Ratings based on 121 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Business traveller from Caribbean

Royal?

Posted Jan 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Not very. But this place although and older property, is gradually being updated. When we stayed the sister hotel next door was more full but this was a benefit to the slightly better Royal. Location is great because there are a number of decent restaurants nearby. We didn't mind that the restaurant and bar seemed to be a bit dead because you can walk hardly any distance at all to find restaurants and lil chef for breakfast. Spice of India is very good but razzmatazz was also nice. There is a bit of pool maintenance happening but may be done soon and most of the pool, which is right on the beach anyway, is open. The property is quite old looking but the bathrooms are new and modern and some of the furniture in the suites. Comfy bed and clean room which to me are key. Nice lounge area onto a patio in my room were good but you have stock your own minibar which is cheaper and you do get just what you want. and free wifi, something even city hotels haven't all brought in yet. Don't think it is a wowee property and you will have a pleasant stay. Staff always polite and welcoming.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Spacious suites and garden directly at the beach

Posted Dec 28, 2013
Pros: The hotel and its garden is huge so that it appears as if very few guests were there. Hence, it is a rather quiet and enjoyable place.
Cons: The cardio machines in the gym would need some repair.
Location: Directly at one of the most popular beaches. Restaurants are on site as well as nearby. Pubs and clubs are a 3 minute walk away.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Did not check into the hotel! No rooms.

Posted Dec 15, 2013
Upon attempting to check into the hotel with a transfer from the St. Lucian, I was informed that there were no rooms available at the Royal and that I would receive a credit back to my credit card for the pre-payment of the stay that was supposed to have taken place at the Royal. Unable to confirm refund, please convey information to appropriate department. Thanks. James M. Christian, Sr.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2014 by Richard GM, Hotel Management
Dear James It is most unfortunate that at the time you made a reservation for the royal St Lucian you were already staying in our sister property on island and the Royal was fully booked.I do appologise for any inconvenience caused. It was a pleasure speaking with you today and i look forward to meeting you on your next trip to St Lucia as would like you to try the Royal. As discussed arrangements have been made for you to receive a full refund for your booking. Seasons Greetings
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Kyle from Traverse City, MI

Short Stay, Great Service

Posted Nov 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
We only stayed at Royal By Rex for a couple nights. We had the Beachfront Deluxe Suite and the room was great. Might have just been a slow season but the pool was closed at 6pm and so was the swim up bar. This was my only complaint. Food was great and service was friendly. Would stay again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by AJM from UK

Royal by Rex

Posted Oct 2, 2013
Pros: Close proximity to the beach and a wide range of good restaurants within walking distance.
Cons: The hotel service could be better - I appreciate it's the 'off-season' however residents pay full price so should be entitled to good service.
Location: Beach a few steps from the hotel. Good restaurants and bars within easy walking distance. Bay Walk shopping mall within walking distance.
We have visited this hotel a number of times during the past few years. The hotel is not 'all inclusive' however there are many good restaurants nearby. The rooms are very nice and have recently been refurbished. We tend to visit in September as the hotel and beach are very quiet - the high season runs from October to April - although the accommodation is not inexpensive. While we enjoy visiting during the 'quiet season', when the weather is still very good, the down side is that the hotel service is not at the level I would expect. 'Quiet season' appears to equal 'poorer hotel service' - pool bar closed, no beach service available, beach towels to be picked up from the hotel reception (?). Disappointing, as residents are paying the same non-discounted rates as those visiting in the high season.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Roy from New Zealand

Lovely place to relax

Posted Sep 16, 2013
Pros: Very friendly and helpful staff
Couldn't have been better. Weather was great. The welcome was warm and friendly. Fantastic beach aces.s
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Travis from New York, NY

Sleepy

Posted Sep 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
I stayed at the end of the busy season, so the hotel was very sleepy, but I don't think this is typical. They were working on repairs and fixes on the pool bar and a few other areas, but it didn't get in the way of anything. The rooms were VERY clean, and the staff was incredibly welcoming. The only negative thing I would say is that the food wasn't great. The breakfast buffet was boring and over priced, for the rest of the meals it was 50/50 chance you were going to get something good. (The burger was awesome)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by CL from London, UK

Lovely St Lucian Hotel

Posted Jul 29, 2013
I had a wonderful time at the hotel in July 2013. The suite was spacious, well decorated and very clean. The staff were very friendly and attentive. Good location, directly on a beautiful beach and walking distance to Rodney Bay's shopping mall, casino and restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ken from USA

Rodney Bay Classic Goes Hip

Posted May 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
I stayed at the Royal years ago (Nelson Mandela had stayed there not long before we did). Now, 17 years later, the rooms at the Royal have been recently refurbished into chic, romantic hideaways. The bath area could be listed under "water sports," we loved the huge waterfall shower and bubble bath tub. Upon arrival, each room is adorned with scores of fresh cut tropical flowers, which also cover the bed, your robe pocket and the bath towels. For entertainment, you are right on the strip, close to every kind of dining, drinking or dancing. However, the best meals that we had, were at our own beach front hotel. The ocean water was warm, with a hard, smooth sand bottom. The views were perfect and we took advantage of the plentiful jogging/walking trails (for more vertical, take the beach left and keep going after the beach ends). We also sailed from a very handy rental, just a short walk down the beach. Next time we will take the Segway tour. They have them fitted with floatation tires, so you can go anywhere! The staff was super friendly and helpful, and even gave us a ride to a spot that was difficult to explain on a map. The pools were beautiful and well maintained. In short, this hotel is perfect for sport-minded, romantic couples, or mixing business with pleasure (great spa)!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jack from Virginia, USA

People fall in love with this place.

Posted Nov 22, 2012
Pros: The staff, the beach, the Chic restaurant.
Cons: No elevators for my aging knees!
Location: The location in Rodney Bay area, is one of the Royal's most appealing features, with excellent restaurants directly across the street & shops nearby.
After 7 stays at the Royal, I consider the people working there to be wonderful friends. From the casual in-pool bartender, Troy, to the estimable sommelier/maitre d', Marc, this excellent staff makes up for some of the points I might take off for minor upkeep issues (e.g., showers in the steam room/sauna, etc.). Most of the people that I run into at the Royal are returning guests.