Ratings based on 151 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Puerto Rico

Was good but need service improovement

Posted Jan 1, 2015
Nice hotel with good strategic place. Need to improove the room services like clean the room more frequently, no ice service in the hotel ( you have to gi to the bar). We have to ask for towels change. Nice guy renting cars.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Raleigh, NC

Average Resort

Posted Dec 28, 2014
Pros: good location, close to airport and can watch planes land, clean
Cons: increase staff, add bathroom fans, fix water leaking from shower issue, improve food menu
Id summarize this resort by saying "average." We stayed at the resort the first week of December 2014. We have stayed in several all inclusive resorts before on various Caribbean Islands. The overall cleanliness of the resort was good, including the rooms. The rooms were updated and nice in appearance. Only complaints would be the sheets were pretty scratchy and the bathrooms did not have a fan and therefore a musty smell after showering. The shower design was modern but only contained a half door and water splashed out soaking the floor, and since there was no fan, the water would take a long time to dry and have a musty smell. The food was probably the worst out of all the all inclusive hotels we have stayed at. There was a "sports bar" outside of the resort but close by. There were old school tube tv's and a small bar. The staff got flustered very easily and were at times rude. There were 3 restaurants inside resort, and 2 of them served the same buffet.The other was outdoors and was very crowded. we waited 45 minutes for a table, and then once seated it took 30 minutes before the waitress even acknowledged us. We understand island time, but this was just a case of being completely under staffed. The beach area was nice but not a lot of area so people were close by. This was kindof annoying and different languages being spoken loudly right beside you can be distracting when you are trying to relax. Because of this we left the resort for different beaches every day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Montréal

Excellent rapport qualité/prix

Posted Dec 25, 2014
Pros: Grande chambre propre bien équipée(réfrigérateur, ronds de cuisson, micro-onde et vaisselles)avec balcon doté d'un jaccuzi.Hôtes vraiment accueillants
Cons: Soigner le décor.
Location: Plages à proximté et possibilité de faire ses achats de nourriture à pied si on ne veut pas louer de véhicule.
Hotel bien situé, avec mini-plage attenant et installation très corrects. Ancien hôtel 5 étoiles qui a été négligé. Les dirigeants de l'hôtel l'ont repris en main depuis peu et proc`dent à des améliorations. L'accueil est super sympathique. L'essentiel est excellent: grande chambre et grande salle de bain très propres. Manque de lustre. Nous avons été enchanté par notre séjour.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom SF

This hotel is a dump!

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Pros: -A $12 taxi ride away from the airport, and $2 bus ride from Maho Beach.
Cons: Everything.
Sapphire Beach is a joke and far from the "resort" it claims to be. Upon arrival, the staff seated at reception appeared annoyed that we were there to check-in, and handed us our keys without so much as a greeting nor a smile. One elevator was not in service, while the other seemed like it was about to break down at any moment. The door would not close completely, and when it finally makes its way to your floor, you'd have to wait for it to bounce twice (horrid feeling!) before it would open. The room appeared comfy enough, at least until we took a shower and the bathroom quickly became a flooded mess due to leaky pipes. The maintenance man took apart the tub the next morning just as we were leaving, and we came back 5 hours later to find it in the same state. He did return an hour or so later to 'fix it', explaining that there were other rooms with the same problem hence the delay. I'd take flooded bathrooms over bedbugs anyday. When we tried to check out the night before (since we were leaving really early the next day),the staff at the reception desk (same guy as when we checked in) told us to come back the next day as he was "closing the system" and it would take 45 minutes. When we said we would wait, he said it would take longer but to 'go ahead and wait'. It was 8pm and he was more interested in playing with his phone than anything else. Overall, the property is just a time share business that has been poorly maintained (if at all). Go elsewhere!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

don't go there

Posted Dec 3, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Everyting
Location: great area but need a car to get around
First day no hot water. That evening broken water pipe flooded room. Next day spent repairing broken pipes so could not use room for anything as it had no water. Elevator was broken so had to use stairs (6th floor) Mold everywhere and smell was awful. Food was bad and resort was badly managed. To bad as this used to be a beautiful resort. Now it is a dump that needs completely upgraded.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotelli Saint Maartenissa

