Ratings based on 205 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom North Carolina

Nice small hotel near the beach and restaurants

Posted Dec 10, 2014
Pros: small, private, nice staff, nice pool, nice breakfast and close to the beach
Cons: Get the seaweed cleaned up and the beach restaurants rebuilt from hurricane damage. Need new mattresses on beds.
Location: Snorkeling and diving at Octopus Diving in Grand Case or on Orient Beach at the local dive shop. Lots of small villages and beaches nearby.
We have stayed at Alamanda 4 times. It is our favorite small fairly private hotel in the middle of Orient Beach with a nice pool. The staff are friendly. The pool area is almost always private as most people go to the beach. Mostly adults with occasional small children. You can walk 2 minutes to Orient Village to find nice dinning in several restaurants and a small grocery store and shops. A basic breakfast of fruit, bread, juice and coffee is included and bacon and eggs can be added for a reasonable cost. We usually pack a small bag with drinks and spend the day on the beach. The seaweed was very bad the first week in December but they were beginning to get it removed. This is not a party hotel. The atmosphere is mostly quiet and peaceful. You can party on the beach or in the nearby villages. Orient Beach is the most popular beach on the island with many restaurants and small shops. Great for long morning walks at sunrise. The sun sets behind the hills.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 7, 2014
The hotel was excellent. We had trouble with our restroom facility. It was fixed the next day. Our breakfast waitress waitress was adorable and extremely accommodating. This was our third stay at this hotel. We would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom chicago

great location

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: lock in doors you need to care on large key everywhere you go
Location: walking distance to restaurants, bars, beach
we did run out of water once over 5 days stay, Wi-Fi only in lobby
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bakersfield, Ca

Even after the hurricane this place was top notch!

Posted Nov 1, 2014
Pros: We swam in the pool after going to the beach every day and night. Clean resort and bed was comfortable. Restaurants were fifty steps from the resort
Cons: Locks on the door was a mystery most of the time. The rinse off hose wasn't working at the pool.
Location: Only thing we would recommend is going back to the airport and sitting at the Sunshine bar to watch the planes and jets come in.
Enjoyed our stay at Alamanda Resort from the beautiful room to the beach and the restaurants right behind the resort. A hurricane had just hit the previous week but the hotel was still in excellent shape. The morning breakfest of fruit, rolls and coffee was just right and the lady (sorry I don't remember her name) server was very nice. We would hit the beach every morning and walk up and down until the first beach bar would open at 9am.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 13, 2014
lovely resort minutes from beach!! excellent breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff.

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful.
Cons: The water pressure in the shower was weak and the bed could use a softer mattress.
Location: Rent a car if you stay at this location, the main island excitement is on the Dutch side.
We went here for a 5 day stay on a getaway vacation to relax. The hotel was somewhat average but nice. It was convenient to the beach, although you did have to walk across a dirt parking lot to get there. The hotel provides beach chairs and umbrellas for the hotel guest and the beach is beautiful. The free continental breakfast consist of coffee, bread and a cup of fruit and is served by a friendly staff. The food was fresh and the service was good. Everyone of the staff were helpful and friendly. There is a courtyard nearby that has several restaurants to choose from. Other than that the nightlife is somewhat limited. I would definitely rent a car if you are staying here but the slow pace is nice to come back to after a day/night of activities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by BAfrom Long Beach CA

Best location for beach and food

Posted Jul 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Alamanda was amazing - perfect location - great beach at Orient Bay and all of the cafes, restaurants, and the grocery store just outside in the courtyard made it super easy and comfortable. The staff were so warm and welcoming and helpful.We had a family duplex room which was perfect for a week with two teenage boys - everyone had space while still being together. I would definitely come back!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Ismaryfrom Miami

Posted Jul 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff is very kind, and helpful. Breakfast is served in a nice area with a very good quality. The Hotel need a little bit of improvement in some aspects, for example, our bed was a little uncomfortable and the curtains in the room didn't the sun light, what woke us up around 6 AM, every morning. Very good location and vey friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Louisiana

Wonderful hotel close to the beach and fine dining

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: Hotel staff was knowledgeable, helpful, and friendly. Free beach towels and chairs were provided. Free breakfast was very good. Room was very nice!
Cons: Nothing - perfect as is!
Location: Excellent restaurants were a 2 minute walk away! The beach was just as close. The beach was beautiful - clean, white sand and turquoise blue water!
This was a vacation for our 25th wedding anniversary - my wife and I wanted a very special time together and our expectations were far exceeded. The Alamanda was wonderful. The check in went very smooth. The breakfast in the morning was fresh and delicious. The staff was excellent. The room was very good - comfortable bed, clean, very nice size. The balcony was furnished and an excellent place to relax. Fine dining was a 2 minute walk away. We ate at 2 of the restaurants - Cote Plages and Le P'tit Bistro. The food was excellent at both. The foie gras at Le P'tit Bistro was incredibly delicious! The Orient Beach was also a minute walk away. The sand, surf, and water were the most beautiful we have ever seen. The time we spent on the beach together (about 6 hours each day) was awesome! The beach front had restaurants that served lunch and drinks all day. We ate lunch at Andy and Cheryl's. It was very good. My wife got a pina colada at Kontiki - it was superb! The atmosphere at the Orient Beach was completely relaxed and chill. People were cool and friendly. Totally hassle free! The prices for beer, drinks, and food at the Orient Beach restaurants and bars were reasonable. The vacation was like having the best of France and the Caribbean in one place - a paradise of sensual pleasures and an excellent way for a couple to celebrate their marriage!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 6, 2014 on Hotels.com