Ratings based on 79 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The perfect getaway to really relax and unplug

Posted Mar 17, 2014
A unique experience. The 3 wall rooms really let you be one with nature while still having all the comforts of a great hotel. We were on our baby moon so it was perfect place to relax and unplug from the world and get some needed rest.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Western Michigan

Unique

Posted Mar 14, 2014
Pros: The location between the pitons, the friendly and courteous staff, the temperate climate, the beautiful star filled sky. Ideal for couples.
Location: Rainforest with Gondola rides, ziplines, drive through volcano, mudbaths, beach, hiking, Cocoa Plantation.
We desired to stay at Ladera because of its open fourth wall concept which creates great ambience with a sense of being one with Nature.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Vince from Indianapolis

This is a different experience.

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Pros: Unique rooms, excellent restaurant, friendly staff.
Cons: The shower was beatuiful, but it needed a new head. We like pressure.
Location: Anse chastnet has excellent snorkel, the cocoa plantation has an excellent restaurant. If you want a feel for St Lucia, go to the fish fry.
This hotel is cut right out of the mountian! The pictures do not tell the story. It was a neat experience. Met the owner, she was great. You get exactly what you should expect with this level of a hotel. They made it easy to visit the beach if that is your thing. We went twice. Drive at your own risk. I would have, the wife said NO! That said, you can get anywhere you want by cab or water taxi. We hooked up with a local cab who was quite useful and provided much information. We ended our trip at a little place called the reef. Perfect end to a St. Lucia weekend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Resort

Posted Mar 8, 2014
Staff was the best of any I have ever seen in over 25 years of traveling. Our room was noisy due to loud bands a couple of nights but over by 10PM. However the thumping during high winds was annoying to say the least. Food was excellent and property was very good. All inn all a very nice few days away from the cold and snow.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nicholas from NY, NY

Nothing better anywhere

Posted Feb 22, 2014
Ive never stayed in a place like this and maybe never will again. An absolutely amazing experience with extremely polite and attentive staff. I really cant say enough about this place so I wont even try. Just incredible.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best view ever

Posted Feb 13, 2014
An amazing place. My wife and I went there for our honeymoon, the view was amazing and service was great (although a little slow but not too bad for the Caribbean). We restaurant was fantastic but pricey, would say the cost was worth it. The resort did a great job with the little things, many staff remembered our names and asked how things were going. The owner Holly was always around chatting with people which was nice. While we didn't have the the all inclusive package they did give us 6 of the local beers and a plate of fruit in our mini frig on our first day and would restock with water and soda each day. They also had a bottle of sparkling wine for us when we arrive. It is alot of a relatively minor costs compared to the price to stay there but little things like that stick with me. Food and drinks are a little pricey, we brought a bottle of rum to make drinks in our rooms. The rooms were beautiful and the lack of a 4th wall was a very unique and cool experience. We didn't have problems sleeping and quite enjoyed falling asleep to the sounds of the jungle and waking as the sun came up. However if you have trouble sleeping with the noise from nature they have ear plugs in your rooms. If you want to sleep in past 9 or 10 it will be a challenge due to the sunlight. Overall we had a great experience and will never forget it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by David from Charlotte, NC

Excellent couples getaway with amazing views!

Posted Feb 3, 2014
Pros: Trip Advisor
Cons: Probably not much can be done, but there is some traffic noise from the road at night that can be heard in the back of the rooms.
Location: We hiked up one of the Pitons which was amazing. Otherwise we didn't leave the resort (didn't feel the need to)
True and utter relaxation. My girfriend and I spent 2 nights here and never wanted to leave the room. The views from the room were magnificent. The personal plunge pool overlooking the Pitons was a very nice touch. From the bed given the open wall, you should look out over the Pitons. Sleeping with an open breeze was amazing. Mosquito nets covered the beds, but overall when we stayed we never had problem with mosquitos (of note the bathroom in our suite was open without a door to the bedroom). The staff was very friendly. Food at the resort restaurant was very very good, but I imagine if we stayed a few more days we would be looking for some more variety and might have traveled to another restaurant. All in all very very pleased and would recommend anyone to this resort. There is live music at night at the restaurant and bar, but this is not a loud all inclusive resort with TV's etc...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by mike from washington dc

#reset button

Posted Feb 1, 2014
Unreal experience. I don't think I have ever experenced anything like this in my life. This hotel gets you back to being human. Losses all the distractions and makes you whole as a human again. Food was a 10/10. Everything was fresh, island grown and as many 5 star places I've eaten in the states, this tops it. You feel healthy and happier just eatting here. Chief was amazing and very friendly. This hotel should be on everyone's bucket list.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Beautiful resort

Posted Jan 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed out brief 2 night stay at Ladera, it is a beautiful spot. It's true that the food in the restaurant can be improved. We agree with many of the other reviewers. The view is really spectacular! We didn't have any problems with Mosquitos, but the resort provides repellant and coils if needed. We will definitely be back again!
2 out of 5
by Jay from Brooklyn

Not What We Expected.

Posted Jan 29, 2014
Pros: The views are undeniably amazing and sunset cocktails at the bar provided a stunning view.
Cons: The service was nowhere near our expectations.
Location: The hotel is definitely out-of-the-way. The restaurant Boucan at Hotel Chocolat across the street was fantastic.
The views from the hotel are gorgeous, and the accommodations are fairly nice, but I cannot recommend staying here. First off, the food was hit-or-miss. While we enjoyed our lunches and snacks, the breakfast service was so-so and the dinner service was sometimes good and at other times not. We liked the curried-shrimp and the blackened mahi mahi, but the octopus was bland and the ceviche was bad. It was also frustrating that the staff refused to serve snacks during lunch hours, even if you had already ordered lunch and just want to munch on something on a rainy afternoon. The view from the room was gorgeous, but the mattress was old, saggy in the middle, and covered with a topper that bunched up and made the mattress lumpy and more difficult to sleep on. The cleaning staff mopped the floors and made the bed on a daily basis, but did not refill the soap or pool towel supply, return slippers to the bedside, robes to the bathroom hooks, or the ironing board to the closet. The in-room heated pool is heated via solar power and never reached a warm enough temperature that we wanted to jump in. The beach is a 15-20 minute drive down a very steep and winding path. The beach area is maintained by Viceroy and it will cost $50 per-person for a chair. There is a small unattended area tucked in a corner with a few rickety, unmaintained chairs for free use, but they are really undesirable.