Ratings based on 542 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Caribbean

anniversary and birthday celebration with family

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Pros: friendly and hard working staff, nice beach, good food, spacious room, quiet and romantic place
Cons: Bathrooms features and cleanness details should be improve More comfortable pillows will be nice.
Location: We rent a car. The location is 20 minutes from Airport. We explored the Island. I was looking for "no civilization" or non-noises places.
We are celebrating our 24 wedding anniversary and my birthday with our kids and sister in law's family. Staff arrange for champagne in our rooms as a welcome gift. The beach is crystalline, a lot of fish and nice temperature. The culinary experience was GOOD and service was spectacular.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Nice hotel with a quiet & clean beach

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Pros: Variety
Cons: Hours of shows and spa
I left another hotel hoping to enjoy a better experience: I was not disappointed... Lovely beach in a bay (no waves) and clean water (no seaweed) + fish swimming around! Beautiful pool with warm water! Very good food with extremely diverse options (many restaurants with themes), but closed earlier than supposed to! Even entertainment (singer & show)... Spa was disappointing though (hours & services)! Overall, I enjoyed resting there for 18hours and have recommended it to friends with children (because of safe beach, nice pool and entertainment!)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Beautiful beach

Posted Jul 21, 2015
The best part of this hotel was the beach which is why we chose it...excellent location, calm, clear beautiful water. The pool was nice too. Bars had good drinks. Buffets had good food with plenty of options but I think they could have done better with fish selections and preparation. Our room was very clean and well stocked with toiletries and beverages. We really enjoyed the entertainment at night. Overall we had a great stay. Riu does mention that Riu 'Palace' is used for branding purposes which is true. This is not the gigantic palace type of place one would expect from a Riu Palace but this is a great smaller type of place to come for relaxation. It felt more like a high end beach cottage type of resort. That being said, although we loved our stay and it was a pretty place, it was a bit pricey. Still, I would recommend it to others; just go when you can get a deal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lords Valley PA

Gorgeous grounds, close to beach, pool was huge

Posted Jul 18, 2015
Grounds were beautiful both in day light & wonderfully lit up at night. Food was good always something new on menu. Staff great. Room was CLEAN
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from westchester, NY

A bit disappointed

Posted Jul 16, 2015
Pros: The food was really good, with a nice selection at every meal.
Cons: The grounds could be kept better. All the grass was dead, and the grounds were sloppy.
Location: There was nothing nearby. To get to anything (shopping, etc.), you had to take a $45 taxi ride to the Dutch side.
I was a bit taken back by the island. Although many of the Caribbean islands are poor, this one was unsightly. The French side was dirty and sloppy, whereas the Dutch side was more pleasant to the eye.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Posted Jul 15, 2015
Pros: Food was great!
Location: This hotel is pretty far from town.
My overall experience was great. Friendly, attentive staff. Awesome, fresh food everyday! My only complaint is the water pressure in the room. One morning there was about an hour wait for water. We mentioned this to management, and they were already working on the issue. That was the only time that we had a water problem. Nevertheless, great stay!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Disappointed

Posted Jul 14, 2015
Pros: beach calm water not crowded
Cons: everything else above.
Location: nothing nearby, nothing to do except beach
Beach is good. Guests are higher end and polite. No fighting for space on beach, guests all offer space, smile, etc. Your not getting $500 for 5 night type of guests. Small Rooms. Ants. Mosquitoes. Reptile in room. AC broke down middle of night. Hotel far from the 'city'. Staff genuinely unhappy. Won't park your car or carry your bags out. Restaurants- 1 buffet and 3 'booking' restaurants. Arrive in PM, told you can only book restaurants in the AM, and 2 nights in advance. So we booked 5 nights, but only got to book 2 restaurants. What a scam. What's the big deal with that anyways? Make guests line-up and beg for a table. Very low class mentality. I am done with going to caribbeans. Only asia from now on.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the beach.

Posted Jul 10, 2015
Over all we had a very relaxing experience. Grounds lacked some attention...very dry. Not lush or green. Buildings could use fresh coat of paint. Food was great. Difficult getting into restaurant of your choice. Arrangement should be made for travelers arriving late for a fresh meal. Staff was very friendly!! We would revisit and recommend to friends and family.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Staunton, VA

Disappointing vacation

Posted Jul 9, 2015
Pros: The sea is great, calm and clean.
Cons: Service needs to be improved and the facility needs to be imrpoved. The grass is dead, the pathways are falling apart, the beach umbrella are broken..
Location: It is located in a remote place, far away from the town. You can rent a boat and go to close islands. You can also rent a car and go to town.
We stayed at the Riu St. Martin from 6/29 until 7/6. It is NOT a REAL Riu hotel (I have been to the Punta Cana Riu and Cancun Riu) but the price is. We were a group of 6 adults and a baby. The hotel looks ok and it's fairly clean (except for the ants in my room) but the terrible thing about it is the service. The people that work there do NOTHING to make your stay desirable. They did nothing about the ants in my room (even though I complained about it a couple of times, and I got really mad when the ants got to my baby's formula). The did nothing when we complained (multiple times) about the tv not working, the sleep number bed remote not working, and the air conditioning can only go to a certain temperature and they will do nothing if you feel like you would like a colder temperature. Anything you ask for is a NO answer (I asked for a ziplock bag so the ants would not go into my baby's formula and they simply said NO, they didn't have it). Trying to make reservations for the specialty restaurant is a nightmare (the restaurants were really good, by he way, but the service was, once again, terrible): you have to get in line at 9 am each morning (because you can only reserve 2 days in advance, not before, not after), and often they tell you the restaurant is full (and if you check at night, the restaurant is quite empty). The best thing about this place is the sea, the water is clean and calm (despite the wind everyday). The umbrellas are mostly broken and no beach service.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Mediocre hotel, poor customer service

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Moderate level of cleansliness, staff are not attentive to guests, although the hotel boasts it was open in 2014... The buildings are over 30 yrs old and are semi renovated- I expected a newer fresher decor so the hotels rooms and hallways would not feel so dated- the carpets need to be ripped out and replaced, the lobby floor always looks dirty no matter how much they clean it. The reception desk needs more staff... I waited in line to check in with 1 person at the desk. There was no service offered to take my bags to my room- I had to find my way to the room. I expected better service and better accommodations in keeping with what I thought were the standards of a RIU branded hotel.... I am very disappointed!!