Ratings based on 119 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Natalie

Lovely hotel situated on the beach. Quite basic.

Posted Jan 20, 2014
Had a weeks stay at the Rex with my 5 year old son. Friendly staff, decent food, lovely cocktails, clean sheets and clean towels.The hotel is situated on a beautiful beach. I met some people at the hotel who had been coming for years. I would go back again. The Rex has a certain charm.
1 out of 5
by Native visitor from Redmond, WA

Staying at a beach hotel

Posted Jan 18, 2014
Pros: Unprofessional, rude staff.
Cons: everything but the location needs to improve. The hotel owners need to pay more attention to what goes on at this hotel. The food is terrible also!
Location: Ideal location. Close to the beach and lot's of shopping and night life. Great location if you want to have fun.
We booked this reservation at the St Lucian because of it's proximity to the beach, we stayed at the Coco Palm the week before but now we wished we had stayed at the Coco Palm. The only great part of our stay was the beach, it was nice to wake up to the ocean breeze. The hotel staff had major attitude, very unhappy people, the check-in was horrible. They couldn't find my reservation and kept us waiting until they received word about an available room-it was 7 pm at night. I verified with Expedia that I did have a confirmed reservation so it was their mistake. The room they first assigned us smelled like paint, the back door didn't lock and the bathroom door didn't close. The room also had no TV and no phone. They assigned us another room but the bed sheets were not changed, we found hair on the sheets and pillows. They had housekeeping come in and change all the linen, we sat there to make sure everything was changed. They did apologize but with continued bad service at the restaurant every day we will not return. Thankfully there are other hotels.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Georg from Vancouver, Canada

Christmas in St. Lucia

Posted Jan 7, 2014
We had a really great time visiting the island for the first time. We are a young couple in our mid 20's. This hotel had the best all around deal for our budget with the all inclusive. The rooms were standard but good and always cleaned. The AC in the rooms kept them very comfortable but the beds were awful, I can't sugar coat that. They need new mattresses! Aside from that we had no complaints at all! The location is perfect - everything is within walking distance and it's right on the nicest beach (sugar beach was a close 2nd). We enjoyed our stay and likely return to the same hotel on future trips.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Sailors from Kansas

Overnight Stay

Posted Jan 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
I would recommend this hotel to anyone. The restaurant was right on the beach and buffets were fine. The rooms had fresh flowers laid out on the beds. Nice touch. The Staff was really nice and prompt. I would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tara from Luton

Amazing holiday

Posted Dec 31, 2013
Pros: Excellent staff. Great location
Cons: Menu needs to provided more authentic St Lucian foods to give the guests an all round experience and serve some ice cream.
Location: Street party every Friday in Gros Let with an excellent carnival atmosphere.
The staff were amazing, super friendly and extremely helpful. Their uniforms were immaculate at all times. Nothing was too much trouble for them and service was excellent. Excellent location right on beach. Locals very friendly and although they wanted to sell you goods it was done in a very nice, non pressurised way. Food was nice however could have contained more authentic St Lucian dishes in addition to the mainly western menu. Met lots of guests who had stayed at this hotel several times. A very relaxing environment with beautiful views and a lovely warm sea. My family and myself will definitely be going back. Had a sailing lesson and then took to the high seas lol. Lots of free water sports. Jet skis available to hire for 100 Caribbean dollars (about £25)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler from Canada

I made a good choice

Posted Dec 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
I had a very enjoyable stay and have no hesitation recommending the Rex St. Lucian. Staff were friendly and helpful, and the beach was superb with excellent swimming. I look forward to the next visit.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs Updating but good view

Posted Dec 24, 2013
Pros: Beach
Cons: Plumbing, beds are hard
The hotel has a retro vibe, which is kind of nice. It's quiet and peaceful with a good beach and view. The staff is friendly and the pool area was relaxing. Unfortunately the place needs lots of TLC. Our room was pretty bad. The toilet clogged up and overflowed daily so I had walk all the way down to the lobby toilets in the morning. I think the entirety of the hotel plumbing system is in need of help. The mattress was hard and old (but most are in the Caribbean I have found) The door to our balcony was broken so it was a stubble to open and shut it. The food was OK, but pretty bland and ordinary. It was an ok place to stay for 3 nights.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Will from ATL

DISAPPOINTED

Posted Dec 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
I give this hotel 2 thumbs down. If I had 3 thumbs, I would give it 3 thumbs down. Positives: The lobby was pretty. The ocean was beautiful. A band, which performed on Saturday night called 10 90, was great and the staff was nice. I was disappointed in most everything else. The beds had mismatched and torn bedding. Different sized beds. We had no hot water. The noise level on Friday night was ridiculously loud, due to the party held on Friday night in the town. Fell asleep after 3 AM. The meal selection is very limited and not very good and served between certain hours. I was unaware of this when reserving the room. It also took an hour and a half to get to the hotel from the airport, and 45 min when leaving... $75 each way. The company that shuttled us was very nice... though the beach and staff were nice, I would NEVER stay here again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Eric from London

I'll be back

Posted Nov 18, 2013
Pros: The location, the staff, the food and the views from the restaurant
Cons: rooms could be updated, but were clean and comfortable
Location: Gros Islet Fish Fry Friday which is a ten minute drive away, Cosol Tours and the shopping malls in Rodney Bay
Conveniently located in Rodney Bay and overlooking the best beach in St Lucia. All staff were friendly, courteous and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by OssieK from Trinidad

Super efficient and friendly

Posted Nov 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very enjoyable stay, friendly staff, good food and lovely surrounding, could not be better. Will definitely return.