Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great View, Relaxing, and Friendly Service

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Pros: The decor, the staff, the breakfast, nice pool.
We stayed only one night, but really enjoyed it. I would have liked to stay longer, but we had to get back home. The shuttle service was great to get to the beach or to the local restaurants. The view from the pool and our room was beautiful and the staff was very friendly. The room was comfortable and in good shape. The hotel is small and you get personalized service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ray from Maryland

Great Vacation

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: The staff and the view.
Cons: rooms could be updated little more
Location: The beach down the hill was nice but does not compare to some of the other beaches on the island, grand case is close by.
The place was great, and the staff was even better. Its very quiet and secluded compared to other hotels on the island, but the staff is what makes this place so great. They were very accommodating and very knowledgable as to what to do and where to go on the island.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by AS from Mexico

Romantic and quiet

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: Romantic, quiet, beautiful view
Location: Fantastic location, one of the best views from your room in the island
Small hotel, personal attention and friendly staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Thomas from CT

Nicely located hotel, private atmosphere

Posted Mar 9, 2014
My wife and I stayed for a week at the Marquis and very much enjoyed the tranquility of the place, the friendliness of the staff and the personal atmosphere. We don't like big resorts and all inclusive places and this one was just perfect for us. The hotel itself could use some TLC by European standards, but everything was working fine. The view over the little bay of Anse Marcel is beautiful and makes breakfast on the terrace a special treat. The area is of the beaten path and if you seek action and nightlife, this is the wrong place and part of the island. For some romantic and relaxing getaway it is a great spot. Make sure that you have a car, because the food choices in the immediate vicinity are somewhat limited. But Grand Case is not even 10 minutes by car and the effect perfect place to get away from American fast food and chain 'restaurants'. Plenty of choices and one is better than the other. We dined our way down the road during the week. Service could pick up a little, but the food was great. Fresh seafood for fine dining experience as well as 'Lolo's' with more basic but great and lively choices. Try the "Funseaker Tour" as a getaway to see Anguilla and other places for snorkeling with turtles and rays or just hang out and enjoy beautiful beaches. They leave from Anse Marcel and it was the best day of our vacation and worth every penny. Friendly, personal, without being importunate, just fun.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Doug from Phoenix, AZ

Worth the trouble to get to

Posted Feb 4, 2014
Pros: Size, location, friendliness of staff.
Cons: Not much. Can't change access road.
Location: Good nearby beach. Excellent local restaurants, some served by hotel shuttle. Islans is not large, so nothing much more than an hour away.
Very nice small hotel, not right on the beach, but with convenient beach access, to one of the best beaches we saw on St. Martin. A little challenge to get to. Pretty much have to have car, although hotel does have included shuttle to beach and near-by restaurants. Road somewhat difficult, especially at night. Well worth it however, as long as comfortable driving. Would definately stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by Julia and Samia from Montreal, Quebec

Beautiful hotel... But you will need a car!

Posted Aug 28, 2013
Pros: Staff member Nina is an absolute doll and will accommodate guests in every way possible. We cannot say enough positive things about this girl.
Cons: Breakfast was overpriced, especially for what was offered.
Location: Rent a car and stay at this hotel for a quiet, cozy, home-away-from-home experience while exploring the island's offerings by day.
We are two 23 year old girls, and stayed at the Marquis Hotel for one week in August 2013. We were very pleased with our experience, particularly with the quality of service received from the staff. The most notable aspect of the Marquis is the size of the rooms and the gorgeous views from the spacious terraces. There were absolutely no issues in terms of comfort, however one should know that noisy winds at night can be alleviated by opening the sliding doors a crack - something we realized after a couple of sleepless nights. Further, it is important to note that the Marquis is situated atop a rather steep hill, and if you are planning on exploring the island (as we most certainly were) you will most definitely need a car. The hotel arranged for a car rental, but we suggest comparing prices prior to arriving in St. Martin. If you happen to be a boring person by nature (not judging) and intend on staying at the hotel, Anse Marcel beach is a 3 minute drive down the hill via the hotel's shuttle service which runs until 10:30pm. There are a few restaurants there, however we HIGHLY recommend exploring the island for better dining opportunities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Michele

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by lorraine from canada

an oasis of peace and relaxation at the marquis

Posted Feb 15, 2013
Pros: the provencal atmosphere the great service and the sea view
Cons: none
Location: in the hills not easy to find first time
it is a little oasis of calm peace with a great staff who made my wife and i feel like family the hotel is a real boutique hotel in the best sense of the word the rooms airy and large the furnishings simple and tasteful and the breakfast of croissants and pain chocolate and baguette with freshly squeezed orange juice baguettes and coffee made our morning after a swim at the small but clean pool.. it is stuck on a hill side at the north end of st martin with a great view of the sea below yet only a few minutes car ride to their private beach. it is some distance away from the livelier areas of the island so if you want to go a disco it may not be your choice and driving at nite at the narrow and twisting roads can be tricky.. we expect to return as soon as we can...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Our seven night stay...

Posted Jan 15, 2013
View from room is great. You have to have a car to do anything. Bathrooms are poor at best, old and dated, no shower curtain, hence, no photos on the web-site. Bed was old and uncomfortable with flat euro pillows. The walk to the beach has to be done in a car if you are carrying anything. It is a bit misleading from the website, they do not have their own fitness center, restaurant, bar, or beach. You are really using the facilities of other hotels, and paying for them. We did breakfast once, coffee, fruit and breads, was okay, you will be charged for it. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful, making dinner reservations for us and giving good advice. Again, the view was outstanding!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 2, 2012 on Hotels.com