Ratings based on 221 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom LA (lower Alabama)

Room with a million dollar view

Posted Mar 6, 2015
Pros: Great location, great shower, always a nice breeze blowing thru the lobby and main entertainment area. The main restaurant is right on the water!!
Cons: More employees to work the bar and restaurant during peak times. A "water Station" to refill your water bottles instead of waiting at the bar.
Location: Swimming, water sports, shopping
The St Lucien Rex is located on the best beach in St Lucia, and we had a room that had a terrific view. From our third floor room, we were basically looking straight out over the water. You could hear the sound of the waves lapping on the beach even with the air conditioning on. The room was clean, flat screen TV (but never turned it on), and a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was not huge, but the shower was wonderful...always had hot water with an over sized "rain" shower head. As part of the All Inclusive fare, our Fridge was stocked with sodas and beer (complimentary , not sure if they would refill it). The food for the most part was good....it ranged from "excellent" prime rib one night (carved to your liking) to "average" Grilled chicken and pork (it had been previously cooked and then reheated on the grill, unfortunately, due to the crowd, the meat never got reheated enough on the grill) to a mediocre "Oriental" themed restaurant (it is reservation only dining which was ala carte, not worth it in my opinion). At breakfast there was a chef cooking eggs anyway you'd like, to include omelets. The coffee was excellent. They only have two bars for drinks and one is only open at night. So just getting something to drink is a pain (whether it be alcoholic, soda or just plain water). The staff was always friendly and helpful, just not enough of them at the bar or restaurant. Night time entertainment was average. The pool was average too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

A great location

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Pros: Its proximity to the beach, the swimming pool just next to it, the always cheerful and helpful staff.
Cons: The food is adequate - but if it had been 5 star then I would have been in trouble as we were there 3 weeks! The plumbing needs upgrading
Location: Perfect for a beach holiday and touristy things available if wanted.
A thoroughly enjoyable winter break, where we were looked after very well. The hotel is situated right on the beach with the restaurant overhanging the beach, and waves (due to the closest alignment of the moon for 18 years - so high tides and crashing waves!). The hotel building itself is getting a little tired, but is generally well maintained. Judging by the many "returnees" staying here it is a well loved place to come to escape winter!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom london

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Hotel and staff were great age group a little to old for me the entertainment was a little dated
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom C.

Hotel is on the beach. Facilities are dated..

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Experience was very good. The staff was awesome! The buildings were very dated and our electronic plugs didn't fit in the outlets, but the staff at the front desk was gracious in providing us with adapters.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NB Canada

Great spot for older visitors

Posted Feb 4, 2015
Reception on arrival was awesome Staff is great ,the only negative experience was a mix up in dining reservation. If you are a beach lover be warned that the beach is dedicated to cruise ships when they are in. The food is excellent lots of variety you won't be hungry .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cremona, Alberta

An oldie but a goodie :)

Posted Jan 30, 2015
Pros: The location
Can't beat the St. Lucian by Rex's location. Beautiful beach and you can enjoy hours of snorkeling just off the beach! Walking distance to great restaurants and shopping. The resort is older but it didn't bother us as we only in our room to sleep! The buffet always was full of great choices and the two restraunts were a nice change. The staff were very friendly and helpful and I would love to return to St. Lucia again with the family and we would stay again at the St. Lucian by Rex.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom phoenix az

Older resort but on beautiful beach

Posted Jan 10, 2015
This is an older resort that could use some updating. The beds are uncomfortable and the bathroom smells. The grounds are beautiful and the location is ideal. The staff is hit or miss on friendliness. The receptionists were amazing but the wait staff was horrible. The food is okay but basically the same everyday.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom mdr

Exécrable je déconseille

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Problème de chambre, pas de clé, baie vitrée qui ne se ferme pas, coffre en panne, écoulement au niveau du plafond. Tous ces problèmes et aucune considération, aucune indemnisation. Personnelle pas du tout accueillant, aucun sourire. Le repas identique pendant 5 jours. JE DÉCONSEILLE, HORRIBLE.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by OLIVIERfrom Schoelcher

Plusieurs raisons d'y retourner

Posted Nov 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Tout est dans l'accueil et l'attention du personnel. Un professionnalisme très appréciable. Une cuisine saine et revivifiante à souhait. Un cadre agréable, parfait pour profiter du climat et de la nature en cette période de l'année.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Preston, UK

On the Beach with Water Sport Activities

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Pros: The staff are very friendly and helpful, especially Tim/Timothy the main man behind the bar who makes excellent cocktails.
Cons: Being on All Inclusive I do expect the room mini bar to be stocked daily. Coffee and Tea was replenished.
Location: Depending on your flight arrival time it can be a long drive to the hotel due to road works and having to go via Castries. I did 4 days Big Game Fish
First appearance the hotel looks a bit tired, but after a couple of days the charm of this hotel warms on you. It was quiet during my stay early November but this is a quiet month in St. Lucia. I fully recommend All Inclusive there is a good buffet style breakfast and lunch. Dinner selection could of been more expansive but maybe was limited due to low occupancy. I had a good clean room and bathroom (284) with a balcony overlooking a grassed area, beach and ocean. The air conditioning was excellent and not too noisy. The rest of the hotel was also clean.