Ratings based on 73 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from pa

Lucky for us the setting was amazing

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: The setting... Gorgeous
Cons: Cleanliness and friendlier staff
Location: Great location, although not near beach (but that is the case with many resorts), you can easily get to many highlighted spots on island
Reception to the hotel was so mediocre .. It felt fake .. Like they were trying to be happy..so as we were walking to our room we were already questioning our choice. Thank goodness the setting for this resort is amazing, because that made up for the lack of friendliness of the staff. We did a lot of research and knew all the highlights we wanted to see on this island.. Front desk had little to do with getting us around. Outside of our resort, the island is fun and friendly and enjoyable.. Very helpful and accommodating. The hotels restaurant The Mango Tree was very good, although service there is also questionable.. They were very friendly the first night only.. They did not even tell us about the managers banquet dinner.. When I asked why, the said they forgot. I travel a lot and have never written anything negative.. There are many resorts to choose from, and they are all very expensive .. So why not be somewhere friendly and inviting.. They need just a few smiles and a little sugar.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2015 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Hi M and M, It’s hard not to fall in love with the beauty that surrounds us here in Soufriere. It's great to hear that you had a largely positive experience on your visit. However, it concerns us to hear that you experienced anything less than exceptional service from our team. We would love the opportunity to host you again and show you the kind of warm, friendly service that we're known for .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampton VA

Very relaxing resort

Posted Feb 23, 2015
We went to St Lucia for our 25th anniversary . I loved staying at Stonefield. The staff was friendly, warm & so helpful with any question or service. Made us feel very special on our anniversary date. Our room really was paradise, comfortable bed , outside shower, fabulous view. Restaurant was great. The Chef invited us to go to the local market with him on Saturday morning. I would absolutely stay there again. Hope to go back in the future.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2015 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Karen, A 25th anniversary is a very special milestone, and we’re delighted to hear that we could make it that much more special for the two of you. We will pass your kind words on to Chef Lazarus! Hope to see you again on your next anniversary or whenever you have the pleasure of returning to St. Lucia.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ethan from Michigan

Wonderful Family Trip to Stonefield!!

Posted Feb 2, 2015 on Hotels
Loved every part of our family trip staying in the Stonefield Limemill VIlla! Great helpful staff, Amazing setting, wonderful food and drinks, and the best homemade ice cream I've ever had! The only thing I wish Stonefield had was more walking trails. The 'nature trail' was much too short for us and we were hoping to walk through the trails each day but the roads were too slippery and steep to walk. We met the owner, the head chef, and many of the staff who were all extremely friendly and helpful and showed that they truely cared about our stay! Would definitely go back if we return to St. Lucia.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice quiet hotel with beautiful views

Posted Jan 28, 2015
My wife and I had a wonderful six night stay extended by two nights after our flight was cancelled due to a snow storm in NY. However, the hotel charged us only half price for the extra nights even though we didn't request it. Warm and friendly staff (and the owner lives there). The hotel overlooks Petit Piton, the prettiest part of the island (all the tours come there from the north). The hotel doesn't have a beach, but each villa has a pool and there is a free shuttle to Sugar Beach Resort. The hidden gem is Freedom Bay Beach at the bottom of the hill, a secluded Unesco World Heritage site. It's an easy walk down but a tough walk back up to the hotel. Great live music on Tuesday nights.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2015 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Geoff, It has certainly been a rough winter for New Yorkers! But we’re so glad that you were able to weather the storm with us here at Stonefield. Freedom Bay Beach is indeed a hidden gem—just think of the journey back up the stairs as a free workout! Hope to see you again for your next winter getaway!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire UK

Secluded Hotel with beautiful view of Petit Piton

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: Very exclusive and quiet with Stunning Views out to sea and of the Petit Piton. Position uphigh in beautiful gardens and native trees. Private pool.
Cons: Maybe the staff could have made a little more effort to be friendly and not very child centric
Location: Superb location for a visit to the Sulphur Springs, Sugar Beach (there is a free shuttle), Zip wire trail and Hotel Chocolate Restaurant.
An excellent location not far from all the Attractions around the Piton area
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rhode Island

Private villas, romantic, slightly obstructed view

Posted Jan 9, 2015
Pros: The villa, privacy factor, view, staff, spa $$$, the fact that breakfast was included, the goats and their kids bleating near by, location
Cons: Please allow staff to do what they do so well, without hovering! This would make all meals, and functions so much more relaxing and enjoyable.
Location: On a plantation, next to Petite Piton, mineral springs, Volacno, mud baths, zip lining, Sugar Beach, Black Sand Beach, Soufriere, waterfalls
Beautiful, accommodating, cheerful, fun staff, very peaceful! Good food and immaculate grounds. We feel strongly that staff would be more relaxed and there would be no obvious awkwardness in the air if the owner, who comes across as sour, was not at every meal and every function, hovering.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from england

Beautiful grounds, great location

Posted Dec 19, 2014
Pros: Fabulous grounds and great views of the pitons.
Location: Try Chester at the hummingbird resort for great diving at reasonable price. Boucan and Dasheen are great for dinner. The Tet Paul nature trail.
Great stay, very comfortable, unbeatable view from the restaurant. Staff very friendly. Soufriere is a great base.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by david

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 18, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NRW

super angenehmes resort direkt am petit piton

Posted Dec 6, 2014
Pros: lage an den pitons, weitläufigkeit des resorts, üppige vegetation, großzügige villas, uneinsehbare privatpools, sehr aufmerksamer / perfekter service
Cons: das frühstück könnte abwechslungsreicher sein und das essen im hotel etwas besser. im gym fehlt ein fahrrad zum spinning.
Location: liegt im westen der insel an den pitons und den wohl schönsten stränden sugar beach / matgretoute. für uns der interessanteste teil von st. lucia.
wir haben das resort als sehr guten ausgangspunkt eine der interessantesten karibik-inseln zu erkunden,empfunden.einen steinwurf entfernt kann man in Soufriere das echte St Lucia kennen lernen und mit den beiden pitons (UNESCO Welterbe), schwefelquellen, regenwäldern, wasserfällen die beeindruckendsten sehenswürdigkeiten entdecken. Wir haben den kostenlosen shuttleservice zu den beiden schönsten stränden sugar beach und matgretoute genutzt. sugar beach ist bewacht, matgretoute nicht, daher dort (leider) vor allem sonntags vorsicht, wenn der strand von "locals" frequentiert wird..... das resort bietet ansonsten ein exzellentes preis-/leistungsverhältnis, super aufmerksamen service ( z.b. cellphone zum rufen des shuttles vom strand aus). wer den shuttle nicht nutzt, kann alternativ seine bergsteigerwaden trainieren (vergleichbar La Palma). Etwas vermisst haben wir urbanität in der nähe, wegen der grossen armut haben wir den besuch von lokalitäten in Soufriere gemieden, es gibt zwar einige restaurants in der nähe, aber nichts unter 30 US$. all dies kann die überwältigende landschaft inkl. qualität des resorts jedoch nicht in den schatten stellen.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 8, 2014 on Hotels