Ratings based on 254 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Decent Value, Unexploited Potential, Uneven Staff

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: The 3 staff that knows what service is
Cons: Ownership that has passion and vision to realize the potential of a well sited asset with diverse amenities.
Location: lots to do: dive, day trips by ferry, restaurants, swim, tennis.
For us the hotel was better than St Maarten as a destination. Things did not start well at check-in with insistence by front desk on taking & copying passports of our minor children - no respected hotel that holds itself to a high standard would have infringing minors privacy as check-in policy (Simpson Bay should drop this offensive practice). Matter was however diffused by Manager. The staff at the hotel is unevenly trained. There are about 3 people at the hotel we observed to give consistent service: the Manager, a spanish gentleman and porter/driver that transported our luggage. These 3 gentlemen were fantastic, the rest were average or below average. If these 3 quit, there is not much of a hotel left and re-bookings would perhaps collapse. The noted matters are however weaknesses of the owners who do not invest enough in their #1 asset (staff training). Having said that, the property is well located and well laid out with great ocean views and proximity. You have the choice of beachside dining or self-catering. You can take excursions to st barts and anguilla directly from the property. It is a great piece of real estate with great potential, but the potential is not exploited. As is the hotel is not capable of appealing to sophisticated travellers but is fine for mid-marketers and those who are not well-travelled.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tx

Posted Sep 2, 2014
I went to relax and I did just that. Great excursions and wonderful places to eat. Snorkeling was good and people were very friendly, Plenty to do or just sit around and relax.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Beautiful views,very clean rooms and awesome staff

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: The staff was amazing but the swim up bars were my favorite.
Cons: Nada, all is wonderful !
Location: Maho Beach is absolutely a must ! Seeing the big planes right above your head was spectacular !
Check in was a breeze ! Hotel is very close to all attractions and water sports ! Our trip was amazing and our children had the vacation of a life time !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Curacao

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: The rooms are clean ( that's for me very important due to my allergy for dust mites). They clean the rooms daily.
Location: Perfect location. Close to the airport, beach, and all kind of restaurants
Nice hotel, plenty of parking space, friendly staff, clean and spacious rooms, close to all kind of restaurants, close to the beach. It's a wonderful hotel and a good location close to the airport too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mckinney,Texas

Very nice hotel close to casino,for the gambler.

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Our kids enjoyed being so close to the pool as well as the beach.excellent location to eating places and fun family activities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from georgia

Vacation

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: The hotel was in a great location . The staff was very friendly and helpful. And the rooms were very comfortable.
Cons: Have more jet ski's. There was only 2 and one was in need of repair. Other than that all was perfect.
Location: We had something to do everyday. The location was great . Everything was close by
We had the best vacation in years we plan on coming back
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quite old hotel, not great facilities, no comfort,

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Not great experience after having been in various luxury resorts the weeks before on other Caribbean islands.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, affordable and comfortable..

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Everything was perfect except the bathroom... Even though is very modern and clean there was a weird smell coming out of the bathroom.. Aside from that I give then a 10!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very nice great location

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: cleanliness in bathroom in general including the water drains very bad odor
Location: perfect
great experience would stay again and also recommend to friends and family
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bay Area, California

Simpson Bay Resort

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: Location, staff, beach, grocery and restaurants on the grounds, spacious rooms.
Cons: As I mentioned, it's being renovated.
Location: Bon Appetite - the best restaurant nearby. We were told that they have a new chef, and he is exquisite, per our opinion; staff is great, too.
We stayed in Marina building which is scheduled for renovation in January 2015. Although our rooms were a little outdated, we found them quite comfortable, spacious, and clean. Certainly, floor tiles needs to be renovated as well as bathroom and closet (especially, doors), but furniture is comfortable, bed is good, two ceiling fans along with air conditioner make your stay pleasant. Marina building is located next to the beach (3 mins walking distance), and it makes it even more comfortable, so we didn't pay much attention on what to be renovated. During presentation, we saw different buildings (all of them are named by local flowers) with renovated rooms, and it looks that resort is going to be outstanding pretty soon. Likely, it will affect the price, as well. The beach is not big but for us it looks perfect. We visited different beaches on the island (Mullet Beach, Baie Orientale, etc) and found that we don't have to go far to find something better. It's quite deep from one side, if you like to swim, and quite shallow on the other side which makes it perfect for kids. Staff is professional and friendly, and responds right away if you have any questions or needs. We didn't get how room cleaning is scheduled: we had our rooms cleaned daily first three days though, in rules, it's said that cleaning is provided once a week, then they cleaned rooms last two days (we stayed a week). Internet is good though it might interrupt at times (appr. once in hour) but getting back is easy