Ratings based on 104 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dennis from New York, NY

Nice Hotel Close to the Beach

Posted Feb 16, 2014
Pros: The pool/beach was very nice. The Waterside Grill was probably the best of the three restaurants at the hotel.
Cons: The process of making dinner reservations should be easier. You have to go to the lounge area between 8am-4pm to make reservations for dinner.
Location: It is on the NW tip of the island. If you fly into Vieux Fort, it's a 90 minute cab ride that will cost you around $100. Proximity to Rodney Bay a + .
You get what you pay for here. It is a nice spot for a quick getaway and if you like nightlife, then it is close to Rodney Bay (about a 10 minute cab ride) as well as the capital (25 minutes). The food was good and they have a number of pools, water activities, and ample beach space. The rooms could use an upgrade but you are really not in them during the day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Colleen from Connecticut

Excellent value!

Posted Feb 13, 2014
Pros: The pools and beach. Also there were many activities included in the price
Cons: The rooms need updating for sure
Location: The big tourist attractions are 90 min or more from this resort
The rooms are dated, some better than others, Our first room was unacceptable, the second room was much better. The pools and beach are immaculately kept an this is where this property spends much time and money. Not happy at the buffet but the restaurants were good. The drinks were very good and readily available all over. We enjoyed the entertainment every night. If you are looking for a luxurious room, I don't think you would be happy here, although there may be higher quality rooms. We wanted a nice beach and pools to relax and we were very happy. Staff were responsive if we brought forth any issues
3 out of 5
by Kate from New York

Poorly maintained hotel, nice staff

Posted Feb 6, 2014
Pros: the staff was nice
Cons: rooms need a LOT of improvement and upgrading (see above)
Location: Gros Islet is a cute village nearby
We had to change rooms 3 times in the first two days. The rooms are small and outdated. Only the suites have basic amenities like hairdryers. Only one US plug in each room and it is behind the TV, so tough luck if you are trying to use your hairdryer! Also, no fridge in the room. The second bed in the rooms we stayed in was shaky and made a lot of noise, so we asked to change. In the next room, A/C didn't work and I had to resort to yelling at 9pm to get staff to pay attention to us and transfer us to another room… which only had ONE bed (I was traveling with my mom, not a significant other so we couldn't share a bed). We had to stay in that room for the night and only the next day got a room with two unbroken beds and a working A/C. The facilities such as bathrooms, beach chairs, etc are old and definitely due for an update. The food in the restaurants is nothing to call home about. Overall, I feel that this hotel is overpriced for the quality of the experience. Staff is genuinely nice though, that was the only aspect of the hotel experience we actually enjoyed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bryan

Great spot, great staff, good food & drinks!

Posted Jan 25, 2014
Pros: The staff is amazingly friendly, the Italian restaurant (La Trattoria) was great, the kayaking was fun, the water and beach were wonderful.
Cons: No information on the hotel in the room, only one gluten-free option at Cafe Asia, would be nice to have screens on the windows so they could open.
Location: Strongly recommend the all-day catamaran trip from Reduit Bay, great fun and you really get to see the island. Pigeon Island is a short(ish) walk.
We paid a little bit extra for an oceanfront room (there aren't very many of them) but I think it is worth it, especially for a couple -- there is nothing like opening the curtains and seeing that blue water and hill rising on the other side of the cove, you really get that vacation feeling! The all-inclusive option is great -- it is really nice not to worry about each meal or drink or class or water sport. Lots of well-maintained pools, but we both prefer the beach and never tried them. We were there for a week and only took two trips away from the resort, an all-day catamaran sail / waterfall & volcano visit / snorkeling experience that I highly recommend, and a trip to Castries for a couple of hours to the Craft Market that I probably wouldn't. Otherwise, we spent the whole time at the resort and had an absolutely wonderful time.
2 out of 5
by lex from philadelphia, pa

Lacking in services and amenities

Posted Jan 11, 2014
Rooms in general were in poor condition, had to switch rooms twice. Staff was typically not accommodating with basic needs, no was almost always their first answer. Food was basic quality at best, and no snacks were available in between meals, which is very disappointing for an all-inclusive resort. No room service, no snacks at pool bars. No bottled water available at resort, no refrigerator in room, no drinks provided in room. Resort was chosen for abundance of water sport activities, yet much of the gear was broken and not usable, and conditions in the cove were too rough for staff to allow water sport activities most days. If this was known by staff we feel that should have been communicated better, yet their website brags about the activities that can be done and felt we were misled with our choice. After three days at smugglers cove, we checked out early and went to the Sandals resort down the road. Even at this point, the management did not seem concerned we were leaving early, and they did nothing to encourage us to stay. Though we were on a tight budget and had already paid in full, we were that disappointed and felt that leaving was the right decision.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Cyril from Trinidad, W.I.

