all of which made the stay thoroughly memorable and good value for the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom North Tonawanda, NY

Rustic, eco hotel close to Soufriere

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Pros: Being located in the heart of a plantation, the hotel is very quiet, peaceful where birds can be heard chirping often and the vegetation is luscious.
Cons: I would have liked to have a bathtub/jacuzzi tub in our bathroom. The shower was convenient and worked fine, but in my opinion a bathtub is better.
Location: There are a few beaches (Sugar beach, Anse Chastanet) and hiking trails (Tet Paul Trail, Gros PIton) as well as other attractions nearby.
The hotel is located at a short driving distance from the town of Soufriere, one of the most picturesque places in St Lucia in my opinion. It does not have direct access to a beach, which can be inconvenient for some travelers, but for our needs it was perfect. On this trip, me and my husband decided to choose a peaceful place where we can relax and that would be close to a variety of attractions that we could explore on our own. Therefore, we rented a car upon arriving at the airport and drove ourselves to the hotel. The staff welcomed us warmly and introduced us to our cottage - the Cinnamon villa. The cottage was very clean, cozy and inviting and decorated with lots of tropical flowers. There was a minifridge, a kettle, iron and a radio in the room. No TV, which was totally fine with us, in fact it added more to the romantic, peaceful atmosphere of the place. The evening of our arrival we dined at the hotel's restaurant, which embodies the same relaxing and tropical vibe, but the food was expensive and not totally to our liking, therefore we never ate there before. The breakfast buffer every morning was delicious though. The Fond Doux Plantation is located close to Sugar beach (and it offers free shuttle service to and from the beach). Relatively close is Anse Chastanet beach (about a 20 min drive) which we enjoyed more than Sugar beach for its excellent snorkeling and private atmosphere. We enjoyed our stay at the plantation and would love to come back one day.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Sweet Rainforest cottages. Eat elsewhere.

Posted Feb 27, 2015 
Lovely spacious rainforest cottage built into hillside. we stayed in Cashew. Good size room, surprisingly no insects. Skip the extra for plunge pool, a murky mess in an unappealing corner with a perpetually we hammock. Great porch with nice padded chairs, good privacy. Comfy bed. Service hit and miss. The big problem with this place that brings down the rating is the food is atrocious and its a hard drive to anywhere else in the dark to other restaurants. Pool is ok for a dip but more a sitting pool than swimming. Good for 2-3 nights.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom j

Great get away!

Posted Feb 18, 2015
This is a great get away paradise. You will wake up by the birds and other creatures, beautiful plantations and even a little trail for hiking up to see the pitons. Lunch Manu is great, but dinner needs improvement. The room is clean and spacious but it needs hand towels rack in the toilet room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Charlottesville

10 Cute cottages surronded by a working plantation

Posted Feb 6, 2015
Pros: Everything was wonderful. But the best thing about this hotel was the knowledgeable and caring staff.
Location: Plantation tour. Tet Paul nature trail. Sunset at Dasheen Restaurant. The Pitons. Various waterfalls and hot springs. Sugar Beach.
We had a great time among the Cocao, Banana, Grapefruit, Guava, Papaya, Cinamon, and Nutmeg trees.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom France

A nature lovers' dream in a tropical forest!

Posted Jan 29, 2015
Charming cottages, surrounded by countless varieties of trees ( cocoa, banana, coconut, mango, grapefruit ......) and beautiful flowers. On taking the complimentary tour with Philip we discovered the wonders of this beautiful plantation and tasted the sweet pulp which surrounds the cocoa seeds, a must! All the staff are wonderfully helpful and warm, Leonita, Happiness, Dennis , Tonia and Evancia to name just a few, they make you feel very welcome. The food was carefully prepared, simple but delicious, maybe more of a variety would have been appreciated. My husband and I particularly enjoyed the breakfast menu , the local bakes and accras! The courtesy shuttle to the beach was useful, plus there are a variety of places to visit. We enjoyed Tet Paul, a nature trail created by some local youths who enthusiastically explained the medicinal uses of plants and trees plus there was a spectacular view of the Pitons. However I suggest to take a taxi there unless you enjoy a steep walk ( 30 mins from the plantation). For me, it was a wonderful tranquil , relaxing experience, a revelation and an awakening of the senses, I came home curious to learn more about St. Lucia and its' hidden gems!