Ratings based on 96 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Family Vacation

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Nice Resort. Only drawback all pools close at 1800.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Place!

Posted Mar 21, 2014
Pros: several pools, beach, waterskiing/wakeboarding and banana boat rides were free!!
Cons: a few places need a paint job.
Location: boat down the coast was nice, went to plantation tour and mud baths it was ok.
We had some issues initially with the room assignment but it was taken care of. The rooms are large and all on the first floor with your own veranda. The setting is beautiful with all of the pool areas next to the beach or overlooking the water. The food was very good at every meal. The staff was extremely friendly. The grounds were laid out nicely so you never felt crowded even though they were close to full. I would go back!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by shane from minnesota

First timers to the Caribbean

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Pros: Nice people, cozy beach, the lay out of the resort.
Cons: Better drinks, better food, only 3 sailing lessons a day!! Are you kidding me.
Location: The local street party Friday night is the GREATEST.... Also take the Gemini boat tour, lots of fun...
Most other reviews were spot on that claimed, small drinks, not the greatest food, needs some updating, slower service at the bars. Friendly people, adequate accommodation, not bad for a lower end all inclusive. If you don't set your expectation to high you'll be fine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Barbara from Arizona

Beautiful resort

Posted Mar 11, 2014
The resort property is beautiful and peaceful, also large enough so it's not crowded even at peak travel season. The food was excellent, no problems getting reservations at the different restaurants. The beach area is not large but we never had problems getting lounge chairs. The only difficulty was that we had not arranged for transfers from the airport to the hotel ahead of time and the hotel is approximately a 90 minute ride from the airport. The resort is secluded with no shops in the immediate neighborhood. The spa treatments were heavenly and I wish we could have stayed longer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Adam R.

Eat, Sleep, and be Merry with your Family

Posted Mar 8, 2014
Cons: The smell around the bar is sour.
If you are accustomed to 5 star resorts then Smugglers Cove will not be up to your standard. The current rating of 3.7 is absolutely correct. When it comes to eating, the Italian restaurant is the best out of the 4 on the compound. Drinks are sub-par but the wine and beer is smooth enough to drink though out your stay. The staff is okay. Smile and they will smile back. :) I would definitely return on a family vacation. If you are single and ready to mingle find some place else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Skipper from Trinidad

A Good time despite the cats

Posted Mar 8, 2014
Pros: Loved the food at all four restaurants. The staff was polite, friendly and accommodating - well trained. The room was immaculate.
Cons: Something should be done about the cats and birds that enter the eating areas as one is having a meal. Provide more areas with wifi.
Location: Location good and there were more than enough things to do at the resort.
Generally very pleased with the facilities, food, staff and ambiance of the resort. We especially enjoyed the food! The staff is quite well trained. We were not happy with the number of cats that roamed the dining areas (especially the Cove restaurant) as we ate. Also unhappy with the birds that flew in and out of the Cove restaurant especially at breakfast time. The prevalence of cats sometimes made us wonder about the cleanliness of the restaurant. However, despite these things we had a wonderful time at Smugglers Cove.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rhea from Charlotte, NC

Fabulous location with an update needed

Posted Mar 6, 2014
Pros: The beach and pools were exactly what we were looking for.
Cons: In general, this resort needs a management company to come in and identify how to improve the overall user experience.
My partner and I travel internationally a couple times a year with one stay/year at a tropical, all-inclusive venue. We are not picky travelers - if there's a beautiful beach, pools and plenty of fruity drinks, we are usually quite content. Smugglers Cove filled that need quite well. The beach, though small, was gorgeous. The water was warm and clear. The water sports were lots of fun and available each day. The pools were fine - the staff clean them each day to rid them of sand, but that's an ongoing battle. The pools and pool bar weren't crowded and are situated in such a manner that you can sit in the pool and watch the ocean - perfect! The rooms are clean and beds comfortable. There were, however, a number of things that really should be improved/changed. The restaurant/buffet schedule is a problem if you don't want to eat on a very traditional schedule. Food is available from about 7 a.m. - 10 a.m.; 12 p.m. - 2 p.m.; and 6 p.m. - 9 p.m. There are no snack bars or areas where you can grab a quick bite. Towards the end of each meal, the buffet food would run very low or be completely out. There are no servers/staff who will serve drinks at the pool/beach. The rooms in general need an update - they're adequate, but lack a small fridge and drinks. There are activities going on each day, but you there is no calendar of events you can pick up. There are alot of paths from the rooms to the main area, but no detailed map.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Mrs H from Harrogate UK

Great Family Friendly Resort

Posted Mar 3, 2014
Pros: The hotel was in a great location on the North of the Island, you could walk through the Hotel gardens to Pigeon Island which is worth doing.
Cons: Only challenge was lack of easy access to information, there wasn't a front desk as such.
Location: The location on the North of the Island, near Rodney Bay was great. The hotel is set in a beautiful cove with brilliant snorkelling.
Our children couldn't have been more welcomed and catered for, they (and us) had a really great time. The food was excellent and the service was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Steve from New York

The most underrated resort in the Caribbean

Posted Feb 23, 2014
Pros: Very friendly and professional staff. Great location. Excellent instruction by sports team. Fresh fruit and fish at lunch and dinner.
Cons: Parts of beach were rocky making it difficult to get in and out of the ocean.
Location: Pigeon Island is within all king distance. Rain forrest excursion.
In my aproximately 40 trips to the caribbean I have never stayed at a resort that has so exceeded my expectations. The entire staff from the restaurants to the houskeepers to the bars were very friendly and professional. The food was interesting and carefully prepared. The resort is on a very large shaded beach and has a number of pools. Although the resort was full it did not feel crowded. It compares very favorably to other all inclusives I have stayed at including club med, couples, sandals and local ones in Antigua and Tobago.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Steve from New York

The most underrated resort in the Caribbean

Posted Feb 23, 2014
Pros: Very friendly and professional staff. Great location. Excellent instruction by sports team. Fresh fruit and fish at lunch and dinner.
Cons: Parts of beach were rocky making it difficult to get in and out of the ocean.
Location: Pigeon Island is within all king distance. Rain forrest excursion.
In my aproximately 40 trips to the caribbean I have never stayed at a resort that has so exceeded my expectations. The entire staff from the restaurants to the houskeepers to the bars were very friendly and professional. The food was interesting and carefully prepared. The resort is on a very large shaded beach and has a number of pools. Although the resort was full it did not feel crowded. It compares very favorably to other all inclusives I have stayed at including club med, couples, sandals and local ones in Antigua and Tobago.