Ratings based on 115 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tom from IL.

Nice hotel with excellent staff and a nice beach.

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Pros: The location, beach, pool and staff.
Cons: Better bug control- the tiny ants.
Location: Shopping and many restaurants and bars are all within 1/2 mile of the hotel. Watersports are available on the beach. Boat cruises from marina.
The staff was very accommodating and friendly. The grounds are clean and well kept. Really enjoyed the beach and swim up bar. The room was modern and clean. We did have a couple issues- tiny (and fast) ants that would get into any exposed sweets left out. The staff sprayed and this helped. We also had a septic smell in the room a couple of times that seemed to be from the AC, but never confirmed it. Didn't last long. Also, the last day, the TV stopped working... but who needs TV on vacation. Location is within walking distance of many restaurants and shopping. Overall, a very nice experience and we will return.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by MK from LA

Not bad as an hotel, but location is great

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: Location is great near all clubs and restaurants
Cons: Rooms, we were on the 3rd floor and no elevators
Location: The location is great , all the hangouts are nearby , but the hotel is a bit old
The hotel needs to be refurbished, I went to the Sandals, the difference was huge facility and modernness wise
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Robert B. from Midlands UK

Ideal hotel for the beach

Posted Apr 8, 2014
This hotel is on one of the best beaches in St Lucia. It is ideally placed for the beach and many restaurants in the surrounding area. It has good facilities and we had a superb week there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice quiet hotel

Posted Mar 15, 2014
Great room Beach was not what we expected, lots of boats
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Business traveller from Caribbean

Royal?

Posted Jan 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Not very. But this place although and older property, is gradually being updated. When we stayed the sister hotel next door was more full but this was a benefit to the slightly better Royal. Location is great because there are a number of decent restaurants nearby. We didn't mind that the restaurant and bar seemed to be a bit dead because you can walk hardly any distance at all to find restaurants and lil chef for breakfast. Spice of India is very good but razzmatazz was also nice. There is a bit of pool maintenance happening but may be done soon and most of the pool, which is right on the beach anyway, is open. The property is quite old looking but the bathrooms are new and modern and some of the furniture in the suites. Comfy bed and clean room which to me are key. Nice lounge area onto a patio in my room were good but you have stock your own minibar which is cheaper and you do get just what you want. and free wifi, something even city hotels haven't all brought in yet. Don't think it is a wowee property and you will have a pleasant stay. Staff always polite and welcoming.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Spacious suites and garden directly at the beach

Posted Dec 28, 2013
Pros: The hotel and its garden is huge so that it appears as if very few guests were there. Hence, it is a rather quiet and enjoyable place.
Cons: The cardio machines in the gym would need some repair.
Location: Directly at one of the most popular beaches. Restaurants are on site as well as nearby. Pubs and clubs are a 3 minute walk away.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Did not check into the hotel! No rooms.

Posted Dec 15, 2013
Upon attempting to check into the hotel with a transfer from the St. Lucian, I was informed that there were no rooms available at the Royal and that I would receive a credit back to my credit card for the pre-payment of the stay that was supposed to have taken place at the Royal. Unable to confirm refund, please convey information to appropriate department. Thanks. James M. Christian, Sr.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2014 by Richard GM, Hotel Management
Dear James It is most unfortunate that at the time you made a reservation for the royal St Lucian you were already staying in our sister property on island and the Royal was fully booked.I do appologise for any inconvenience caused. It was a pleasure speaking with you today and i look forward to meeting you on your next trip to St Lucia as would like you to try the Royal. As discussed arrangements have been made for you to receive a full refund for your booking. Seasons Greetings
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Kyle from Traverse City, MI

Short Stay, Great Service

Posted Nov 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
We only stayed at Royal By Rex for a couple nights. We had the Beachfront Deluxe Suite and the room was great. Might have just been a slow season but the pool was closed at 6pm and so was the swim up bar. This was my only complaint. Food was great and service was friendly. Would stay again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by AJM from UK

Royal by Rex

Posted Oct 2, 2013
Pros: Close proximity to the beach and a wide range of good restaurants within walking distance.
Cons: The hotel service could be better - I appreciate it's the 'off-season' however residents pay full price so should be entitled to good service.
Location: Beach a few steps from the hotel. Good restaurants and bars within easy walking distance. Bay Walk shopping mall within walking distance.
We have visited this hotel a number of times during the past few years. The hotel is not 'all inclusive' however there are many good restaurants nearby. The rooms are very nice and have recently been refurbished. We tend to visit in September as the hotel and beach are very quiet - the high season runs from October to April - although the accommodation is not inexpensive. While we enjoy visiting during the 'quiet season', when the weather is still very good, the down side is that the hotel service is not at the level I would expect. 'Quiet season' appears to equal 'poorer hotel service' - pool bar closed, no beach service available, beach towels to be picked up from the hotel reception (?). Disappointing, as residents are paying the same non-discounted rates as those visiting in the high season.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Roy from New Zealand

Lovely place to relax

Posted Sep 16, 2013
Pros: Very friendly and helpful staff
Couldn't have been better. Weather was great. The welcome was warm and friendly. Fantastic beach aces.s