Posted Dec 3, 2014
Pros: Poreallas on aivan loistava, myös sänky oli sopivan leveä kahdelle.
Cons: Pyyhkeet olivat liian pieniä, vessa kaipaa remonttia
Location: Hotelli sijaitsi Cupecoyssa, hotellilta voi vuokrata yhdellä dollarilla auton jos haluaa tutustua saareen.
Matka oli marraskuussa 2014, lämpötila 27 astetta, joten sää oli todella loistava. Aamupalan nautimmekin aina mieheni kanssa parvekkeella. Parvekkeella oli myös poreallas, jota tuli käytettyä uima-altaalta poistumisen jälkeen, eli 4 - 5:n aikoihin iltapäivällä. Aurinko oli lämmittänyt porealtaan veden ihanan lämpöiseksi, sieltä ei heti malttanut poistua. Kävelymatkan päässä oli ruokakauppa josta sai kaiken haluamansa, mutta hintataso on hirveä.Kaiken kaikkiaan matka oli erittäin onnistunut, omasta asenteesta riippuu paljon.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad experience

Posted Nov 23, 2014
This was a horrible experience. Although the staff was okay the room was not up to par. Toilet didn't flush, towels were dirty, missing things in the room. Overall not satisfied
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Fairfield, Ct.

Good location

Posted Nov 6, 2014
Pros: The private hot tub on the balcony was a nice touch as was the large pool with water at a very comfortable temperature . Parking was close. The price.
Cons: Only one elevator was working and the staff seemed to use it like a carnival ride. The AC was the pits and all the restaurants and bars were closed.
Location: Atlantis Casino nearby, small poor beach on the property and you really need a car to go anywhere else on the island.
Saphire Beach Hotel left me with mixed emotions. On check in the desk clerk could not find my reservation. This was corrected by a supervisor only after I produced my Expedia receipt. The WIFI had to be purchased from a machine on the wall and only works on one device. The front desk can’t break a $50 and the machine only takes $10 and $20. You get pool towels from the desk and only after 10 am. The staff is a bit dyslexic and needs better structure as they don’t know the chain of command if one exist. Over all for the Oct. price it was OK but their high season rates are not worth it at all.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney, Australia

Good location but terrible hotel

Posted Nov 1, 2014
I stayed here for one night and my bad experience started at check in, when the receptionist was struggling to see my name on a check in list in front of her, when I pointed it out that I was on there, she apologised and then checked in. When I arrived in the room on the fifth floor, first impressions of the room looked good and seemed comfortable. However, when I went into the bathroom, there were no towels, bath mats, hand towels or flannelletes. I had to contact the reception THREE TIMES, as well as go down to the desk and visit twice looking for towels (the second time I went down to the desk at 7pm, I was told that the laundry was not done and there were no towels, surprising considering there were barely any guests staying there!). It was not until 10PM that I was issued just ONE TOWEL!!! Very disappointing. The kitchenette was dirty and the fridge was smelly and had mold growing inside, quite disgusting. Two lamps inside the room were not working due to non functioning power switches, terrible considering I was relying on them to work seeing as though there were no ceiling lights. There was no TV in the room, even though the guest services book claimed there was. Within the resort itself, there was supposed to be a mini mart, as well as a spa, bar and restaurant, however, none of these were open at all for my stay. Again, very disappointing! Overall, I believe that this was a very poor choice and not worth the money that I paid. I would like an apology.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by PHILSfrom FRANCE

BEL EMPLACEMENT

Posted Sep 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
QUALITÉ PRIX RIEN A DIRE.MAIS L ENTRETIEN LAISSE A DESIRER