Ratings based on 91 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin

Calm and peaceful

Posted Jul 15, 2015
One of the most beautiful places we have ever stayed in. Sleeping alongside the sounds of nature. Outdoor shower was refreshing. We enjoyed every minute of our stay. Great place for nature lovers wanting to get away from the tourist areas.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Exceptional service and amazing location

Posted Jun 17, 2015
A very authentic experience of St Lucia. The hotel is very comfortable with breathtaking views. The beach is average but if you want to enjoy the beautiful scenary and love nature, you will be not be dissapointed. The staff are so friendly and are happy to accomodate for your needs. We loved this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greensburg, PA

Our favorite stay at Saint Lucia!

Posted Jun 2, 2015
Pros: The grounds are beautiful and large. Lots of places to enjoy. The included continental breakfast was great too!
Cons: If each room had a floor fan, we'd be much more comfortable. We had to remove the cheap, ineffective bug nets just to feel our ceiling fan at night.
Location: Many things: Tet Paul trail, Sulfur Springs, Volcano, Plantation, Ladera, Soufriere, Botanical Gardens, Hotel Chocolate
This place is lovely. Despite a couple drawbacks, this was our favorite (more than Ladera even). This place has charm and an amazing pool and deck which we enjoyed relaxing on. Also, incredible internet, which made it easy for me to do some computer work when near the pool. It's home to many friendly lizards and a cat named socks who's your best friend during dinner. One thing to note: outdoor shower and cottages don't keep bugs/creatures out. If you're likely to be uncomfortable or startled, this may be a deal-breaker for you. I didn't like hearing lizards running across the roof at night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from port of spain, trinidad

Good accommodation and grounds - poor food

Posted Jun 1, 2015
The grounds are great, and would recommend taking the tour to get some information on the plantation - Phillip was a great guide. There is a nature trail that takes you up to a Piton view that has only just finished being built also. Rooms are nice and as described. Food at the restraunt was poor, and would recommend eating at other resorts.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Great Experience

Posted May 14, 2015
This was one of my favorite stays. We had the 2 bd and 2 bath cottage called Avocado. There was no TV and no ACs, but that’s what made it so great. We loved this hotel. My fiancé and I had an amazing time just listening to nature and being away from the everyday rush. Food was amazing. Highly recommend!!!! I wish i brought Mosquito spray- Lots of those.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from regina, sk, canada

Lush surroundings and beautifully rustic lodging

Posted Apr 16, 2015
This is the place to stay if you want to get away from the busy, artificial, all-inclusive resort scene, and stay comfortably in your own cabin in a beautiful natural setting, but with resort amenities like room service, on site restaurants, pools, etc. Fond Doux is locally owned and operated, and built in a jungle rainforest. It has kind of a backpacker vibe as it seems to attract friendly, socially conscious people and families, but it is just as easy to nestle into your cabin and keep to yourself, as each one is secluded among the cocoa, cinnamon, banana, guava, papaya, coconut, and palm trees
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto, can

Beautiful cottages in rsinforedt

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Loved the experience of staying in a beautiful cottage in a stunning setting with all the amenities we needed. Shared pool was basically our private pool.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Lovely peaceful retreat

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Can highly recommend staying at fond doux. Whist it may not be beachside or offer all resort style facilities, it is a tremendously welcoming independent family run business in the heart of the rainforest but close to the sea and other soufriere attractions. The staff are all first class from the owners to the estate workers all of which made the stay thoroughly memorable and good value for the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Loved the place

Posted Apr 9, 2015 on Hotels
An excellent, family-friendly place to explore the neighborhood.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from North Tonawanda, NY

Rustic, eco hotel close to Soufriere

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Pros: Being located in the heart of a plantation, the hotel is very quiet, peaceful where birds can be heard chirping often and the vegetation is luscious.
Cons: I would have liked to have a bathtub/jacuzzi tub in our bathroom. The shower was convenient and worked fine, but in my opinion a bathtub is better.
Location: There are a few beaches (Sugar beach, Anse Chastanet) and hiking trails (Tet Paul Trail, Gros PIton) as well as other attractions nearby.
The hotel is located at a short driving distance from the town of Soufriere, one of the most picturesque places in St Lucia in my opinion. It does not have direct access to a beach, which can be inconvenient for some travelers, but for our needs it was perfect. On this trip, me and my husband decided to choose a peaceful place where we can relax and that would be close to a variety of attractions that we could explore on our own. Therefore, we rented a car upon arriving at the airport and drove ourselves to the hotel. The staff welcomed us warmly and introduced us to our cottage - the Cinnamon villa. The cottage was very clean, cozy and inviting and decorated with lots of tropical flowers. There was a minifridge, a kettle, iron and a radio in the room. No TV, which was totally fine with us, in fact it added more to the romantic, peaceful atmosphere of the place. The evening of our arrival we dined at the hotel's restaurant, which embodies the same relaxing and tropical vibe, but the food was expensive and not totally to our liking, therefore we never ate there before. The breakfast buffer every morning was delicious though. The Fond Doux Plantation is located close to Sugar beach (and it offers free shuttle service to and from the beach). Relatively close is Anse Chastanet beach (about a 20 min drive) which we enjoyed more than Sugar beach for its excellent snorkeling and private atmosphere. We enjoyed our stay at the plantation and would love to come back one day.