Ratings based on 125 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad experience

Posted Nov 23, 2014
This was a horrible experience. Although the staff was okay the room was not up to par. Toilet didn't flush, towels were dirty, missing things in the room. Overall not satisfied
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Fairfield, Ct.

Good location

Posted Nov 6, 2014
Pros: The private hot tub on the balcony was a nice touch as was the large pool with water at a very comfortable temperature . Parking was close. The price.
Cons: Only one elevator was working and the staff seemed to use it like a carnival ride. The AC was the pits and all the restaurants and bars were closed.
Location: Atlantis Casino nearby, small poor beach on the property and you really need a car to go anywhere else on the island.
Saphire Beach Hotel left me with mixed emotions. On check in the desk clerk could not find my reservation. This was corrected by a supervisor only after I produced my Expedia receipt. The WIFI had to be purchased from a machine on the wall and only works on one device. The front desk can’t break a $50 and the machine only takes $10 and $20. You get pool towels from the desk and only after 10 am. The staff is a bit dyslexic and needs better structure as they don’t know the chain of command if one exist. Over all for the Oct. price it was OK but their high season rates are not worth it at all.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney, Australia

Good location but terrible hotel

Posted Nov 1, 2014
I stayed here for one night and my bad experience started at check in, when the receptionist was struggling to see my name on a check in list in front of her, when I pointed it out that I was on there, she apologised and then checked in. When I arrived in the room on the fifth floor, first impressions of the room looked good and seemed comfortable. However, when I went into the bathroom, there were no towels, bath mats, hand towels or flannelletes. I had to contact the reception THREE TIMES, as well as go down to the desk and visit twice looking for towels (the second time I went down to the desk at 7pm, I was told that the laundry was not done and there were no towels, surprising considering there were barely any guests staying there!). It was not until 10PM that I was issued just ONE TOWEL!!! Very disappointing. The kitchenette was dirty and the fridge was smelly and had mold growing inside, quite disgusting. Two lamps inside the room were not working due to non functioning power switches, terrible considering I was relying on them to work seeing as though there were no ceiling lights. There was no TV in the room, even though the guest services book claimed there was. Within the resort itself, there was supposed to be a mini mart, as well as a spa, bar and restaurant, however, none of these were open at all for my stay. Again, very disappointing! Overall, I believe that this was a very poor choice and not worth the money that I paid. I would like an apology.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Anguilla

Nice Hotel for the price and the space

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: The size of the rooms very family orietnted
Cons: The condition
Location: The location is good not too far from anything.
I have stayed at this hotel before and it was good so i rebooked for my short trip. The floor i was on had an odor like the hotel was closed down and not aired out whether fresh breeze or air condition for a while and the room had the same odor. The morning of my check out there was no running water. Overall the rooms were spacious just the scent of being closed and not aired and no water was disappointing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 19, 2014
The hotel is well situated, the staff is very friendly and helpful, the beach is walking distance away, so is the Blue Mall. There is some need of renovation but this does not affect the overall satisfaction of the stay.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Disappointedfrom Canada

Posted Mar 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel room was not set up - no tv in room, no dvd in room, no coffee maker in room, no pictures for walls, hot tub on balcony not filled with water and not working for entire stay (most hot tubs in hotel had the same issue !!), tower two elevator not working and hasn't been for months, fitness centre gym had all cables snapped on workout equipment, no hot water one day, no water at all another day, toilets wouldn't flush, shower water pressure so low that shower would not stay on without holding shower/tub switch continuously, huge rust patches inside fridge, took three days for a manager to met with me about issues despite repeated requests at front desk to talk to her, would not take credit card at bar - had to pay bar bill at front desk- very inconvenient, pillows and bed likely as old as hotel (24 years old), pool side hot tub not working and hasn't been for months, 2 bottles of liquor stolen from my room by staff or someone else, other than all of this, the hotel was fine (LOL) - on the plus side, the new management says that they are going to renovate but have to invest considerably for the lack of maintenance over the last 24 years. BIG TASK AHEAD OF THEM. Ask for tower one if you feel inclined to risk booking at this hotel (some of it has been renovated though that is subjective as well !!) Good luck, folks !!
3 out of 5
by Maryfrom Northern NY

Nice location. Not as bad as some of the reviews

Posted Feb 23, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: Management needs to get involved (or changed!) and work out small problems with running the place.
Location: Beaches. Golf course. Shopping mall.
Many little issues. Leaking air conditioner. Broken ice maker. Getting ice was like asking them to give up their first born child. Front desk people were ok considering all the issues people were complaining about. Pool was great. Beach bar/restaurant was good. The Saphire is not a place for young people. If the hotel's front desk had items like toilet paper, towels, utensils etc available to them(instead of calling house keeping) I think that many problems would be soled and resolved quickly. House keeping took a long time to deliver- 2 days to get a toaster. One man had waited 3 days for toilet paper. No kidding! Overall it was an ok place to stay. I am not sure if I would go back.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Mary Caseyfrom Ontario Canada

The worst hotelI ever !!!!!

Posted Feb 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
staff not helpful--as though doing their job was doing me a favour--nasty people. The room was filthy and had a terrible odour. The pillows on the bed were disgusting--I bought my own. When I arrived there was no phone in the room. The AC barely worked and I had to have one hand on the shower knob to keep the shower running. The TV did not work and did the kitchen cabinets were dirty. I asked for a better room and they said they had nothing. There was no phone in the room---they gave me a plain phone that should not have been used in a hotel room. Water leaked from the AC creating a puddle on the floor. I stayed in this place only two nights and the front desk would not give me any type of refund---I believed I would be refunded for the ten nights I did not stay there but alas nothing yet!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Mariafrom Dominican Republi

Excellent location

Posted Feb 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel has everything you need, excellent location, the hotel staff is very nice. Really the only complaints are the bed and pillows, and the breakfast is very poor!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Smelly and old

Posted Dec 22, 2013
Pros: Price
Cons: Need to renovate
Only stayed one night. Hotel is old and had rotten egg smell because if it's location near bay.