Ratings based on 161 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good hotel in a safe neighboorhoud

Posted May 12, 2015
Pros: The cleanless of it and the commodity of the roon/bathroom.
Cons: They must check the shower, make the head bigger for the shower and check if its working oke with the tub.
Location: There are some restaurants, a casino, within 20 walking minutes a beach. Sapphier has also a (smaller) beach. Then after 20 minutes you have Mahoo.
Nice, clean and simple hotel. If you want a place to stay, have a bed and bathroom, it is a good price and in a safe neighbourhood where you can walk during the day and enjoy the neigbourhood of Mahoo beach.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom new york

Smallest beach, pool is clean and somewhat nice

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Pros: Pool is nice and clean.
Cons: Everything. Whole place needs upgrading.
This hotel is so run down, it's worse than the worst motel you've ever stayed at. Broken elevators, stores are never open, walls have mold, room is old, bed is TERRIBLE, I could go on and on.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom St. Kitts

Nice but could use some updates

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Pros: Close to Maho
Cons: Technology and appliances
Location: Maho Plaza, Casino Royale
The hotel was a great deal but it was very old and outdated. The Maids were very loud and carried on throughout most of the night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Walterfrom st paul

sapphire stay

Posted Feb 22, 2015 on Hotels.com
We had a beautiful room, clean and in good condition, except the safe was not functional
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Puerto Rico

Was good but need service improovement

Posted Jan 1, 2015
Nice hotel with good strategic place. Need to improove the room services like clean the room more frequently, no ice service in the hotel ( you have to gi to the bar). We have to ask for towels change. Nice guy renting cars.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Raleigh, NC

Average Resort

Posted Dec 28, 2014
Pros: good location, close to airport and can watch planes land, clean
Cons: increase staff, add bathroom fans, fix water leaking from shower issue, improve food menu
Id summarize this resort by saying "average." We stayed at the resort the first week of December 2014. We have stayed in several all inclusive resorts before on various Caribbean Islands. The overall cleanliness of the resort was good, including the rooms. The rooms were updated and nice in appearance. Only complaints would be the sheets were pretty scratchy and the bathrooms did not have a fan and therefore a musty smell after showering. The shower design was modern but only contained a half door and water splashed out soaking the floor, and since there was no fan, the water would take a long time to dry and have a musty smell. The food was probably the worst out of all the all inclusive hotels we have stayed at. There was a "sports bar" outside of the resort but close by. There were old school tube tv's and a small bar. The staff got flustered very easily and were at times rude. There were 3 restaurants inside resort, and 2 of them served the same buffet.The other was outdoors and was very crowded. we waited 45 minutes for a table, and then once seated it took 30 minutes before the waitress even acknowledged us. We understand island time, but this was just a case of being completely under staffed. The beach area was nice but not a lot of area so people were close by. This was kindof annoying and different languages being spoken loudly right beside you can be distracting when you are trying to relax. Because of this we left the resort for different beaches every day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Montréal

Excellent rapport qualité/prix

Posted Dec 25, 2014
Pros: Grande chambre propre bien équipée(réfrigérateur, ronds de cuisson, micro-onde et vaisselles)avec balcon doté d'un jaccuzi.Hôtes vraiment accueillants
Cons: Soigner le décor.
Location: Plages à proximté et possibilité de faire ses achats de nourriture à pied si on ne veut pas louer de véhicule.
Hotel bien situé, avec mini-plage attenant et installation très corrects. Ancien hôtel 5 étoiles qui a été négligé. Les dirigeants de l'hôtel l'ont repris en main depuis peu et proc`dent à des améliorations. L'accueil est super sympathique. L'essentiel est excellent: grande chambre et grande salle de bain très propres. Manque de lustre. Nous avons été enchanté par notre séjour.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rickfrom Marietta, Ga

Pleasant surprise

Posted Dec 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Much better than expected. Spacious room with tremendous view. Hot tub was a pleasant surprise. Beautiful secluded beach only steps away. Very accommodating staff and easily accessible to great nearby restaurants.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom SF

This hotel is a dump!

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Pros: -A $12 taxi ride away from the airport, and $2 bus ride from Maho Beach.
Cons: Everything.
Sapphire Beach is a joke and far from the "resort" it claims to be. Upon arrival, the staff seated at reception appeared annoyed that we were there to check-in, and handed us our keys without so much as a greeting nor a smile. One elevator was not in service, while the other seemed like it was about to break down at any moment. The door would not close completely, and when it finally makes its way to your floor, you'd have to wait for it to bounce twice (horrid feeling!) before it would open. The room appeared comfy enough, at least until we took a shower and the bathroom quickly became a flooded mess due to leaky pipes. The maintenance man took apart the tub the next morning just as we were leaving, and we came back 5 hours later to find it in the same state. He did return an hour or so later to 'fix it', explaining that there were other rooms with the same problem hence the delay. I'd take flooded bathrooms over bedbugs anyday. When we tried to check out the night before (since we were leaving really early the next day),the staff at the reception desk (same guy as when we checked in) told us to come back the next day as he was "closing the system" and it would take 45 minutes. When we said we would wait, he said it would take longer but to 'go ahead and wait'. It was 8pm and he was more interested in playing with his phone than anything else. Overall, the property is just a time share business that has been poorly maintained (if at all). Go elsewhere!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

don't go there

Posted Dec 3, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Everyting
Location: great area but need a car to get around
First day no hot water. That evening broken water pipe flooded room. Next day spent repairing broken pipes so could not use room for anything as it had no water. Elevator was broken so had to use stairs (6th floor) Mold everywhere and smell was awful. Food was bad and resort was badly managed. To bad as this used to be a beautiful resort. Now it is a dump that needs completely upgraded.