Ratings based on 122 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Anguilla

Nice Hotel for the price and the space

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: The size of the rooms very family orietnted
Cons: The condition
Location: The location is good not too far from anything.
I have stayed at this hotel before and it was good so i rebooked for my short trip. The floor i was on had an odor like the hotel was closed down and not aired out whether fresh breeze or air condition for a while and the room had the same odor. The morning of my check out there was no running water. Overall the rooms were spacious just the scent of being closed and not aired and no water was disappointing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 19, 2014
The hotel is well situated, the staff is very friendly and helpful, the beach is walking distance away, so is the Blue Mall. There is some need of renovation but this does not affect the overall satisfaction of the stay.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Disappointed from Canada

Posted Mar 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel room was not set up - no tv in room, no dvd in room, no coffee maker in room, no pictures for walls, hot tub on balcony not filled with water and not working for entire stay (most hot tubs in hotel had the same issue !!), tower two elevator not working and hasn't been for months, fitness centre gym had all cables snapped on workout equipment, no hot water one day, no water at all another day, toilets wouldn't flush, shower water pressure so low that shower would not stay on without holding shower/tub switch continuously, huge rust patches inside fridge, took three days for a manager to met with me about issues despite repeated requests at front desk to talk to her, would not take credit card at bar - had to pay bar bill at front desk- very inconvenient, pillows and bed likely as old as hotel (24 years old), pool side hot tub not working and hasn't been for months, 2 bottles of liquor stolen from my room by staff or someone else, other than all of this, the hotel was fine (LOL) - on the plus side, the new management says that they are going to renovate but have to invest considerably for the lack of maintenance over the last 24 years. BIG TASK AHEAD OF THEM. Ask for tower one if you feel inclined to risk booking at this hotel (some of it has been renovated though that is subjective as well !!) Good luck, folks !!
3 out of 5
by Mary from Northern NY

Nice location. Not as bad as some of the reviews

Posted Feb 23, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: Management needs to get involved (or changed!) and work out small problems with running the place.
Location: Beaches. Golf course. Shopping mall.
Many little issues. Leaking air conditioner. Broken ice maker. Getting ice was like asking them to give up their first born child. Front desk people were ok considering all the issues people were complaining about. Pool was great. Beach bar/restaurant was good. The Saphire is not a place for young people. If the hotel's front desk had items like toilet paper, towels, utensils etc available to them(instead of calling house keeping) I think that many problems would be soled and resolved quickly. House keeping took a long time to deliver- 2 days to get a toaster. One man had waited 3 days for toilet paper. No kidding! Overall it was an ok place to stay. I am not sure if I would go back.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Mary Casey from Ontario Canada

The worst hotelI ever !!!!!

Posted Feb 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
staff not helpful--as though doing their job was doing me a favour--nasty people. The room was filthy and had a terrible odour. The pillows on the bed were disgusting--I bought my own. When I arrived there was no phone in the room. The AC barely worked and I had to have one hand on the shower knob to keep the shower running. The TV did not work and did the kitchen cabinets were dirty. I asked for a better room and they said they had nothing. There was no phone in the room---they gave me a plain phone that should not have been used in a hotel room. Water leaked from the AC creating a puddle on the floor. I stayed in this place only two nights and the front desk would not give me any type of refund---I believed I would be refunded for the ten nights I did not stay there but alas nothing yet!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Maria from Dominican Republi

Excellent location

Posted Feb 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel has everything you need, excellent location, the hotel staff is very nice. Really the only complaints are the bed and pillows, and the breakfast is very poor!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Smelly and old

Posted Dec 22, 2013
Pros: Price
Cons: Need to renovate
Only stayed one night. Hotel is old and had rotten egg smell because if it's location near bay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Baltimore

Be careful what you buy

Posted Nov 20, 2013
Pros: The view
Cons: Fix the place up and do not rent out rooms that were not ready
Location: There is a beach right by the hotel and a new mall is un-officially open.
We came in to the hotel after 4pm, and were assigned a room that was a mess. No sheets were on the beds, the refrigerator gone, the floors were dirty with stuff thrown all over it. We went straight back down and Front Desk gave us another room which was nice. We tried to make a phone call but there was no dial tone. Took the elevator back to Front Desk who wrote a request for repair. I was down daily throughout the stay asking for a phone line. I told them that I am not staying in the hotel for free and all I got was a smile. We were allowed to use the lobby phone to make a call. The fitness room is a wreck. Most of the machines are broken, and parts are all over the floor. If I hadn't pre-paid, I wouldn't have paid them the full quoted price, and I do expect Expedia to do so on our behalf. The only thing positive are the cleaning ladies who are cheerful and smiley.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Larry from Miami

Disappointing

Posted Nov 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
Between lobby construction and no wifi in rooms, and general poor condition of hotel, was not worth the admittedly cheap price. Guess you get what you pay for....
2 out of 5
by GD from NY

A BIG DUMP

Posted Nov 15, 2013
Pros: The only thing about this hotel that I liked was that the water pressure is good.
Cons: This hotel needs a whole over hall. Full renovation from top to bottom.
Location: Location is great. Close to shops.
My room smelled moldy, the pillows lumpy and I can not describe the bed covers. except to say NASTY. Luckily I brought my own just in case sheet set which I used every night. I could not put that the bed linens on my skin I don’t think they were ever washed. I know, I am not hard to please but, my goodness this is a hotel clean it up even if it is stuck in the 60's. The name should be changed to DUMP. I had one very small soap through out the duration of my stay for 2 people. Luckily my stay was short. If it was longer I would have to check out of this hotel and go some place else.