Ratings based on 117 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by Mary from Northern NY

Nice location. Not as bad as some of the reviews

Posted Feb 23, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: Management needs to get involved (or changed!) and work out small problems with running the place.
Location: Beaches. Golf course. Shopping mall.
Many little issues. Leaking air conditioner. Broken ice maker. Getting ice was like asking them to give up their first born child. Front desk people were ok considering all the issues people were complaining about. Pool was great. Beach bar/restaurant was good. The Saphire is not a place for young people. If the hotel's front desk had items like toilet paper, towels, utensils etc available to them(instead of calling house keeping) I think that many problems would be soled and resolved quickly. House keeping took a long time to deliver- 2 days to get a toaster. One man had waited 3 days for toilet paper. No kidding! Overall it was an ok place to stay. I am not sure if I would go back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Smelly and old

Posted Dec 22, 2013
Pros: Price
Cons: Need to renovate
Only stayed one night. Hotel is old and had rotten egg smell because if it's location near bay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Baltimore

Be careful what you buy

Posted Nov 20, 2013
Pros: The view
Cons: Fix the place up and do not rent out rooms that were not ready
Location: There is a beach right by the hotel and a new mall is un-officially open.
We came in to the hotel after 4pm, and were assigned a room that was a mess. No sheets were on the beds, the refrigerator gone, the floors were dirty with stuff thrown all over it. We went straight back down and Front Desk gave us another room which was nice. We tried to make a phone call but there was no dial tone. Took the elevator back to Front Desk who wrote a request for repair. I was down daily throughout the stay asking for a phone line. I told them that I am not staying in the hotel for free and all I got was a smile. We were allowed to use the lobby phone to make a call. The fitness room is a wreck. Most of the machines are broken, and parts are all over the floor. If I hadn't pre-paid, I wouldn't have paid them the full quoted price, and I do expect Expedia to do so on our behalf. The only thing positive are the cleaning ladies who are cheerful and smiley.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Larry from Miami

Disappointing

Posted Nov 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
Between lobby construction and no wifi in rooms, and general poor condition of hotel, was not worth the admittedly cheap price. Guess you get what you pay for....
2 out of 5
by GD from NY

A BIG DUMP

Posted Nov 15, 2013
Pros: The only thing about this hotel that I liked was that the water pressure is good.
Cons: This hotel needs a whole over hall. Full renovation from top to bottom.
Location: Location is great. Close to shops.
My room smelled moldy, the pillows lumpy and I can not describe the bed covers. except to say NASTY. Luckily I brought my own just in case sheet set which I used every night. I could not put that the bed linens on my skin I don’t think they were ever washed. I know, I am not hard to please but, my goodness this is a hotel clean it up even if it is stuck in the 60's. The name should be changed to DUMP. I had one very small soap through out the duration of my stay for 2 people. Luckily my stay was short. If it was longer I would have to check out of this hotel and go some place else.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Olivier from Guadeloupe

Weekend at St Maarten

Posted Nov 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
Horrible stay at Sapphire ! Room smelt mildew, no view then I reserved a ocean view room (1st floor !), very bad condition, no towels in bathroom, poor service. DON'T GO THERE !!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Everything was "closed for renovation"

Posted Oct 18, 2013
Pros: remote location - quiet
The A/C was barely functional and no other buildings or rooms available due to renovation, WIFI router missing for the floor - cables dangling from the ceiling, the cafe closed for renovation. Staff explained the situation with a shrug of shoulders
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fair deal for price paid

Posted Oct 14, 2013
Pros: Price.
Cons: Replace beds. Plant some type of mosquito repelling plants around lobby area as at night it is unbearable to sit and access WiFi.
Sapphire is an older facility that does need renovation and perhaps having Beach in the name is sort of misleading. However, the staff were pleasant and very accommodating when I needed to change rooms due to a minor issue. The rooms are clean but hallways are not well lit.The beds have definielty seen better days. All in all though for the Priceprice paid compared to other facilities in St. Maarten/St. Martin I feel I got what I paid for.
2 out of 5
by guy from Texas

under construction

Posted Oct 13, 2013
the sapphire is under construction so the ac does not work and the restaurant is closed. rooms need to be renovated they are very dated
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location

Posted Oct 2, 2013
Conveniently located airport restaurants club's. Quiet setting.