Ratings based on 189 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Scottsdale, AZ

A Nice Little Surprise in St. Martin

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: The openness and the view.
Cons: The bed was stiff.
Location: The Dinghy Dock Bar is a great place to hang out.
At the price we paid for this hotel, we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived at Captain Oliver's. Our room was large, clean, spacious, open and bright with a nice view of the ocean. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The only complaint we had was that the bed was a little stiff and the pillows were a bit flat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Indianapolis

Front Desk staff outstanding

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: Location and views.
Cons: Maintenance - some electrical outlets were not attached to the wall, some tile in bathroom was missing.
Location: Right on the marina. Several nearby restaurants that are excellent.
In our several interactions with front desk staff, they responded above and beyond. They were excellent. The room was okay - in need of more maintenance, but otherwise clean and comfortable. This is not an upscale hotel, but if you are looking for comfortable, clean accommodations at a reasonable price, this will do very well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Denver, Colorado

Captain Oliver's at Oyster Pond

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Pros: Location, views, service, restaurant, pool.
Cons: Repair boardwalks to provide complete access.
Location: Walk on marina docks, drive to or take their shuttle to Dawn Beach, drive around island in rental car, visit Orient Beach.
We had an "ocean view" looking out to the entrance to the harbor. From our deck we watched boats going through the narrow channel. The pool was very nice, but not shallow for children. Restaurant had delicious food and romantic atmosphere. There were other nearby restaurants to choose from. Very reasonably priced compared to other places on the island, and only 45 minutes drive from the airport. I'm glad we did not choose a place in or near Phillipsburg. The exotic animals, except two macaws no longer there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Fort-de-France

Hôtel agréable

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Hôtel calme, bien entretenu. Nous avons été surclassés. Chambre agréable et spacieuse avec une très jolie vue sur l'océan.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Montréal, Québec

Captain Olivers Resort & Marina

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Pros: L'espace et la vue sur la mer
Cons: Rénovation complète
Location: Raisonnablement proches/éloignées (mais l'île est petite)
Excellent accueil. Hôtel très propre et très bien équipé, mais les équipements paraissent assez anciens: l'hôtel mériterait d'être complètement rénové
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom new york, NY

amazing view and safer place

Posted Apr 12, 2015
The view was amazing but the condition of the room is no good!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Austin, Tx

Great value!

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: One the French side (therefore more fun). Beautiful views from our room and great breakfast at the small Marina.
Cons: The Parrot was a little loud...
Location: Small French restaurants, hike on top of the hill for fabulous view.
We stayed there before our cruise because of the price and were surprised how great that hotel was. Staff was very friendly and the room quite large. I would recommend this hotel .
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom toronto, canada

On the ocean

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Very run down. Looks like it has not been maintained for years. Water never got warm enough for a shower. Knob for shower came off when I tried to turn it on. Mirror on wall was rusted. Closet door was off its track. Door to toilet room could not close. Didn't feel clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

GREAT VALUE!

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: QUIET LOCATION WITH SECURITY AND ONSITE RESTAURANTS AND SHOPS.
Cons: CONDITION OF FACILITIES
Location: GET OUT AND SEE THE FRIENDLY ISLAND
OUR STAY AT CAPTAIN OLIVER'S WAS GREAT. WE WERE RECEIVED AT THE FRONT DESK BY FRIENDLY STAFF. WE EXCHANGED OUR BEACH TOWELS OFTEN AND WERE ALLOWED TO USE THE HOTEL PHONE FREE OF CHARGE TO TRACK DOWN OUR LOST LUGGAGE DUE TO AMERICAN AIRLINES. OUR ROOM WAS CLEANED DAILY AT OUR REQUEST BY PLACING NOTICE ON DOOR. A FEW DAYS WE SLEPT IN AND THOUGHT WE MISSED OUR CLEANING. THE STAFF PROMPTLY CLEANED OUR ROOM AND BROUGHT US FRESH LINENS DAILY. WHEN WE USE OUR TIME SHARE WE NEVER GET THAT SERVICE. ALSO WE WERE EXPECTING A CHARGE FOR ELECTRIC BUT IT WAS INCLUDED IN THE PRICE WHICH WAS GREAT. WE HAD AN OCEAN FRONT ROOM WHICH HAD AMAZING VIEWS. THE IGUANA BAR WAS OPEN AND WE ENJOYED THE ENGLISH SPEAKING BARTENDER. THE HOTEL IS STILL IN DISREPAIR FROM A HURRICANE IN OCTOBER BUT BESIDES THAT NO ISSUES. A RENTAL CAR IS A MUST AND THE ISLAND IS SAFE IF YOU USE COMMON SENSE. I WOULD ADVISE A RENTAL CAR BOOKED THOUGH EXPEDIA. THEY TRYED TO CHARGE ME MORE AND WHEN I TOLD THEM THAT'S OK I WILL BOOK IT ONLINE WE SETTLED ON A SLIGHTLY HIGHER RATE THAN EXPEDIA. OVERALL GREAT ISLAND EXPERIENCE OTHER THAN THE DISORGANIZED AIRLINE ISSUES. WILL BOOK AGAIN!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle

Excellent for Before/After Sailing

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: Great Restaurant, pub and small stores nearby
Location: Taxi to other islands leaves from this facility. Best for coming and going off your charter.
Chartered out of Oyster Pond. This was a great pre/post hotel.