Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worse than awful

Posted Jan 18, 2014
Couldn't wait to leave this place and will never go back. Do NOT believe the three and four star rating. Expedia's rating on this hotel could not have been more misleading and erroneous. Dirty, smelly and old. YUCKO
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Hotel that has seen better days

Posted Jan 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
At the peak of the tourist season, we needed a hotel in a hurry. The Bel Air was available, but not really in a convinient location. Our check in was slow, the on-site cafe was indifferent, and the place seemed a little run down. More positively, our room was clean and the bedding was fresh and crisp. Next time we need a hotel in St. Maartin, we'll look elsewhere and book earlier..
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Helpful staff, but the hotel is a bit rundown.

Posted Dec 30, 2013
Pros: Beautiful beach. Friendly staff.
Cons: Building needs to be renovated.
Not really a hotel - more like a condo/timeshare. Needs updating. Staff is warm and friendly. Restaurant has good food.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Helpful staff, but the hotel is a bit rundown.

Posted Dec 30, 2013
Pros: Beautiful beach. Friendly staff.
Cons: Building needs to be renovated.
Not really a hotel - more like a condo/timeshare. Needs updating. Staff is warm and friendly. Restaurant has good food.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by KWM Ranch from Oklahoma

Extra night to my RCI exchange

Posted Oct 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
The night we arrived started out bad: I had called ahead 2 weeks in advance to explain that I would have an RCI exchange following my "Hotels.com" night. After much confusion on the phone the lady said OK I will put you in the same room for the1 night and the week. She said do you have any requests, I said easy access to the beach, because I have had a knee replacement. She said I will put you on the first floor, walk out your patio door and straight to the beach. Well when we arrived they had us on the 4th floor and said that I never called to combine the rooms or request the 1st floor. After several trips to the front desk, they allowed us to move to a room on the 1st floor , but the ocean view is blocked by the towel hut on the beach. The beach runs the full length of the hotel. So the beach and the view in general are very nice. The hotel very old and out dated. I must say it is extremely clean! We were disappointed because the timeshares we have stayed at in the past looked a lot newer and up to date. The hotel has 2 elevators but only 1 is working most of the time. There is a small pool but no hot tub to relax sore muscles. If I visit again I will try to find a more up to date room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Richard from Key Biscayne, FL

Great staff

Posted Mar 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
hotel staff very friendly. Unless you have a car you have to take a taxi to go to any other restaurant but the small one on the property which is o.k. but nothing special. Rooms are very large .and all face the ocean. Nice beach. We stayed here the day before our cruise and it just a short cab ride down to the cruise terminal. We would stay here again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Water view !!!!!

Posted Jan 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very clean, wish we could have stayed more than one night! Staff was awesone, kept our luggage while we shopped before traveling to Anguilla. We will stay again for a few days before our departure to Anguilla, great rooms, clean and quiet! Thank you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Awesome View!

Posted Nov 22, 2012 on Hotels.com
We picked this hotel to stay for one night at the end of a weeks cruise and wish we could have stayed longer! We reserved a 2 bedroom as friends who accompanied us on the cruise, also stayed for the one night. The condo really suited our needs and was very comfortable. Unfortunately we could not take advantage of the full kitchen to due lack of time, but the restaurant was clean and the food was great! All the balconies overlook the beautiful beach. The front desk was VERY friendly and helpful as we arrived at 10:00 a.m. and even though check in was 3:00 p.m., our room was ready in 30 minutes! Our friends had a later flight and we able to get a late check out at 12:00 noon - all at no extra charge! Hotel is next door to the Divi and wave runners are available for rent. We walked to Front Street, Philipsburg but would not recommend for elder guests. We got a taxi back! We highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 2, 2012 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sal from New York, NY, USA

A week in paradise

Posted Apr 20, 2012
Pros: The hotel is on the beach and your chair will be waiting for you in the same spot with towels available every day of your stay, no extra charge.
Location: The view of the beach from our balcony was great, as well as the proximity to shopping areas and restaurants.
Having booked everything online, I was a little concerned about some surprises. Well, the surprises were all positive. The two bedroom two bath fully equipped suite had a beautiful view of the beach. With no street to cross, our assigned chairs and umbrella were waiting for us while we had breakfast at Gingerbread Hut by the pool. A hotel isn't much without people, the staff is very friendly and helpful and Jody's place downstairs is a small convenience store that is very convenient with most of what you would need in a pinch. We were able to do extra curricular activities such as snorkeling and Lorna was more than happy to book it for us.The proximity to the shopping areas is a plus, only a short cab ride away, but we chose to rent a car at a great deal also on the premises. How great is that? Did I mention the complementary daily paper? All in all this was a great vacation in St Maarten and I would definitely return to the Belair Beach Hotel and recommend it to my friends.