Ratings based on 139 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York

hotel with potential, good location

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Grounds poorly maintained, front desk staff the worse, no manners unwilling to help, unfriendly. There was one older male staffer who could not have been nicer or any more helpful. The females need attitude adjustment. I was very upset when I returned home and found my Ray ban sunglasses were remove from their case while at the hotel. Unfortunately all fingers point to housecleaning . Close to the beach and gated community were nice aspects. Bottom line they need to teach basic customer service and spruce up the grounds.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Illinois

Esmeralda Resort at Orient Beach

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Pros: Each unit of 4 rooms has it's own private swimming pool.
Cons: The rooms need a comfortable sitting chair.
This was our tenth or so stay at Esmeralda. It is at the "quieter" end of Orient; away from Pedro's bar where all of the cruise passengers get dropped off. The Coco beach restaurant is at the water side of the resort. The hotel has free use of the beach chairs at Coco beach facility. There are both topless and nude (only on weekdays and excluding French school holidays) sections at Coco. Our only complaint was the first room assigned us had an air conditioner that only blew warm air. It took 24 hours to get moved to a reassigned to a room with a functioning air conditioner.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Virginia

Review of Esmeralda

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Pros: Answered above
Cons: Answered above
Location: Great location....we enjoyed the little village close by, Pinel Island, Grand Case, and Le Galion beach
Great staff, wonderful location close to beach, the continental breakfast, while limited, was good and pleasantly presented and the food from breakfast menu was excellent and reasonable. The beach restarurant very nice, also, with good food. Our room was large and we had a very usable patio and pool. It was nice to have a fridge and microwave and an additional sink to use. On the negative....while there has been some renovation, more is needed. The mattresses were hard, linens old and worn as was the sparse kitchen equipment and trash cans. The toilet was difficult to flush. Furniture and art work need updating. There was no screen on one window and the air conditioner was loud. The mosquitos in the office area made it impossible to use their available WiFi. The staff, location, and patio were what made it pleasant for us, but I would not stay again due to the above negatives.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Experience

Posted Feb 7, 2015
Very nice & spacious suite, great service, & perfect location on Orient Beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Great location and beach access.

Posted Feb 6, 2015
Pros: Beach access and very clean rooms. Great "rain" shower!
Cons: TV is definitely too small. Approximately a 19" TV and very hard to see when in bed in such a large room. Another chair needed (sofa or love seat)
Location: Great restaurants in Orient Village, a short walk away. Le Piment is a must!
Our fourth stay at Esmeralda and we will go back. Can't beat the location and rooms are fairly comfortable compared to other places we have stayed on the island. We love the restaurant and the proximity to the beach. The restaurant is great for breakfast and outstanding for dinner although a little pricey. The room is large and clean although it would be nice to have a sofa or love seat. Only two simple chairs in the room. TV really needs to be upgraded to something larger and internet access,even with paying for WIFI in the room was very inconsistent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Akron, Ohio

Nice Hotel On Best Beach

Posted Feb 4, 2015
Pros: It was in a gated area that provided plenty of good restaurants and beach activities.
Cons: All laundry service had to be sent out which was expensive. They should have a central laundry service for their quests.
Location: We enjoyed the butterfly farm close by. We did not venture out of the resort much.
Enjoyed our stay very much. The hotel beach club is first class. There are plenty of beach chase lounges and umbrellas to choose. The beach boys assigned to the club will provide you with any drink our food item you need from the adjacent Coco Beach Restaurant. Your bill will be charged to your room and you will have one bill at the end of you trip at check out. The beach is rated the best on St. Martin and it is the best. There are no sudden drop offs or under tows. The bottom is all sand with no coral or rocks. There are some waves to contend with as you enter the water, but not bad.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Excellent hotel and location, highly recomended orient bay beach, very comfortable rooms with pool
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Bel endroit !

Posted Nov 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
En voyage d'affaires et grâce à une promotion, j'ai séjourné dans cet hôtel que mon budget ne permet habituellement pas. Les chambres sont correctes et correspondent au prix payé. Le personnel de la réception est très sympa et l'endroit est très charmant. Par contre, le restaurant ASTROLABE, même si sa cuisine est représentative de la gastronomie française, aurait tendance à pousser à la consommation, confondant peut être un peu le style de clientèle. Il est vrai que la plupart des clients sont américains en quête de découverte de la ''vraie'' cuisine, mais ce n'est pas une raison pour confondre conseil et gavage de propositions coûteuses. N'empêche, le chef est très bon et si vous vous en maintenez à des choses raisonnables, vous serez ravis. L'accès gratuit à la plage est également agréable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Cons: more furniture in room and one more suitcase rack
had a very nice stay. plan to stay here in the future
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Charlotte, NC

Good Stay

Posted Nov 2, 2014
Pros: Our private pool and our room was comfy. Nice to have a fridge, microwave, and coffee maker in the room.
Cons: Restaurant and bar staff
Location: Go to 2+2 Chillii Peppers!!
Hotel as well as the rest of the island had some serious hurricane damage, but staff was busy cleaning up. We loved having a pool pretty much to ourselves!! Stayed in 552 and if you stay there, take care of our little adopted calico kitten, Ginger. She likes tuna cat food!!