Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON, Canada

Wonderful Resort

Posted Feb 16, 2013
Pros: Have your own pool.
Cons: Not beach front property.
Location: 20 minutes walk to the closest town, in a quite area and close to most tourist attractions.
The staff are wonderful and hard working people. Always willing to accommodate their guests. If you needed anything, all you had to do was call them on the cellphone that they provided you with for your stay. This resort is small and it's not like the bigger hotels where you feel it's very commericalized; you feel more at home and it's has a relaxing environment. There are no televisions in the rooms however you can go to the front desk and select various game boards to play or sit around your pool and read a book. The resort doesn't have beach however there is a shuttle bus to Sugar Beach which is worth going too. Also, there are many activities close to this resort (i.e. ziplining, botantical gardens, waterfalls and the volcano).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mark S

Amazing views...but

Posted Feb 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
Loved the place in terms of views and uniqueness of the resort. However, with just a few tweaks they could make this a 5 star experience. Staff were apathetic and not much help to those of us coming from outside the country. Little things like places to go, place to avoid, costs of things EC vs US $, typical tipping for services...would be helpful. Manager reception was a joke. Free rum punch and a plate of chips to pass around. Also, the BBQ on Thursday night the food was awful. They have their hands in all the tours and setting up of services to get their "commission". Not really a conceige service.
5 out of 5
by Carl from Brighton UK

Great Hotel : But No WIFI in Room

Posted Jan 12, 2013
Pros: The amazing view!
Cons: Lack of WIFI
Location: Hidden away up a mountain.
Fantastic in every way except one : No WIFI in room. We had a great stay, but WIFI proved to be a big pain.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Holidaymaker

Our own private villa

Posted Dec 15, 2012 on Hotels.com
A short stay of 4 nights paid for in advance, although this was queried on our arrival (they thought we were staying for 3) and the first version of our final bill included an extra night's accommodation. We found the room spacious and comfortable, and we loved the privacy of our terrace and pool. The staff were generally helpful, although our initial welcome felt a little impersonal. The evening meals at the Mango Tree restaurant were of an excellent standard, although expensive. Breakfast service was not always prompt, and the fruit course, juice and cooked items arrived almost simultaneously, about 20 minutes after our tea and coffee, on the last morning. 2 minor maintenance problems (room safe and bathroom light switch) were dealt with promptly and efficiently. Grounds were beautifully maintained.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Di71 from New York, NY

Great escape....

Posted Dec 12, 2012
Pros: Location, service, amenities
Cons: no beach or wifi in the villa
Location: picturesque!
Great escape! Stonefield is located near the Piton Mountains and just offers breathtaking views! We received such a warm welcome at reception. Lavendar scented towels and drinks were served upon our arrival. We stayed at the Frangipani and were pleasantly surprised how large our swimming pool and how inviting our villa were. The Mango Tree restaurant offered delicious meals and the service was very good! Unfortunately, they didn't have mango drinks b/c mangoes weren't in season, but we were able to find them elsewhere. Wifi is available, but only at the reception area and at the restaurant. I was a little disappointed about that expecting that I could have access in our villa. The beach off the beaten path was a big disappointment, a long trek, dirty and the restaurant was closed most of the time. Stonefield provides a daily shuttle to Sugar Beach and that was paradise! Overall, we had a lovely stay, and look forward to return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Lovely Honeymoon

Posted Nov 9, 2012
Pros: The view and the inifity pool.
Cons: Mosquitos - take plenty of repellant and maybe even a plug-in killer as the nets don't stop them all.
Location: Beautiful - right in the Pitons with views of the Caribbean Sea.
We stayed for 5 nights and had a wonderful room with a view of Petit Piton. The food at the Mango Tree was lovely and the staff at the resort were friendly and helpful. We were able to arrange excursions with them but also had the freedom to go where we wanted as well. We expected some small hot-tub sized pool with the villa but were pleasantly surprised with a large infinity pool. Would recommend to any couple wanting to get away from it all in beautiful surroundings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sara from Texas

Beautiful views!!!

Posted Sep 10, 2012
Pros: Location and views.
Cons: Very hot- air conditioning was scarce.
Location: Quick 5 minute drive to the closest village
The location of the hotel is excellent- very quiet and relaxing. The staff was extremely attentive and super friendly. This is a small hotel and it feels like you have your own apartment, which is great if you are looking to get away from it all. The views are the best! The food at the restaurant is very good and reasonable. The only downside was that it was extremely hot and although our villa had air conditioning, it didn't make too much of a difference, as the villas are very open (screened with shutters). Also, I would recommend renting a car because it is kind of away from it all. Taxi's are very expensive. If you are looking for a place to get away with unbelievable views, this is the most perfect place. There are no TV's and they give you a cell phone to contact the lobby or restaurant if you need anything. There is no cell service and Internet is available in the lobby and restaurant only. Living without interruption from the outside world is nice break! The pool in each villa is amazing too- used it so much, especially good to cool off. I highly recommend Stonefield.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Rob

Amazing Resort

Posted Sep 6, 2012 on Hotels.com
An unbelievable experience with breathtaking views of the Petit Piton and Caribbean Sea! A must see Villa!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Courtney from Long Island, New York, USA

Honeymoon bliss

Posted Jul 1, 2012
Pros: Private plunge pool
Cons: No complaints
Location: Close by local tours
Stayed here for the first three days of our honeymoon and can't stop talking about it! Beautiful views, private villa, personal "backyard" with pool ! Very secluded for a nice relax time for the beginning of our honeymoon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Cella from Maryland, USA

true tropical island feel

Posted Apr 19, 2012
Pros: staying in a private villa (only 14 on 26 acres), views, & nontouristy
a wonderful place to stay. the views stunning, felt the true essence of an island experience and not touristy. great staff. both romantic and adventuresome (if up for hiking some steep terrain outside the estate ). we appreciate all the employees friendliness & relaxed attitude...