Smuggler's Cove Resort Review

Posted Jan 8, 2014
Pros: General layout, variety of dishes for dinner, general cleanliness of the beach.
Cons: The rooms are very dated and really needs re-modelling. The gym equipment needs repairs and it would be helpful to have an attendant present.
Location: Rodney bay mall is very close to this resort where you could get some shoppipng done.
My family and myself (4) arrived at the resort on December 28 2013 and left on January 2nd 2014. The good points about the resort are: - good beach - rather friendly staff - we had an excellent house-keeper i.e. Deborah, who was friendly, punctual and did an excellent job - food was alright, with the New Year's Eve dinner being the best - facilities was clean and acceptable - close to Rodney Bay Mall - we had an excellent driver who picked us up from the airport and back "Sammy" - free WIFi in the Piton lounge area, although a bit slow - entertianment every night The not so good points are: - we requested a king size bed and two double beds for the upgraded suites we booked, but received two king sized beds. The front desk person "Lennard" promised to fix the situation the next day, but did not. In fact the two adult kids had to share the same bed (not cool Lennard). When we contacted Lennard again, he was abrupt and said he could not do anything about it. - breakfast got montonous with the same types of items every morning - the front desk personnel tend to be rather abrupt - due to the floooding disaster of certain parts of the island, the water on the resort was rationed to provide availabilitty only from 7am to 9am and then 5pm to 7pm. This presented a huge challenge since you now have to plan all activities to coincide to when you will return to shower etc. - kayaks were not always available although booked prior
1 out of 5
by Very bad ending from Chicago

Smugglers CoveTravelers Beware: Money stolen from room

Posted Jan 6, 2014
The advice I have to anyone traveling to this hotel is to keep your money with you at all times. We had left our valuables in the safe, assuming this would be a safe place. Some money was inside a closed money bag and some put in loose within the safe. We pretty much left the hotel in the morning took whatever money we needed from the loose pile, locked the safe, took the key with us and then came back in late in the day and did the same routine in the morning again. The morning we were to leave, we took everything out of the safe and I opened the money bag to pull out our passports and found that all the money inside the money bag was taken. All the money from the loose pile was also taken, what was left was enough for a taxi ride back to the airport. We called the security office, they came and we gave them all the details. They could not see how it would be possible for someone to take the money out of a keyed lock safe. We went to the reception office to check out, returned the safe key told the receptionist what happened, all she said was did you get insurance? We at least expected a we will look into it. If you do decide to go to this resort count your money to the dime morning and night wherever you keep it. This has not happened to us on any other trip we had taken and we have traveled the world to some remote places. Please know there was a thief at Smugglers Cove. in our room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Forget booking with Expedia!!!

Posted Jan 5, 2014
Expedia forgot to tell us that the hotel was rationing running water post Christmas Eve storm. Also, the TV reception was down to six channels. And the hotel staff was not the most welcoming. This was the worst "deal" we've ever booked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by GMA from NYC

Beautiful beach and happy people

Posted Dec 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
Our rooms were close to the lobby/beach/restaurants etc. the service was exceptional and the food was remarkably delicious and we were offered a different variety every day at The Cove. The Asian restaurant was awesome and for adults only. We were there during the week of Christmas and it rained torrentially for two days. The resort staff kept everyone entertained and fed in spite of the fact that the water/plumbing wasn't working right. It's not the NICEST resort I've been to, but it's nice enough to return to.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 31, 2013
Food was good for an all inclusive resort. Rooms and grounds were tired and in need of some TLC. Water sports team could be better organized. A good resort if your expectations are not high. Good value for money.