Ratings based on 62 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nicholas from NY, NY

Nothing better anywhere

Posted Feb 22, 2014
Ive never stayed in a place like this and maybe never will again. An absolutely amazing experience with extremely polite and attentive staff. I really cant say enough about this place so I wont even try. Just incredible.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best view ever

Posted Feb 13, 2014
An amazing place. My wife and I went there for our honeymoon, the view was amazing and service was great (although a little slow but not too bad for the Caribbean). We restaurant was fantastic but pricey, would say the cost was worth it. The resort did a great job with the little things, many staff remembered our names and asked how things were going. The owner Holly was always around chatting with people which was nice. While we didn't have the the all inclusive package they did give us 6 of the local beers and a plate of fruit in our mini frig on our first day and would restock with water and soda each day. They also had a bottle of sparkling wine for us when we arrive. It is alot of a relatively minor costs compared to the price to stay there but little things like that stick with me. Food and drinks are a little pricey, we brought a bottle of rum to make drinks in our rooms. The rooms were beautiful and the lack of a 4th wall was a very unique and cool experience. We didn't have problems sleeping and quite enjoyed falling asleep to the sounds of the jungle and waking as the sun came up. However if you have trouble sleeping with the noise from nature they have ear plugs in your rooms. If you want to sleep in past 9 or 10 it will be a challenge due to the sunlight. Overall we had a great experience and will never forget it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by David from Charlotte, NC

Excellent couples getaway with amazing views!

Posted Feb 3, 2014
Pros: Trip Advisor
Cons: Probably not much can be done, but there is some traffic noise from the road at night that can be heard in the back of the rooms.
Location: We hiked up one of the Pitons which was amazing. Otherwise we didn't leave the resort (didn't feel the need to)
True and utter relaxation. My girfriend and I spent 2 nights here and never wanted to leave the room. The views from the room were magnificent. The personal plunge pool overlooking the Pitons was a very nice touch. From the bed given the open wall, you should look out over the Pitons. Sleeping with an open breeze was amazing. Mosquito nets covered the beds, but overall when we stayed we never had problem with mosquitos (of note the bathroom in our suite was open without a door to the bedroom). The staff was very friendly. Food at the resort restaurant was very very good, but I imagine if we stayed a few more days we would be looking for some more variety and might have traveled to another restaurant. All in all very very pleased and would recommend anyone to this resort. There is live music at night at the restaurant and bar, but this is not a loud all inclusive resort with TV's etc...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by mike from washington dc

#reset button

Posted Feb 1, 2014
Unreal experience. I don't think I have ever experenced anything like this in my life. This hotel gets you back to being human. Losses all the distractions and makes you whole as a human again. Food was a 10/10. Everything was fresh, island grown and as many 5 star places I've eaten in the states, this tops it. You feel healthy and happier just eatting here. Chief was amazing and very friendly. This hotel should be on everyone's bucket list.
2 out of 5
by Jay from Brooklyn

Not What We Expected.

Posted Jan 29, 2014
Pros: The views are undeniably amazing and sunset cocktails at the bar provided a stunning view.
Cons: The service was nowhere near our expectations.
Location: The hotel is definitely out-of-the-way. The restaurant Boucan at Hotel Chocolat across the street was fantastic.
The views from the hotel are gorgeous, and the accommodations are fairly nice, but I cannot recommend staying here. First off, the food was hit-or-miss. While we enjoyed our lunches and snacks, the breakfast service was so-so and the dinner service was sometimes good and at other times not. We liked the curried-shrimp and the blackened mahi mahi, but the octopus was bland and the ceviche was bad. It was also frustrating that the staff refused to serve snacks during lunch hours, even if you had already ordered lunch and just want to munch on something on a rainy afternoon. The view from the room was gorgeous, but the mattress was old, saggy in the middle, and covered with a topper that bunched up and made the mattress lumpy and more difficult to sleep on. The cleaning staff mopped the floors and made the bed on a daily basis, but did not refill the soap or pool towel supply, return slippers to the bedside, robes to the bathroom hooks, or the ironing board to the closet. The in-room heated pool is heated via solar power and never reached a warm enough temperature that we wanted to jump in. The beach is a 15-20 minute drive down a very steep and winding path. The beach area is maintained by Viceroy and it will cost $50 per-person for a chair. There is a small unattended area tucked in a corner with a few rickety, unmaintained chairs for free use, but they are really undesirable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Stefan from Dallas, TX

Room with a spectacular view

Posted Jan 29, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Visit Sugar Beach below. The Hotel provides shuttle service. Anse Chastanet Beech and Reef for snorkeling. Climb the Grand Piton. Dinner at Chocolat.
I recently stayed at the resort to celebrate my 50th B-Day. (Jan. '14). The hotel staff was aware of this upon my arrival, even though I did not mention it specifically. I found a complimentary bottle of Champagne in the room, which was a nice gesture. Everyone was very polite and friendly. The rooms are unique in that they are open towards the ocean, which lies approximately 1000 feet below the ridge on which the 32 hotel rooms are situated, providing a spectacular view of the two Pitons. The rooms are decorated tastefully with locally carved furniture, are quiet and relaxing and allow for an excellent night's sleep. There is some live entertainment (music) at the hotel bar until 9:00 p.m., but this is definitely not a place to party. Instead, if one is looking for a relaxing, 5-star, romantic getaway with a sophisticated eco touch, this is your resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by jim from toronto,Canada

Spectacular views

Posted Jan 12, 2014
Pros: The views are truly amazing.
Cons: Rooms are a bit tired and dated and bathroom needs better lighting
Location: Location about 45 minutes from airport. Hiking in rain forest, climbing Gros Piton, sunset cruises sugar beach are all close by.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by jim from toronto,Canada

Spectacular views

Posted Jan 12, 2014
Pros: The views are truly amazing.
Cons: Rooms are a bit tired and dated and bathroom needs better lighting
Location: Location about 45 minutes from airport. Hiking in rain forest, climbing Gros Piton, sunset cruises sugar beach are all close by.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by jim from toronto,Canada

Spectacular views

Posted Jan 12, 2014
Pros: The views are truly amazing.
Cons: Rooms are a bit tired and dated and bathroom needs better lighting
Location: Location about 45 minutes from airport. Hiking in rain forest, climbing Gros Piton, sunset cruises sugar beach are all close by.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Josh from USA

The only good part is the rooms

Posted Jan 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
The rooms at Ladera unique with a completely open wall overlooking an exquisite view. However, that is about the only good thing I can say about Ladera. I was extremely disappointed in the quality of the food. Entrees ran $40+; however, the food was mediocre at best. Their seafood was not fresh at all which is frustrating considering the high price tag and the fact were were in St. Lucia. In general, I felt like this place nickel and dimed you are every turn. We were sitting at a bar one afternoon and saw the bar tender give someone an empty handle of Absolute vodka and a funnel. He returned with a full bottle of vodka that the bar tender put back on the shelf. We experienced tons of shady things like this. I'm sure the freshness of their seafood (or lack there of) had a lot to do with them wanting to keep food costs down. All and all the problems seemed to stem from the hotel having a poor general manager. Any of the little things that went wrong weren't an issue in and of themselves; however, for the steep price tag the service aspect of the stay should have been much better.