Ratings based on 153 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston Texas

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Love having own pool with room. Fridge & sink very helpful. Staff super nice and beach with beach boy service was perfect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto,ON,Canada

Location, location, location

Posted Jun 20, 2015
Have stayed here 4 times and you can't beat the location and the beach access + privelages at the beach restaurants. Staff are super, private pools, beautiful views, awesome outdoor space, fridge and kitchenette. Clean, well maintained facility. What else could you need? We've been in St Martin 7 times and stayed here 4 ... Need I say more?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, New York

Great Hotel, Great Location!

Posted Apr 25, 2015
Pros: Location, beautiful grounds, proximity to beach and restaurants
Cons: Great just the way it was!
Location: Beaches, restaurants, shops in walking distance.
I stayed here the week of 4/20 and I had a wonderful experience. Friendly staff, clean room (great AC and privacy) and great proximity to the beach and restaurants. The French restaurant at the hotel was excellent for breakfast and dinner and CoCo Beach had the best drinks, and lunch, in addition to being just beautiful! Friendly staff at restaurants and hotel. Just a great experience. I would definitely return!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baltimore, MD

Spring 2015

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: Relaxing atmosphere.
Cons: Free wifi would be helpful.
Location: Spend the day at Orient Beach, enjoy the restaurants, visit the Butterfly farm (a must).
This was our 13th trip to St. Martin, 11 times we have stayed at the Esmeralda. It was beautiful there this year, the grounds were well kept, the breakfast and breakfast staff are friendly and we loved our room in which we walked right out to the pool. Can't wait to return in 2016.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

A little pricey but a good stay

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Pros: Great location near the beach.
Location: Pedro's! It's a good walk down the beach but completely worth it! If you want to go shopping then take a visit to Front Street.
It's near the beach and located away from the more crowded areas of the beach which was exactly what I was looking for. I called the day before to give them notice of my early arrival and was able to get a room with no problems before the official check in time. (Thanks Audrey!). The porter Chris was wonderful as well. The Continental breakfast was definitely the basics and it came with the room so about what you would expect. We opted to order off the menu as well and you must get the french toast. It's outstanding! Room service was very quick. Our time on the beach was pleasant. There were always chairs and umbrellas available and the "beach boys" with the hotel were very attentive. The food and drink were pricey but acceptable. For a real treat of local cuisine, take a walk down to Pedro's. The taxi driver had recommended it and when the porter made the same suggestion I definitely had to try it. Amazing food! The best chicken off the grill I've ever tasted. Seriously, you have to try the food! There were a few minor negative items of note. The shawl given to me by my godchildren was destroyed by moths. It was in the closet my entire stay and came out looking like Swiss cheese. I shared the room with a friend and when she arrived late one night (around 9:00 pm) the hostess on duty was not very helpful and rude. My overall experience with the hotel is positive and I would definitely recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cape Cod

Walking distance to Coco Beach

Posted Mar 19, 2015
Pros: The privacy and the porches. Having access to Orient Beach every day is a blessing...it is so beautiful.
Cons: The tile floor is hard on bare feet every day. There are no rugs. Bring slippers.
Location: You are walking distance to Orient Village which has restaurants as good or better than those in Grand Case which is a 10 minute ride away.
The food at Astrolabe restaurant on the premises is exceptional and the service is professional and prompt. Breakfast was excellent every day. The entire resort is picturesque and quiet. The staff is quick to respond to requests and questions if you use good manners and smile! Use the pools..they are fun after a day at the beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from aix en provence

hotel parfait

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Pros: CALME DISCRETION CONFORT
Cons: le debit d'eau laisse a désirer dans la salle de bain et aux toilettes
Location: quartier sécurisé et calme ,plusieurs et bons restaurants sur la place voisine d'orient baie. a voir ilet pinel ,anse marcel c'est tout proche.
hotel parfait ,pas une grosse capacité d'accueil, proche de la plage,tres bon accueil, chambre ,parfaitement agencée ,piscine pour 4 chambres.PARFAIT
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

5 Nights, Orient Beach Area is a great location!

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: Location near Orient Beach; Restaurants and Bars along the immediate string of beaches; Beach guy services; Room is clean, grounds are clean;
Cons: Reception Staff attitude; Beach Bar staff attitude, especially the bartender; Room furniture and general layout is pathetic; Continental Breakfast;
Location: Orient Beach - entire area is great;
First the positives: Great location on the island, beaches and wonderful. Read reviews prior to booking with regard to the staff attitude and condition of the grounds. I sincerely thought the grounds were kept up well, absolutely not a problem. I did not find the grounds to be "outdated" or "run down" as I had read. It's an island for Pete's sake - salt air wreaks havoc on buildings. The string of beaches, bars and restaurants and "The Village" was altogether a great area. I've been on the island 3x before, 1st time at Esmeralda and on the French side. Negatives: Staffing Reception during check in was lethargic, apathetic, unaccommodating. I did speak to the Assistant Manager - I knew she "got it", in terms of customer. The bartender at Coco Beach was rude. I felt at times he was making fun of the customers in a mocking manner. The attitude of the bar staff was much to be desired - I ordered lunch during a rainstorm one afternoon - Calamari, some other hot appetizer and a Caesar Salad. The appetizers were frozen, the salad dressing tasted similar to coleslaw dressing - completely gross. I didn't touch most of it and the waitress never inquired as to why. I am not a picky eater but was grossed out. Beach guys were service oriented, cordial. Morning continental was average at best - same stuff right down to the lousy corn flakes every morning. Mix it up for goodness sakes - I know you guys want to upsell other food, but come on! Not recommended b/c of staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Abaixo da média

Posted Mar 6, 2015 on Hotels
Tive um problema com o cofre e tive que aguardar até a manhã seguinte para resolver A fechadura do quarto é muito antiga e dá muito problema O quarto estava com o chão molhado da limpeza mal feita e cheio de pernilongos
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albany, NY

Best on Orient Beach

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Pros: Un-intrusive, quiet and accommodating.
Cons: The front desk was a little informal but all of our requests were met.
Location: There is a small beach community with many varieties of stores and restaurants. It is an easy walk to the beach and other resort properties.
There was a pristine pool for every four bungalow units. It was a quick walk to the beach with "free"-comfortable lounge chairs and attentive beach boys (that was the name on their shirts). The continental breakfast was unexpected located in the high-end restaurant on the property. Dinners at the hotel restaurant were exquisite. We went off property once to do an investigative pub crawl but found ourselves back at the hotel restaurant for our dinner.