Ratings based on 95 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 22, 2012 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by Sonia from St Paul, MN, USA

"I didn't do it."

Posted Jan 30, 2012
Pros: The villas.
Cons: Lack of integrity and confidence from staff.
This hotel was aesthtically pleasing. The staff/service were helpful with the exception of (1)the front desk, where you schedule excursions and such, and (2) the Bayside Restaurant staff. More than once, the scheduling of the excursions were messed up which affected the rest of our daily itineraries in an adverse way. Apologies were made, again, and again, and again. After a while, apologies become empty if a hotel is unwilling to fix/look into what the underlying problems are with their scheduling. The staff frequently blamed on it someone else working there or an outside vendor. They also became seemingly meek and avoided eye contact when we tried to find out what went wrong--we got a different 'story' each time. With the Bayside Restaurant staff, I learned you have to ask lots of questions about the 'fine print' on their menu. If we found that we were missing an item/items with our dish (which happened often) and asked about it, they acted as if we were requesting something special or extra. Well, if the menu states that an item comes with a dish in addition to them verbally verifying that it does after one asks...shouldn't I expect it? This question does not require a supervisor coming over to the table, it just requires a simple 'yes' or 'no' answer. There just seemed to be a sudden lack of confidence (downcast eyes, lowered voice) from the wait staff in this particular restaurant when questions arose.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Greenwich, Ct

Posted Jan 2, 2012 on Hotels.com
Excellent resort, but a significant amount of construction is in progress. Many small issues with our room which the hotel could not immediately remedy. That said, the staff was wonderful and worked hard to make our vacation exceptional. Beautiful setting and small hotel feel. Could use an additional restaurant as off-property meals are not convenient, especially with children.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Potomac, MD

Paradise

Posted Aug 24, 2011
We were treated like royalty by a top notch staff. After our trip to the Bahamas we never thought we would find another location where people were genuinely friendly, kind, and helpful, but St.Lucia and Jalousie were up to the task. Our family trip was wonderful for all of us. The fellow vacationers seemed to be smitten as well as many were there for their second or third visit. We will return, too! Everything was perfect: - Food was incredible - Scenery defies description it is so majestic and stunning - Staff were attentive to every question, concern, or need - Activities and tours were plentiful and convenient to the resort - Room was charming, clean, and spacious - Value was amazingly affordable compared to other locations in the Caribbean Hawaii or the South Pacific
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Vermont

Exquisite Hotel

Posted Jul 21, 2011
i would highly recommend this hotel and location. It is just unbelievably perfect, a breathtaking spot with lush vegetation and unbelievable views. The rooms are amazing with individual pools. We travelled with young children and it was just perfect. The food was delicious. It was the most amazing place....I would love, love to go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great hotel - a real luxury experience

Posted May 9, 2011 on Hotels.com
One of the best hotels I've stayed in - beautiful villa, friendly staff, fabulous location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from lancaster, PA

Quiet Luxury

Posted Mar 1, 2011
Our trip was heavenly. The grand luxury villa we stayed in was very private with awesome views of the pitons and the ocean. The staff was extremely attentive and polite. I had read reviews of noisy construction and bad service at the restaurant. We experienced neither. Plan on going back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from CA

beautiful location with amazing accomodations

Posted Sep 30, 2010
We stayed here on our honeymoon and it was definitely a vacation to remember. Jalousie is in a beautiful location right between the two Pitons. The hotel starts right on the beach with beach chairs under thatch umbrellas, a boating center that provides snorkle gear, kayaks, hobie-cats and paddle boats free of charge, and a casual restaurant. The pool is huge and just above the beach. The accomodations are spread out up the hill and consist mostly of private villas. Our villa was amazing. It had its own deck with views of the pitons and a private plunge pool. The villa was very clean and almost insect proof (you're in a beautiful jungle so you're going to have to deal with bugs). They are currently renovating the sugar-mill rooms so we were lucky to get upgraded to a villa, but from what I could see the sugar mill rooms will be very nice. While we were there we had a great time snokeling and kayaking in the bay between the pitons. We also enjoyed one of their bars/lounge that was recently remodeled. There were only a few other people in the bar - so don't go there for a party scene. The food at the casual restaurant was very good, although a little pricey. Food is expensive but we got a room credit when we booked through Expedia that really helped with the costs. Overall this was an amazing hotel in an amazing location that I would definately recommend to anyone who wants a relaxing vacation in a beautiful location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, N.Y.

Paradise can be Yours at Jalousie

Posted Sep 23, 2010
This hotel is undergoing a $100 million dollar renovation. The renovation does not interfere with your stay at all. The hotel is NOT a centralized large building but consists of villas that are clustered throughout the 119 acres between St. Lucias most wondrous and beautiful site: the Gros and Petit Pitons. Some of the unrenovated units may have some exterior deficiencies like rusting on the roof and some debris around the foundation. Most are quite nice in appearance both interior and exterior. We initially were placed in a unrenovated union that had those deficiencies. WE brought it to managements attention in a polite but firm manner that we are not used to staying in accommodations that are lacking in any manner. They listened to us and paid attention. The very next morning we were transferred at no cost to a larger newly renovated unit that was way beyond our expectations. The restaurant called the Great Room was graced with exquisitely prepared food and had excellent service. The hotel staff is very pleasant and friendly, sometimes they may not get things right do to lack of experience but the management is training them and this hotel will be a world class establishment in short order. I highly recommend Jalousie.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Upstate NY

Luxurious, relaxing, and exclusive.

Posted Sep 16, 2010
St. Lucia is a picturesque island and The Jalousie Plantation is all that and more. Nestled between the Piton mountains the setting could not be more exotic and beautiful. My wife and I wanted a slow, relaxing, and luxurious vacation, and that is exactly what we got. We stayed in an ocean view Luxury Villa, number 704. Wow! Very large, extravagant, clean, comfortable. The only minor issue is the hot water takes quite a while to reach the tap, in both the shower (which is huge) and both of the sinks. Otherwise no problems with the plumbing as reported by others. Our typical day consisted primarily of lounging on the beach with a book, swimming, snorkeling, taking a dip in the beautiful pool for a change of pace, lounging some more, occasionally hitting the gym in the morning, and oh yeah, enjoying wonderful meals in the two restaurants. There is some construction going on, to build the rain forest / tree house spa treatment huts and the new Sugarmill rooms, but this caused no problems and we hardly noticed. Being located between the Piton mountains, the resort property and roads are quite steep and with the exception of the main area around the beach and restaurants, the property is definitely not conducive to walking. However, the shuttles which whisk you from your villa to the beach and restaurants and then back again were always numerous and timely. The staff was all very charming and helpful: shuttle drivers, wait staff, butlers, maids,and front desk personnel.