Ratings based on 709 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Point Pleasant Beach, NJ

Great Location

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: The location is great! Raymond, one of the beach boys was charming!
Cons: Housekeeping, and their housekeeping policies, really need to be amped up if they want to charge hotel style rates!
Location: Central location in Simpson Bay, several things to do within walking distance. This is an amazing island, rent a car, get out and explore!
We have stayed here several times, usually as timeshare, this time as a hotel style guest. The biggest problem I had with this resort is the fact that they treat every guest as a timeshare guest. Our stay was for 11 nights, we were only scheduled for 3 housekeeping visits in 11 nights, however, it gets better. We received two housekeeping visits in all of 11 nights, completely unacceptable considering we paid over $225 a night. The staff was pleasant, but does not make up for this lack of service, due to the complete lack of service we even ran oout of toilet paper! Wrong!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Philadelphia, Pa

Great views of a beautiful beach!

Posted Jan 18, 2015
Overall we had a nice stay at the Flamingo, the hotel grounds and room were very well kept. The only downfall was check in; it is brutal! This is the worst I've experienced, way too long to simply check in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Expedia made a mistake - we couldn't check in on the right date as the hotel was overbooked. Had to live in a different hotel for 3 days. Flamingo is great though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 8, 2015
The hotel was nice. The rooms are a little dated but the bed was very comfortable. The only issue I had is that the elevator did not work going to the fifth floor. This meant that I had to walk to one end of the hotel and take the elevator to the fourth floor then walk to the other end of the hotel and walk to the fifth. this became very annoying after the first day and especially during check-in and check-out with four large suitcases.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom British Columbia, Canada

Not wanted unless you're staying a while

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Pros: The room itself was nice.
Cons: Check in policies. Check out accuracy.
Location: Under the flight path for the airport. Didn't explore the immediate area much but saw at least two XXX rated strip clubs on road near hotel.
We booked this hotel in March for one night during the Christmas holidays (which meant we paid a premium price) as a nice way to spend a day while meeting flight arrangements. We booked the second best category or room. Upon arrival we were repeatedly told we couldn't check in yet as "our room wasn't ready". After 5 HOURS of waiting the gentleman at the front desk told us that they were placing multi-day reservations into any rooms that came available first, and since we were just there for one day we were being made to wait. When we were finally given a room they told us there was an extra "resort fee" that they were placing on our credit card. Then, at check out, they tried to charge us for the room again despite it being pre-paid. I had to show them my Expedia confirmation email. The gentleman at the front desk took a photocopy of it and said he'd leave the charges on my credit card but would have the manager "look into" the charges. Two days later I finally had to call for a confirmation that the charges had been removed. So, while the facilities are nice the policies of this Diamonds International resort are not. Oh, and it's under the flight path for all the planes leaving the airport and our room balcony was within 20 feet of a major road so it was not very peaceful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Cambridge MA

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Six wonderful nights at the Flamingo. No real complaints. They do need to fix Elevator #1. Some parts of the facility are a bit dated. The beaches at the complex are really nice. Simpson's Bay area is central and has lots to do and places to eat. I would definitely recommend this hotel to families of young and old.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom j

Pool, beach, good restaurant few feet from room

Posted Jan 1, 2015
We had a king suite that was very well laid out, lots of space, quality appliances, friendly staff, reasonable prices in bar/ restaurant, would definitely recommend. Only complaint is our balcony had no ocean or good views, but we booked last minute during Christmas week when the whole island is booked up!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom thunder bay ontario

Great place on the beach

Posted Dec 23, 2014
Loved it. So clean huge room with kitchenette would go back for sure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom St. Kitts and Nevis

Non Ocean view by choice

Posted Dec 22, 2014
Pros: Spaciousness, quiet, washer and dryer.
Cons: I found the room too cold all the time, I turned off the A/C the day I arrived and even after a week it would never get warmer than 73.
Location: Dining, casino, cafe's, grocery store, scuba diving, gym, pool, lots of restaurants on the main road.
I was very surprised at the size of the unit, I selected one that did not have ocean view, I already live on an island with ocean view. The building is away from the main ocean front hotel, near the tennis court. Unit, had large kitchen area, with 4 burner electric stove, full size refrigerator, dish washer, microwave, cooking dishes and utensils. Pull out sleeper couch, 4 chair dining table, in the living room area (part of the kitchen area). The outside porch with table and chairs, I was on the shady side of the building so no sun bathing option. Bedroom was large with King size bed, 2 night stands, dresser and TV. Stackable washer and dryer in closet, large closet with safe. Bathroom was large as well, with large walk in shower. I spent most of my time away from the hotel and didn't use any of the facilities other than Toppers restaurant on the ocean side, pretty good food, semi-reasonable priced, quick service. I would go back there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 21, 2014
Excellent staff and facility. Highly recommend.