Ratings based on 114 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tom from IL.

Nice hotel with excellent staff and a nice beach.

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Pros: The location, beach, pool and staff.
Cons: Better bug control- the tiny ants.
Location: Shopping and many restaurants and bars are all within 1/2 mile of the hotel. Watersports are available on the beach. Boat cruises from marina.
The staff was very accommodating and friendly. The grounds are clean and well kept. Really enjoyed the beach and swim up bar. The room was modern and clean. We did have a couple issues- tiny (and fast) ants that would get into any exposed sweets left out. The staff sprayed and this helped. We also had a septic smell in the room a couple of times that seemed to be from the AC, but never confirmed it. Didn't last long. Also, the last day, the TV stopped working... but who needs TV on vacation. Location is within walking distance of many restaurants and shopping. Overall, a very nice experience and we will return.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by MK from LA

Not bad as an hotel, but location is great

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: Location is great near all clubs and restaurants
Cons: Rooms, we were on the 3rd floor and no elevators
Location: The location is great , all the hangouts are nearby , but the hotel is a bit old
The hotel needs to be refurbished, I went to the Sandals, the difference was huge facility and modernness wise
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Robert B. from Midlands UK

Ideal hotel for the beach

Posted Apr 8, 2014
This hotel is on one of the best beaches in St Lucia. It is ideally placed for the beach and many restaurants in the surrounding area. It has good facilities and we had a superb week there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice quiet hotel

Posted Mar 15, 2014
Great room Beach was not what we expected, lots of boats
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Spacious suites and garden directly at the beach

Posted Dec 28, 2013
Pros: The hotel and its garden is huge so that it appears as if very few guests were there. Hence, it is a rather quiet and enjoyable place.
Cons: The cardio machines in the gym would need some repair.
Location: Directly at one of the most popular beaches. Restaurants are on site as well as nearby. Pubs and clubs are a 3 minute walk away.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Did not check into the hotel! No rooms.

Posted Dec 15, 2013
Upon attempting to check into the hotel with a transfer from the St. Lucian, I was informed that there were no rooms available at the Royal and that I would receive a credit back to my credit card for the pre-payment of the stay that was supposed to have taken place at the Royal. Unable to confirm refund, please convey information to appropriate department. Thanks. James M. Christian, Sr.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Kyle from Traverse City, MI

Short Stay, Great Service

Posted Nov 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
We only stayed at Royal By Rex for a couple nights. We had the Beachfront Deluxe Suite and the room was great. Might have just been a slow season but the pool was closed at 6pm and so was the swim up bar. This was my only complaint. Food was great and service was friendly. Would stay again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by AJM from UK

Royal by Rex

Posted Oct 2, 2013
Pros: Close proximity to the beach and a wide range of good restaurants within walking distance.
Cons: The hotel service could be better - I appreciate it's the 'off-season' however residents pay full price so should be entitled to good service.
Location: Beach a few steps from the hotel. Good restaurants and bars within easy walking distance. Bay Walk shopping mall within walking distance.
We have visited this hotel a number of times during the past few years. The hotel is not 'all inclusive' however there are many good restaurants nearby. The rooms are very nice and have recently been refurbished. We tend to visit in September as the hotel and beach are very quiet - the high season runs from October to April - although the accommodation is not inexpensive. While we enjoy visiting during the 'quiet season', when the weather is still very good, the down side is that the hotel service is not at the level I would expect. 'Quiet season' appears to equal 'poorer hotel service' - pool bar closed, no beach service available, beach towels to be picked up from the hotel reception (?). Disappointing, as residents are paying the same non-discounted rates as those visiting in the high season.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Roy from New Zealand

Lovely place to relax

Posted Sep 16, 2013
Pros: Very friendly and helpful staff
Couldn't have been better. Weather was great. The welcome was warm and friendly. Fantastic beach aces.s
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Travis from New York, NY

Sleepy

Posted Sep 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
I stayed at the end of the busy season, so the hotel was very sleepy, but I don't think this is typical. They were working on repairs and fixes on the pool bar and a few other areas, but it didn't get in the way of anything. The rooms were VERY clean, and the staff was incredibly welcoming. The only negative thing I would say is that the food wasn't great. The breakfast buffet was boring and over priced, for the rest of the meals it was 50/50 chance you were going to get something good. (The burger was awesome)